We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel! would come back and recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River View Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River View Lodge
Save Saved
You added River View Lodge to your Saves list
2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Kernville
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel! would come back and recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Loved this hotel, it's quaint and quiet and it's right along the Kern River. The continental breakfast is nothing to write home about (packaged oatmeal and fruits and coffee) so make plans to have breakfast in town, but the value of this hotel for the clean room and friendly service is tip top!!!

Room Tip: just call and talk to the front desk (they are also the owners)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    5
    2
    8
See reviews for
10
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This 101-year-old lodge was moved from Whisky Flat to Kernville when Lake Isabella was inundated. The rooms ring a charming yard which fronts the river Kern. Nothing is nicer than sitting with a cup (of the provided) coffee of a morning and listening to the babble of the Kern. The rooms are well-updated with homey touches. It is family-run and they could not be any more nice, plus the fellow guests are cool, too. A few steps over the bridge to see the rafters, or back across the street for the antique shops and eateries. It's pet-friendly, which in this case still means super-fresh, plus, Alana is the best pet sitter ever!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Our hosts happily took our dog, chatted us up about our crazy misadventure with a blown engine, and genuinely welcomed us back. Their lovely place along the wild Kern river and happy attitudes made us feel like lucky Kernville locals.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, MS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Very comfortable rooms in a 100 year old lodge/motel. Large bedroom with lovely furniture, TV, microwave, frig., etc.

Service is great by family owners/operators. Very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We have stayed at the Riverview Lodge several times now. When we first came to Kernville with friends we all stayed in another motel nearby which had a nice pool, but it's owners were not as personable as the owners of the Riverview Lodge. We usually go with a group of friends, and it is a race to see who gets to stay at the Riverview Lodge and who has to stay elsewhere in town. We love the rooms with the rustic ambiance and John and Annette are so welcoming! Coffee on the porch in the morning sittin' in a rocking chair is so relaxing. Afternoon's on the beach, awesome.
How often do the owners of a motel come sit and chat with you? Never anywhere else I've stayed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

River View Lodge has been a cozy, homey, and relaxing escape for my family and me. My husband, 2 sons (8 and 18), and I were trying to find a rustic, peaceful retreat after camping in 65 mph winds. You know, a place to hang out with my family in the sun (with no wind), fish, and relax. So, while enjoying breakfast at Cheryl's diner, we asked our waitress where we could find such a place. She immediately suggested River View Lodge, right across the street. So off we go to see if 'there's any room at the Inn"....2 rooms left......thank you Lord. The coziness of the room struck me.....incense cedar walls and ceiling, lace curtains, and a WONDERFUL pillow-top bed. My husband and I actually awoke pain-free in our backs for the first time in ages. The landscaping is lush with bird-feeders beckoning the various birds in the area.
The beach off the lodge is spacious and calm......perfect for my 8-year-old son to fish independently, while still being in sight and close by. My 18-year-old loves to walk around town, meet new people, and fish on River View Lodge's beach.
John and Annette are wonderful hosts and are always generous with lots of fishing tips!!!!
I get weepy when we leave to head back to the LA area......then I plan the next trip and feel much better.
Just know, if you are at River View Lodge and we are not...... we are very jealous. :)

~The LaGorio Family

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

This is a great family location! You can watch the kids from the Lodge playing in the river. The fishing was awesome!!! My husband and I caught our limit with in a couple hours on the lake and enjoyed our catch for dinner that night! The fireworks show was so much fun! The rooms are clean and the hospitality is second to none! We will be return guests for years to come! Thank you Riverview Lodge staff!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Lodge

Address: 2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Lodge is from "Old Kernvile" with our new little modern touches it is almost perfect. Most of our rooms are approx. 125 feet from rooms. Most rooms have river views, but all have the lovely sounds of the river. With some new help, and new sheets, quilts, restored bathrooms and towels the lodge is shinning more and more everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Kernville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.