We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Kenwood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenwood Oaks Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenwood Oaks Guest House
Save
You added Kenwood Oaks Guest House to your Saves list
854 Warm Springs Road, Kenwood, CA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Kenwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Woodside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Kenwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We needed a place to stay in or near Kenwood as we were attending a wedding there and didn't want to have to drive far. Our experience was excellent--Joan is the near-perfect hostess, and she has created a well-appointed, comfortable and quiet refuge in what can be a very busy area, especially on weekends when lots of activities are going on in Wine Country. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Reserve early so you can get Joan's former master bedroom in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.E., Owner at Kenwood Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
WOW, what a busy season it has been! You were indeed stand-out Guests, and I thank you kindly for choosing Kenwood Oaks when you were in the area for Catherine and Dave's wedding. Please come back, any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
78
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Three of us stayed here in September 2013 in the cottage and had a wonderful time. This guest house, in a beautiful location, was very peaceful and quiet. Joan, the owner, was very welcoming and gave us great tips on the best things to do in the area. We loved the great breakfasts and the beautiful gardens, particularly the hammock! Our only regret is that we didn't plan our trip so we could have stayed longer. Next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.E., Owner at Kenwood Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
All of you were a DELIGHT to have as Guests and I so admire the ways in which you embraced this area! Nothing stopped you and THANK YOU SO MUCH for choosing Kenwood Oaks Guest House!! Hope to see you all back again one fine day......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Proprieter Joan Finkle is a WONDERFUL host. She called me when I was on the road to make sure I had good directions, warned me about the traffic, was accomodating when I was later than I had thought. She had the fullest breakfast choices possible, and fresh tiny tomatoes from her garden. She offered eggs, yougurt, toast, fresh fruit, the list goes on and on, coffee cake, fresh coffee, all of which were delicious. She had apples and pears from her trees, crisp and tart.

Each room, I saw them all, including the entire house, was warm and cozy, but welcoming, and so so comfortable. I am not a person for details, but it was truly amazing. I loved the flowers and gardens outside, and inside. And it's quiet.

What I haven't conveyed is the peaceful quality at the Kenwood Oaks Guest House. Peaceful, serene, calm, healing. No clue as to how Joan creates this, but she does. And it's for her guests.

I was officiating at a wedding down the road and needed quiet for me to prepare. Joan's place was perfect.

I would stay there again and again, and I would recommend it to all who travel to this area. It's totally worth it.

Room Tip: If you want the utmost privacy, choose the separate room. Joan willhelp you choose, but I lvoed the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling, notes about guests can maintain the green environment during their stay. Not rules suggestions, which you are motivated to learn about and follow.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.E., Owner at Kenwood Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
You were such a wonderful Guest -- so kind and so appreciative. It makes me happy that you found what you needed to relax and prepare for the ceremony. Thank you for your complimentary words and please do come back and stay at Kenwood Oaks Guest House for a pleasure trip next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our third visit to Kenwood Oaks Guest House. We have now stayed in 3 of the 4 rooms available there. The largest, a cottage, offers complete privacy. The rooms in the house are also wonderfully inviting & relaxing. The facilities are modern and spotlessly clean. Waking up to the sounds of the singing birds and the smell of Joan's coffee was an immediate reminder that we were on vay...cay...tion! Breakfast includes plenty of locally grown foods, many from Joan's own garden. Evenings include sipping local wines and enjoying delicious tidbits of food and conversation.
Unlike some B&B's we've stayed in, there aren't a lot of strict rules here. Once Joan finds out what it is you are looking for, she can make your arrangements for wine tasting, dinners, excursions, etc.
On our first visit, it was "just us". We were referred to Joan at Kenwood Oaks from a larger inn nearby, where we had normally stayed. (Fortunately) they had no vacancies, so we discovered Joan and Kenwood Oaks Guest House. The next time we were back in the Sonoma area we stayed with Joan again, and brought another couple along. And, just a few weeks ago, we brought 3 other couples, and filled the whole place. Everyone was very happy with our choice of accommodations. (You'll want to call well in advance if you'd like to reserve the place for a group.) We're looking forward to our next stay at Kenwood Oaks.....soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I are so glad we stayed at this lovely B&B for two nights as part of our somewhat "delayed" honeymoon and now wish we could have stayed longer. If you are looking for a quiet, cozy, and very clean place to stay, with a country feel, look no further. This 3 room guest house (which also has a separate cottage available) is located on a quiet country road but is within minutes of the main road and in very close proximity to the surrounding wineries. Joan (the owner) is a wonderful hostess and made us feel very comfortable from the moment we arrived. A special treat was sitting on her back patio and enjoying the delicious wine, cheese and crackers she had so graciously provided. We absolutely loved everything about our corner room; the warm color scheme, the tasteful furnishings, and especially finding that the doors to our room opened on to a cozy front patio, equipped with a table and a couple of chairs. Very welcoming indeed! The grounds are beautiful with lots of trees, birds (bird-watchers delight!) and even two horses! Joan gave us some great recommendations on things to see and do in our limited time and we are so glad we followed her advice. Staying with Joan in her lovely home was definitely one of the highlights of our 10 day trip and she helped to make our honeymoon a very special one. We would not hesitate to recommend her B&B and are already planning on returning for an extended stay and hope to bring along some of our friends so we can all enjoy her warm hospitality! Joan, thank you so much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time staying at a B&B. We were referred by some friends who had stayed here last year.It was everything we had hoped for and more. Very clean,quiet,comfortable, plus a lovely room with a great bed. Joan couldn't be more accommodating. Gave us great suggestions from wineries to restaurants,farmers market,you name it and she knew it. I would HIGHLY recommend Kenwood Oaks Guest House. Can't wait for our next trip. Thanks Joan,loved staying at your wonderful place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I just returned to the Midwest from Sonoma. We spent three nights at Kenwood Oaks Guest House. Joan was welcoming and friendly. The grounds were beautiful. The atmosphere was relaxed and unhurried. It was wonderful. If you want formality, doilies, and lace, this is not the place for you. If you like a casual, comfortable, and welcoming place to start and end your day, you need to stay here. Thank you, Joan!

Green Features: Kenwood Oaks is a GreenLeader. We appreciate it. It was part of our decision to stay.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.E., Owner at Kenwood Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. You were delightful Guests and I so enjoyed your company. Hope we will meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenwood Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Oaks Guest House

Address: 854 Warm Springs Road, Kenwood, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Kenwood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kenwood
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inviting, serene, private country lodging located in the heart of Sonoma Valley's spectacular grape growing region. Situated on a small horse ranch and offering 3 beautifully-appointed private rooms with private baths and a charming Cottage. Recognized Sonoma Valley Green Business. All rooms available individually; we have a two night minimum stay at all times and also offer longer stay options. Continental healthy breakfast included. 15+ Tasting rooms within a mile of our location! Nearby restaurants serve world-class cuisine. Stunning surroundings are a haven for cyclists, hikers, bird watchers, and nature lovers. Pet, horse and bicycle friendly. Winner of TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence and Greenleaders awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenwood Oaks Guest House Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenwood Oaks Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.