We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River View Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River View Lodge
2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Kernville
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just what we needed.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The River View Lodge in Kernville was such a welcome surprise. Antique furnishings don each room. The owners operate the lodge so you feel like you are in someone's home. This is not the generic chain place that you find in every tourist area. The locals treat everyone like friends. No dress code. Come as you are. Four legged friends welcome for a small fee.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
9
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

First of all, if you don't expect to see bugs, and wildlife, stay out of the country! The Lodge is right on the river, so of course you are going to see some animals. If you want a 5 star gourmet breakfast stay at a hotel where you will pay $200, a night and where you will be treated just like another patron. If you want a 5 star experience without having to empty out your pocket book, this is the place to stay. The River View Lodge will become a home away from home, is family owned, where you will get top notch hospitality from the owners, and have an overall fantastic time.

My wife and I have been coming to the Lodge for a few years now. There is something very special about this place. When you wake up in the morning and go into the room where the freshly brewed coffee, and breakfast goodies are waiting for you. You then sit on your rocking chair outside of your room where you are able to take in the beauty of the lodge and of your surroundings.

Let me tell you how we are never disappointed in the hospitality and pride of ownership the owners take in their business. The rooms are always clean, comfortable, with all the amenities you will need for your stay. If you need something extra, the staff will promptly bring you whatever you need. There is no waiting two hours just for a few extra towels here. Your needs are quickly met. The river is right outside of your room, where it's easy to sneak out in the morning before the misses wakes up to get my morning bite of trout. I've done very well fishing for trout right down below the lodge. The location of the lodge is the best in town. You are within short walking distance to all of the restaurants, bars, and shops. If you are interested in hiking, rafting, and fishing, the owners will let you know where the best places to go enjoy those activities at. The owners are very friendly and will make sure you have the best stay while your there. This lodge is one of a kind and you will get a one of a kind experience at the RiverView Lodge in Kernville, CA.

Room Tip: Room Number 6! Jacuzzi Tub!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

the river view lodge owners, john and annette are great! took good care of us and put us in a king room with a river view! its a short walk maybe 25 steps to the kern river...the hotel is walking distance to all the restaurants and bars...you will get a discount at the lake Isabelle marina jsu ask annette...enjoy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

My stay at Riverview Lodge was nothing less than perfect. My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in room 6 and two of our friends stayed in room 8. We had camped for two days before we decided comfort was necessary. The jacuzzi tub in room 6 was the cherry on top of our quest for comfort and relaxation. The bathrooms were clean and the bed was a comfortable king and we slept amazingly (better than at home!).

They have their own private beach for just their customers to swim and/or fish and the location on the river is more than convenient with nearly everything you'd need within walking distance.

This 105 year old, pet friendly (next time we're bringing our pup!) lodge is family owned and run and they are quite possible the nicest people we met during our stay. Friendly and informative and truly just a joy to have met :)

The lodge at night is beautiful (especially looking up from the river). This was truly a memory making experience and we cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I do not recommend the River View Lodge! At first sight, it looks rustic and has old world charm, however, room 1 that we stayed in is closest to the public sidewalk and gets pretty noisy. We were awoken several times at 3 in the morning by drunks talking and laughing loudly with no consideration. The bed was comfortable, but the sheets smelled like it had not been changed. We were so tired, we figured that they would change the sheets and freshen up our room the next day, so we didn't complain at first. We left our "please clean sign" outside of the door, went out on our rafting trip to return to our room to find that it had been untouched. Overall, poor service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We booked 2 rooms - 1 king (#8 @$109) and 1 queen (#10 @$119) for Memorial Day weekend. Weather was partly cloudy, cool and windy for 1st two days then beautiful and sunny the next. Both rooms were clean but dark due to dark stained wide pine planks on walls and ceilings, low lightbulb voltage and dinghy dark green carpet. The mattresses were spongy but not uncomfortable. Bed linens: country right white/floral quilt covers with dark floral sheets and two soft pillows. Windows had cute doily lace curtains with roll-up/down shades that mostly worked. Showers have low-flow heads that sprayed a needle-like mist that was so bad that I didn't shampoo my hair for 3 days. Breakfast provided: 2 types of decent coffee (medium and strong), little box cereals, micro oatmeal, sticky buns in package and fruit. The location of this hotel is great on the river but obstructed mostly by mobile homes. It's the best if you are spending a lot of time at Camp Kernville - as we were with friends. The Kern River is clean, swift flowing and beautiful. The guys did some trout fishing along the campground beach and caught a few for our bbq - delicious! The energized rafters cruise by often and scare most of the fish away though. It's a 2 minute walk to the little town center which is quaint. Carne asada tacos truck - the best! And the baby back ribs truck at the supermarket - yum! Cheryl's Diner - we ate breakfast at the counter: slow, friendly service, good country diner food. We took our beach cruiser bikes and enjoyed a short ride into the residential neighborhood along the river. You'll need more gears if you want to go farther. The exterior is mostly original historic with that rustic charm you'd expect; however, we wished that they had swept the spider webs away (I'm an arachnidphobe!) and cleaned the ashtrays on our porches (they were full of cigarette and cigar butts). Overall, we had a great time with our friends and loved the area. We'll visit again, but either bring an RV or stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

During our 3500 mile motorcycle trip we arrived to find this wonderful restful lodge which is even better than it's web site suggests.
The proprietor was very welcoming, went the extra mile for us.
The room was beautiful and we enjoyed our porch with our own rocking chairs overlooking the river.
Within walking distance of various eateries and the Kernville Brewery.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Lodge

Address: 2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Lodge is from "Old Kernvile" with our new little modern touches it is almost perfect. Most of our rooms are approx. 125 feet from rooms. Most rooms have river views, but all have the lovely sounds of the river. With some new help, and new sheets, quilts, restored bathrooms and towels the lodge is shinning more and more everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Kernville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added River View Lodge to your Saves list