We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nothing fancy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kernville Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kernville Inn
11042 Kernville Rd, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Kernville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, nothing fancy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The ladies at the front desk were polite and helpful. The room #176 was clean but I would still wear socks. The remote was sticky and the chairs were stained, but I didn't go to sit and watch tv... Location was great just a stroll to the river.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Clean, good location near the river, refrigerator in the room, helpful staff, all at a good price. Rooms are a bit tired (paint, furniture) and comfort amenities are at a minimum. Overall a good deal for decent lodging in a fun little town, would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed here several times while motorcycling and my only complaint is that you must pre-pay when you make your reservations. The rooms are nice - and there are a variety of types listed on their website. Make that reservation early during popular times.
They have free WiFi, but the signal is low when you are far from the office. If that is important ask about it when you book the room.

Room Tip: If WiFi is important as for a room near the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This rustic well kept inn in the mountain town of Kernville east of Bakersfield, CA. is a great place to stay in the center of everything. The rooms have nice decks outside the french doors they have rooms that open to the main street but my room was in the back which was nice they do have plasma TV's one thing I might note to them get rid of the bedspreads most places nowadays do not use them. This room had a little kitchen I guess for ones that might use it I never do. It was clean and the architecture is like logs on the outside it gives a mountain feel to it. The grounds are well maintained. For a Friday night room was 149.00 before taxes. Kernville is famous for its kayaking and white water rafting on the Kern River and there is a wonderful Kern River Brewery that has an excellent ale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Our one night at the Kernville Inn was comfortable. Kernville is a small town with few options but at the Kernville Inn you get a comfortable room at a fair price. Don't miss Cheryls Dinner next door!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Spacious, very clean room. Very comfortable beds (we had 2 doubles). Right across the road from a great saloon. Excellent value for the holiday season.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My 11 yr-old son and I stayed in Room 176, second floor. It had high ceiling, kitchenette, A/C, clean bathroom, towels, kitchen utensils, ref, microwave. Linda and Diane were very nice at check-in and check-out. It was our first time in Kernville. Parking was right below our unit. It is walking distance to all restaurants, sports stores and even Sierra South River Raft pick up across the bridge.

We went river rafting 2x with the Sierra South River Rafting. The guides especially Kurt were just cool and accommodating with all our questions answered. According to them, the winter this year was not good enough to have the river rapids going wild. But my son totally enjoyed it anyway. He can't wait to do it again.

Brandon at the Fly Fish store across Sierra South was so nice to even attach the spinning reel line to the rod we bought in LA before we came up. It was our first time to go fishing. No fish caught but the experience was awesome.

We would stay at Kernville Inn again and definitely go back to Kernville soon to do more stuff. A great weekend getaway. Better than Paris Hotel in Vegas if you ask me.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are better because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kernville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kernville Inn

Address: 11042 Kernville Rd, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Kernville
Also Known As:
Kernville Hotel Kernville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kernville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kernville Inn to your Saves list