We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do I have to go home?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River View Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River View Lodge
Save
You added River View Lodge to your Saves list
2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do I have to go home?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

My stay at Riverview Lodge was nothing less than perfect. My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in room 6 and two of our friends stayed in room 8. We had camped for two days before we decided comfort was necessary. The jacuzzi tub in room 6 was the cherry on top of our quest for comfort and relaxation. The bathrooms were clean and the bed was a comfortable king and we slept amazingly (better than at home!).

They have their own private beach for just their customers to swim and/or fish and the location on the river is more than convenient with nearly everything you'd need within walking distance.

This 105 year old, pet friendly (next time we're bringing our pup!) lodge is family owned and run and they are quite possible the nicest people we met during our stay. Friendly and informative and truly just a joy to have met :)

The lodge at night is beautiful (especially looking up from the river). This was truly a memory making experience and we cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
10
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I do not recommend the River View Lodge! At first sight, it looks rustic and has old world charm, however, room 1 that we stayed in is closest to the public sidewalk and gets pretty noisy. We were awoken several times at 3 in the morning by drunks talking and laughing loudly with no consideration. The bed was comfortable, but the sheets smelled like it had not been changed. We were so tired, we figured that they would change the sheets and freshen up our room the next day, so we didn't complain at first. We left our "please clean sign" outside of the door, went out on our rafting trip to return to our room to find that it had been untouched. Overall, poor service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We booked 2 rooms - 1 king (#8 @$109) and 1 queen (#10 @$119) for Memorial Day weekend. Weather was partly cloudy, cool and windy for 1st two days then beautiful and sunny the next. Both rooms were clean but dark due to dark stained wide pine planks on walls and ceilings, low lightbulb voltage and dinghy dark green carpet. The mattresses were spongy but not uncomfortable. Bed linens: country right white/floral quilt covers with dark floral sheets and two soft pillows. Windows had cute doily lace curtains with roll-up/down shades that mostly worked. Showers have low-flow heads that sprayed a needle-like mist that was so bad that I didn't shampoo my hair for 3 days. Breakfast provided: 2 types of decent coffee (medium and strong), little box cereals, micro oatmeal, sticky buns in package and fruit. The location of this hotel is great on the river but obstructed mostly by mobile homes. It's the best if you are spending a lot of time at Camp Kernville - as we were with friends. The Kern River is clean, swift flowing and beautiful. The guys did some trout fishing along the campground beach and caught a few for our bbq - delicious! The energized rafters cruise by often and scare most of the fish away though. It's a 2 minute walk to the little town center which is quaint. Carne asada tacos truck - the best! And the baby back ribs truck at the supermarket - yum! Cheryl's Diner - we ate breakfast at the counter: slow, friendly service, good country diner food. We took our beach cruiser bikes and enjoyed a short ride into the residential neighborhood along the river. You'll need more gears if you want to go farther. The exterior is mostly original historic with that rustic charm you'd expect; however, we wished that they had swept the spider webs away (I'm an arachnidphobe!) and cleaned the ashtrays on our porches (they were full of cigarette and cigar butts). Overall, we had a great time with our friends and loved the area. We'll visit again, but either bring an RV or stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

During our 3500 mile motorcycle trip we arrived to find this wonderful restful lodge which is even better than it's web site suggests.
The proprietor was very welcoming, went the extra mile for us.
The room was beautiful and we enjoyed our porch with our own rocking chairs overlooking the river.
Within walking distance of various eateries and the Kernville Brewery.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed in this motel with 2 of my children 4 years ago. I've since learned the value of reading reviews and will now add mine. Our room was about $90 per night and a disappointment. It was dark, gloomy, and old. Outside could be seen through the gap at the bottom of the door and it was very noisy. You could hear all of the other guests talking. There were no room ammenities of which to speak. I'd booked the room for it's location to the river, thinking it would be such a quaint place, but found it was very rundown and not worth the money we'd paid. Since then, we've found a new place to stay in Kernville and will never stay anywhere else from now on except The Kern Lodge.

Room Tip: Consider choosing a room at a different motel. I'm not someone who expects high end service ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Loved this hotel, it's quaint and quiet and it's right along the Kern River. The continental breakfast is nothing to write home about (packaged oatmeal and fruits and coffee) so make plans to have breakfast in town, but the value of this hotel for the clean room and friendly service is tip top!!!

Room Tip: just call and talk to the front desk (they are also the owners)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This 101-year-old lodge was moved from Whisky Flat to Kernville when Lake Isabella was inundated. The rooms ring a charming yard which fronts the river Kern. Nothing is nicer than sitting with a cup (of the provided) coffee of a morning and listening to the babble of the Kern. The rooms are well-updated with homey touches. It is family-run and they could not be any more nice, plus the fellow guests are cool, too. A few steps over the bridge to see the rafters, or back across the street for the antique shops and eateries. It's pet-friendly, which in this case still means super-fresh, plus, Alana is the best pet sitter ever!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Lodge

Address: 2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Lodge is from "Old Kernvile" with our new little modern touches it is almost perfect. Most of our rooms are approx. 125 feet from rooms. Most rooms have river views, but all have the lovely sounds of the river. With some new help, and new sheets, quilts, restored bathrooms and towels the lodge is shinning more and more everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Kernville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.