We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Lodge

Save Saved
You added Whispering Pines Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whispering Pines Lodge
13745 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Kernville B&B and Inns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Approaching this lodge, I was starting to doubt if there would be any pines to whisper. My doubts were quickly turned into a pleasant surprise when we arrived. The scene is sublime. The pool was empty as was most of the rooms I think (January). The sun barked down, but when it settled, temperatures dumbled quickly. At that point the fire place in the cabin was welcome and extremely cosy. Breakfast was great and had friendly service throughout. Great value for money. Thank you

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
11
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taft, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have been going to Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast for years, but noticed the last few times there was a definite difference. I believe this whole place needs a good cleaning. The walls are very dirty and need painting. rugs shampooed. curtains and seat cushions cleaned. Our room had many negatives - filthy throw rug and kitchenette. Shower curtain was too short and water went everywhere. There was a fan over the bed, but found NO switch to turn it on. (we don't smoke) Ashtray (outside)next to front door over flowing and smelly, and unsightly. Outdoor landscaping around cabins and rooms needs much help. Breakfast not as tasty as it used to be. We will stay somewhere else next time - too many negatives for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The end of a long day on the road with nowhere to stay we were very lucky to find the excellent Whispering Pines Lodge. It was a Sunday night, getting late and most places in Kernville weren't answering their phone. My lady had tried The Kern Lodge as their roadside sign said "Vacancy" and was yelled at by a rude night manager who said " read the sign - we are full"! Anyway, we drove back along the road and found Whispering Pines. Louise, the owner, was just locking up for the night but she was very friendly and insisted we would "...like our room. Everybody like our room.." And indeed, we did. Large room, clean, decor "eclectic" shall we say. Nice big balcony where we sat and watched the stars and listened to the river. In the morning, the breakfast was one of the better ones we had on the road, freshly cooked by Louise, including some excellent quiche. Main building decor definitely folksy! After breakfast we had the pleasure of watching a young deer from our balcony. A beautiful little spot run by a very friendly 78 years young lady. Price was okay for the area - $135 if I recall - and for the quality. Would definitely stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Whispering Pines Lodge. They have a nice pool and kids enjoyed it very much. The breakfast they provide was delicious. In the afternoon my husband went to buy some meat at the local grocery store and we used the grill on the property to make some barbeque. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room 111. We had a king size bed. The bathroom was large. It was very convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting Whispering Pines. The scenery was priceless, the complementary breakfast had everything you could imagine.

Prices are fair. I enjoyed my stay and I will be sure to tell all my friends and family.

Room Tip: Tips: The rooms with the river view or The suite where you can BBQ it's like a one bedroom apt w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Came here with friends for a getaway weekend. All the staff was very nice. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good. We requested rooms 107 & 108 which we got. They have great views and balconies. We really enjoyed our stay we just all agree that the price is a bit high. We do recommend this place though, it was a great time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The property is right on Sierra Way, but runs down to the river. We had what must be the honeymoon suite, as it had a jacuzzi tub. The fireplace wasn't working, but we were warned at check in, and the room was discounted accordingly.
The decor was not to my taste, but still, it was very cozy and nice, with homelike touches here and there much like any cabin in the woods. Apparently, there is a breakfast on site, but we joined friends in the town of Kernville instead. The pool seemed clean, and the location on the river could not be more idyllic. We will return, but I think we will ask for a room overlooking the river.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispering Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Lodge

Address: 13745 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Whispering Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Kernville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.