We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!!,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Lodge

Save Saved
You added Whispering Pines Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Pines Lodge
13745 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Kernville B&B and Inns
bakersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!!!,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Keep in mind when reading tis review that I am very picky about the hotels I stay in....I was pleasantly surprised with The Whispering Pines Lodge. My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip to Kernville and after driving around the town we decided to stop at this B & B. We usually camp using our R.V. but this time we wanted make it easy as we were there for the beautiful snow in Alta Sierra. Upon arrival the owner handed us a key and we were able to view two different rooms, both rooms were clean and newly remodeled. We chose the roomclosest to the river. After our quick check in, the owner handed us two peices of pinapple upside down cake that she had just made and offered us coffee. Our room was definetly clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and pretty with natural pine ceilings. We had a fireplace and a balcony overlooking the river. After enjoying dinner at the local brewery we retired to our room and as we layed in bed we could here the river rushing...very peacful stay. The breakfast in he morning was well beyond what a usual "hotel breakfast" is. We were amazed in the amount and quality of breakfast food offered. Great stay....wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kernville.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had been going for 5 years as a tradition for Christmas and the last time we went the owner was extremely rude and disrespectful. Handed us a key to look at the other cabins and we couldn't understand her when she told us which one to open and we opened an occupied one and the owner yelled and went beserk making a scene and embarrassing us in front of the other renters and never apologizd. I will NEVER give them my money or business again. Rooms are totally outdated and not worth the price. Our tradition is ruined. Good riddance.

Room Tip: Dont rent here, Big bear is much better and actually worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The lodge, presented as a B&B, is really ,ore of a hotel with several small, multi-unit buildings. They are known for their home-made breakfasts, were very good and certainly better than what is presented as a ‘full breakfast’ in the vast majority of hotels and motels.

However, the property is looking somewhat warn and run down. The fan in our room did not work. We would not use the room air conditioner, as the intake was filthy and covered with dust and buildup. One lame was missing a bulb, and the best that they could come up with was a yellow 25 W. party light!

As mentioned, the breakfast was extensive and tasty, but all hot dishes are just put out on the counter -- no food warmers -- so unless you get in early, the food is cold.

There are some walking paths along the creek behind the inn, but there too we saw a buildup of debris and trash.

OK, but just nothing special here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Don,t stay here because if you ever leave anything they won,t send it back even when they tell you to prepay and mail a envelope they do not call you and let you no someone took your cloths. they come up with a bs excuse and do not refund your money that you spent per there request

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I've often camped at the Kern and stayed at McNally's which is average but this B&B was an absolute treat - especially after a very long 17 hour hike on Mt Whitney. My kids and I really enjoyed the comforts of the room and the geniune quality service provided by Kathleen. Kathleen's breakfast was absolutely amazing. I think my 11 year old son (yes growing boy) had 3 plates each of the two mornings we joined. I would definitely bring my family back here.
Thank you! Kristina, Kassie & Matt (August 9-11th)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband and I ended up at The Whispering Pines on a surprise vacation - my mother sent us there as well as arranging a rafting trip for us. It was a wonderful surprise! The room was large, with a working fireplace, and a bathroom that featured both a shower and a bath. We also had a large balcony, and while we could not see the river, we could definitely hear it - it was very relaxing. The bed was very comfortable, the room had blackout curtains which kept out the light quite nicely and allowed us to sleep in, and the room was quiet, even though we were next to the pool.

The best part of all was the breakfast - I have never seen such an impressive spread at an all inclusive place. We were there for two mornings, and there were different choices on each of the days: strawberry waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast, quiche with spinach, quiche with mushrooms, bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, and some amazing homemade biscuits and gravy. Of course hot coffee and every type of juice imaginable.

I only have one complaint: when we arrived at about 8:00 on Friday night, the woman behind the desk said that she had been very close to giving our room away because she had been unable to reach us on cell. Now, this was a surprise vacation to us, so of course the hotel didn't have our phone, but had been trying desperately to get in touch with my mother, who was not home at the time. She had confirmed our arrival with the management two days before, so I find it odd that they were going to give our room away despite such confirmation? Bizarre, and not good service. Luckily everything worked out, and our stay was amazing.

We would definitely stay here again - but would make sure to have our phones on us, lest they give away the room...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We had a great room adjacent to the pool area with a large deck overlooking the Kern River. This is a lodge, not a resort property, but the room was clean and spacious enough. It was a great stop-off and a restful place to stay that was close enough to town to be convenient but also far enough away to offer some quiet in a peaceful setting. Breakfast wasn't really fancy but was plentiful and we enjoyed sitting outside on the patio deck while we ate. Staff was very friendly and did everything they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable. There was no internet service, but perhaps that added to our relaxation in the end. We would gladly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a deck overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whispering Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Lodge

Address: 13745 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whispering Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Kernville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.