We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place, but you have to get it, this is no place for snobs.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny McNally's Lodge

Johnny McNally's Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Johnny McNally's Lodge
Kern River Highway, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Kernville
Maui
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place, but you have to get it, this is no place for snobs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place is very very special. First off the restaurant can cook a steak as well as Ruth Chris, it's amazing how good it is in the middle of nowhere. If you're here and you don't have a steak you are totally missing out. Second, if you're in this country you're probably a camper, hunter, or fisherman who loves a simple old fashioned lifestyle, and this place hasn't changed in 50 years. You walk in and it's like going back in time. Somehow, some way no one ever got the all too common idea this place needed updating, and that's the absolute best thing about it. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Get a cabin if you can (they are better than the trailers) and enjoy the wonderful hospitality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This motel and restaurant is in an out of the way spot (there's no mobile phone or wifi access), but nonetheless seems popular with locals and visitors alike. Our room was good value and of a good size; it was a little bit dated and worn, but perfectly serviceable and included a useful (but noisy) air conditioner.

Our room rate didn't include breakfast (indeed there isn't any on offer), but there are a couple of cafes a short drive down the road in Kernville, which is a nice old-fashioned small town and worth a wander around. The Mcnally's steakhouse restaurant is famous locally for its huge steaks, including a 40oz one and we found the food to be good

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This place is the pits. We are on the road about 150 days a year and this so-called motel is the worst of the worst. No TV, no ice machines although they wll sell you a small bag of ice and a cooler. The beds sag to the floor. The curtains?? are a mess as are the blinds. I cannot recommend highly enough for you to stay away from this motel. I cannot comment on the hamburger stand but it was busy.

Room Tip: Stay anyplace but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We camp at Goldledge at least once a year & our 'ritual' has always been to head up to McNally's on our way back home to the I.E. (opposite direction), but it's our treat to ourselves after roughing it for a week!! I personally CRAVE the 'real' iced tea & the hamburgers the entire time I'm camping, but make myself wait for that "special treat". My son & niece love the breakfast sandwich w/ham,bacon, etc. (really good). McNally's doesn't open up very early (I think 10am), but worth the wait, even if your'e early risers like us. They have some shade trees & picnic tables in front of the hamburger stand if you want to eat there. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting just plain good/simple food. There is also a "mini-market" just south in the same parking lot, which we visit quite frequently during our camping week (ice, waterdogs, ice cream, etc., etc.). Also by McNally's is a foot bridge that crosses the Kern leading to Whiskey Flat trailhead on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Been going to McNally's since i was 5 years old, I am now 23. I still get up there at least once a year and cannot stay away from the Hamburger stand. Some of the best burgers I have ever eaten. Love the atmosphere all around McNally's, Great people and great food. The restaurant also has amazing food. I have eaten the 40 oz porterhouse a few times and man is that a big steak. Always cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego Mtns.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My daughter and her now husband had no trouble deciding that this was where they wanted to get married. Son in law had stayed there many times growing up and took my daughter there for getaways. It was a destination wedding since all of us and 95% of the 30 guests live in San Diego county. The accommodations are rustic, no mistake, but it's all clean. No t.v. and no cell phone reception. It was fine with us. We all live in a similar environment. The food was fabulous but not cheap. My husband said he had the best fried chicken he's ever had in his life! The steaks were outstanding and the shrimp wonderful. The owners are warm, welcoming and generous. The rooms and trailers are all no frills but inexpensive. It is a very, very relaxing atmosphere. I highly recommend this place. The hamburger stand onsite is exceptional as well for breakfast and lunch. Appreciate it for what it is; a rustic environment, nature all around, good food, a nice bar too. And pets are more than welcome here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010 via mobile

We thought we had missed it. Listed as in Kernville, McNally's is several miles north of town and worth the drive. The food, steaks,service, location, and atmosphere are wonderful. The lodging is limited, rustic, and quaint. We arrived without a room reservation having only planned on stopping for dinner. After the robust meal sleeping sounded better than driving. Luckily there was room at the inn, the last room. Actually not a room but a retrofitted older style travel trailer with a very comfortable queen size bed. Very clean and cozy for only $60.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Johnny McNally's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny McNally's Lodge

Address: Kern River Highway, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Kernville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny McNally's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Johnny McNally's Lodge to your Saves list