We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy and great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kernville Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kernville Inn
Save
You added Kernville Inn to your Saves list
11042 Kernville Rd, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Spacious, very clean room. Very comfortable beds (we had 2 doubles). Right across the road from a great saloon. Excellent value for the holiday season.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My 11 yr-old son and I stayed in Room 176, second floor. It had high ceiling, kitchenette, A/C, clean bathroom, towels, kitchen utensils, ref, microwave. Linda and Diane were very nice at check-in and check-out. It was our first time in Kernville. Parking was right below our unit. It is walking distance to all restaurants, sports stores and even Sierra South River Raft pick up across the bridge.

We went river rafting 2x with the Sierra South River Rafting. The guides especially Kurt were just cool and accommodating with all our questions answered. According to them, the winter this year was not good enough to have the river rapids going wild. But my son totally enjoyed it anyway. He can't wait to do it again.

Brandon at the Fly Fish store across Sierra South was so nice to even attach the spinning reel line to the rod we bought in LA before we came up. It was our first time to go fishing. No fish caught but the experience was awesome.

We would stay at Kernville Inn again and definitely go back to Kernville soon to do more stuff. A great weekend getaway. Better than Paris Hotel in Vegas if you ask me.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are better because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was my first stay at this motel. My room (177) was very small. Two glass doors opened into the bedroom area; the king bed was about 6 feet from the door. Blinds hung over the doors, but anyone could see into the room (and the bed). There were two side tables, a dresser, and a stand for a microwave. There was a small frig. There was NO DESK, so I couldn't work. I didn't even look for computer hookups. There was only one window; it was in the bathroom.

The room had one of those awful room deoderizors in it; I put it outside. The skirt for the bed was a different color scheme than the bedspread. The back of the bedspread had huge yellow stains.

There was no closet! There where 5 hooks behind the door, but clothes hung on these hooks hung over the microwave oven.

There was a small patio enclosed with lattice. It was so noisy outside, though, due to an exhaust fan that was running on the building right in front of our unit.

There was no continental breakfast. There was a small coffee pot in the room.

I will not stay here again.

The person who showed me to my room could have been nicer; she seemed to be in a big hurry.

Room Tip: If you're on business, and don't have to be in Kernville first thing in the morning, I sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Amazing location, amazing little shops and museum. I recommend the sandwiches from the local deli right near this motel. They are to die for! You have to do the white water rafting too with Kern River Rafting so fun and so friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We really liked staying at the Kernville Inn. It is located right across the street from downtown Kernville where you can look in antique shops or get something to eat and on the other side you are just across the street from the Kern River. Room 174 was very clean, spacious and had a comfy king size bed. The only downside to the room was it did not get a lot of natural light during the day, probably due to the overhang on the front patio. But the room had free wifi, a flatscreen tv w/ cable, AC plus a ceiling fan over the bed (which I love). Rm 174 also has a fireplace and a full kitchen, which we found very helpful. We would absolutly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located to the small businesses and restaurants in town. However, we found most establishments close early. The grounds are attractive, rooms furnished rustic but comfortable including a small refrigerator. Nice Adirondack chairs on porch to relax in. We rented 3 rooms for one night only, prior to a 2 day raft trip. Everything was ready when we arrived. Check-in efficient though not really friendly. Did not offer any information about amenities (probably because they only have coffee in the lobby). But they could have volunteered that there is a diner next door available for breakfast and other dining options. They seemed to be most concerned that we move all our vehicles upon check-out - reminded us a couple of times. I suppose a lot of people who go rafting want to leave their cars there when they are on the trip but we had no intention of doing so. All in all it was a decent place and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms we rented all had 2 queen beds. They were quiet, even the one nearest the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We wanted to stay in Kernville on our way up to the Sequoias, and found this great place smack in the middle of the small western-themed town. The rooms are small, not really modern, but we like that. They were very clean and very affordable. Wooden Adirondack chairs outside each room were lovely for relaxing and sipping cool drinks. Some rooms have river views, but ours did not. However, the river was a very short walk from where we were. This was a great value, and much nicer than many of the surrounding motels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kernville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kernville Inn

Address: 11042 Kernville Rd, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Number of rooms: 259
Also Known As:
Kernville Hotel Kernville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kernville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.