We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of B&B BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
B&B BBQ
13423 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Adjacent to (north of) the Kern River Brewing Company. (760) 376-2525
Restaurant details
Description: Adjacent to (north of) the Kern River Brewing Company. (760) 376-2525
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Been there twice before and it wasn't so bad. Came on a busy weekend after 8, they're out of hamburgers. Waited too long to be helped. It was freezing in there. I ordered the tri-tip which it was dry. My husband got BBQ chicken, it was ok. The beans were just old, disgusting, looked like dog food. Didn't get checked once by our waiter/cook.
I would not recommend.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    1
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I wouldn't send my worst enemy here. The food was gross. The service was terrible and the place was filthy

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food - Thanks for staying open.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Food was good. We got there with a party of 7 just as they were closing. They happily served us! I say "they" - it was actually one guy who ended up being the cook, waiter and bottle washer. And he had to be back the next morning to open the place up! Now that's customer service!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“An odd experience, but the pork was good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I went here for lunch, and had a very good pulled-pork salad, with ranch dressing. Other meats on the menu were also said to be slow-cooked for a very long time. A side order of beans, however, was rather gummy (that is, stuck together with no noticeable beaniness) and were redolent of freshly ground pepper—not a flagrantly bad flavor, but noticeable anyway. Nevertheless, I ate them all because I was hungry, and really they were tasty in a thick sort of way. The waitress was nice, but the software made a mistake and gave me a CREDIT instead of charging me. Nice! But she called the owner by phone to come in and correct it. I'm sure that won't happen to you. The restaurant has a faux rustic atmosphere, with a view of the parking lot and some nice mountains in the distance. Y'know—don't stay away on my account; you might just like it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worst Restaurant in Kernville if not in all of California”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This place was outright terrible. We had a party of eight. Telling this to the hostess actually infuriated her. She stated we aboslutely could NOT sit together eventhough a party of 10 came in after us and she put tables together for them. She was angry and nasty. The food? The bacon burger came with raw bacon. The hot dog was burnt on the outside and frozen on the inside. I think they use a microwave oven and not a bar-be-que grill. STAY AWAY! As an acceptable alternative, go on over to the brewery next door.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B&B BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.