We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny McNally's Lodge

Johnny McNally's Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Johnny McNally's Lodge
Save
You added Johnny McNally's Lodge to your Saves list
Kern River Highway, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Stanton, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Been going to McNally's since i was 5 years old, I am now 23. I still get up there at least once a year and cannot stay away from the Hamburger stand. Some of the best burgers I have ever eaten. Love the atmosphere all around McNally's, Great people and great food. The restaurant also has amazing food. I have eaten the 40 oz porterhouse a few times and man is that a big steak. Always cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego Mtns.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My daughter and her now husband had no trouble deciding that this was where they wanted to get married. Son in law had stayed there many times growing up and took my daughter there for getaways. It was a destination wedding since all of us and 95% of the 30 guests live in San Diego county. The accommodations are rustic, no mistake, but it's all clean. No t.v. and no cell phone reception. It was fine with us. We all live in a similar environment. The food was fabulous but not cheap. My husband said he had the best fried chicken he's ever had in his life! The steaks were outstanding and the shrimp wonderful. The owners are warm, welcoming and generous. The rooms and trailers are all no frills but inexpensive. It is a very, very relaxing atmosphere. I highly recommend this place. The hamburger stand onsite is exceptional as well for breakfast and lunch. Appreciate it for what it is; a rustic environment, nature all around, good food, a nice bar too. And pets are more than welcome here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We thought we had missed it. Listed as in Kernville, McNally's is several miles north of town and worth the drive. The food, steaks,service, location, and atmosphere are wonderful. The lodging is limited, rustic, and quaint. We arrived without a room reservation having only planned on stopping for dinner. After the robust meal sleeping sounded better than driving. Luckily there was room at the inn, the last room. Actually not a room but a retrofitted older style travel trailer with a very comfortable queen size bed. Very clean and cozy for only $60.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

My business takes me on the road 95% of the time . ..and when I am in the area of Kernville, my favorite stop for lodging and meals is McNally's . . .The hospitality is A++ . . .the food is absolutely wonderful . . .best steaks you'll ever eat !!! Highly recommend !!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
10.0 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
12.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
15.3 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#2 of 4 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
12.5 mi away
Pine Cone Inn
Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 6 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnny McNally's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny McNally's Lodge

Address: Kern River Highway, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny McNally's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.