We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean, but a bit dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kernville Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kernville Inn
11042 Kernville Rd, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Kernville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and clean, but a bit dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We enjoyed our 1-night stay at the Kernville Inn. It has a very convenient location across the street from the river and within easy walking distance of Kernville's restaurants and shops. It was a bit pricey given the dated furnishings, but I think they figure you don't have many choices once you've driven all the way there. The rooms are sort of cabin-style, but attached. They're rustic, but comfortable and clean. The grounds are well-maintained and spacious for kids to run around. We'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have family in the area and like to stay at the Kernville Inn when I'm in the area. The suite we had was large with a full kitchen and and very big outside patio. Its located right next to the city park and the Kern River. Close enough to walk everywhere, this is a nice place that I have enjoyed for years. Cheryl's Diner next door is a local favorite with great breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

recently stayed at the Kernville Inn 4 nights. Great, clean, quiet rooms. Gorgeous views out the front door. Nice little porch to sit and enjoy all that beauty...very peaceful. I enjoyed a morning walk along the river. There were several people staying that appeared to be regulars so that tells me it's a place people return to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We usually camp when we come to Kernville, but decided to make it a "simpler" trip, so we decided to find a room. Found availability last minute and couldn't have been happier. Great location and it's an adorable little place...so what if the rooms are "rustic"... Unless you plan on staying in your room all gorgeous weekend, this place has all the amentities you need. First trip we had room 160 which was perfectly located on the end. Just booked another weekend for mid-September and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early & checked in at 3:00 p.m. Good room with a refrigerator & coffee pot. Nice windows that open on both sides of the room to provide a wonderful cross breeze. Very comfortable bed & wonderful wall mounted television. A band playing at a bar up the street was quite loud & was playing a lot of rock & roll with country interspersed. Good music if partying. Great restaurant right next door with excellent home cooked food. Great Adirondack chairs to sit & relax on right outside the motel room. Very nice grounds and a large complex with a fabulous pool. Glad we chose this place online.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have been going to Kernville for a few years now. We love the Kernville Inn. It is very clean quiet and simple! we have figured out what room is our favorite so we try to get it when we go. So far if you call enough ahead most likely it is available. We went for our 6 year Anniversary and loved it. I would recommend this place to anyone who just wants to get away for a few days. We are headed there this coming weekend so it will be nice. Thanks for making it such a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are a couple with no kids it is nice to stay in the rooms over by the office. The map on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We came up without reservations on a Thursday night before the start of a holiday week (4th of July). There were no standard rooms available, but there was a king, non-smoking, with a kitchen and river view. As it turned out it was an end unit (#169) across the street from the park and the Kern River. The normal weeknight rate was $139 per night, but the desk discounted the rate to $125 plus tax. I could not have been happier with the room and the location. The room was on the end so only had neighbors on one side (they were quiet), the river was across the street and visible from the porch and room, the street had little traffic and the park was quiet. Parking was right outside the unit. The porch had two comfy chairs with ottomans and a table, perfect for relaxing in the evening air and listening to the nearby river (the frogs and crickets even start up at night). The room was very clean and I did not hesitate to walk around barefoot. The bed actually seemed like a real king sized bed (I swear they downsize them elsewhere) and the mattress was quite comfortable. There were two chairs by the window in the main room and two chairs at a small dining room table in the kitchen. The air conditioning worked wonderfully, which was great since it was 104 degrees outside. The bathroom was clean and comfortably furnished with plenty of towels. No problem getting hot water in the shower and the temperature stayed consistent. Overall, I could not have been more pleased. The grounds are very lovely offering grassy areas and even a small park with BBQs and picnic tables for guests. The Kernville Park along the river is right across the street. The Kernville Inn is conveniently located right in downtown Kernville. Cheryl's Diner is right next door and you can (and should) walk over to the Kern Valley Museum. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: #169 has good views of the park and river, is an end unit, and has a nice porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kernville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kernville Inn

Address: 11042 Kernville Rd, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Kernville
Also Known As:
Kernville Hotel Kernville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kernville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kernville Inn to your Saves list