We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, good wine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kunde Family Estate

Kunde Family Estate
9825 Sonoma Highway, Kenwood, CA 95452
707-833-5501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Activities in Kenwood
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We welcome you to visit our majestic fifth-generation, sustainably farmed estate in the heart of Sonoma County’s famed Valley of the Moon. Taste through our diverse portfolio of 100% estate produced wines surrounded by over a century of winemaking history, dramatic amphitheater of vineyards, relaxing shaded groves of Valley Oaks, and a serene reflection pool.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, good wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We normally wouldn't have stopped at a place like Kunde, because we were trying to hit "smaller" places, and Kunde is one of those places with a big parking lot (like bus tours stop there). But I had to go to the bathroom and it looked pretty, so we figured we'd try it. I'm so glad we did! The staff was incredibly friendly, the wine was yummy (so was the chocolate they gave us) and the free cave tour was so cool. Our tour guide told us about the movie "Bottleshock" (parts of it were filmed on the estate), which we rented when we got home. It was really fun spotting the scenery we recognized from our tour.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    36
    13
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
491 reviews 491 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“beautiful location, ok wines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Beautiful location, OK wines, nice staff members. Our group had 2 pourers. The gentleman was chatty and nice. The lady was a little stand-offish and didn't seem very interested in telling us more about the wines.

Not the biggest fan of their wines; we did a $10 tasting, which was waived when my friend bought 2 bottles of wine.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

A welcoming winery - everyone was very friendly - wine was fantastic and not over priced. Make sure you take the cave tour and the outside area is a great place for lunch.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Free cave tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Beautiful grounds, free cave tour and wine. What more do you need to know? Vanessa was very informative and entertaining. Thanks Kunde.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“don't miss the mountain top tasting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I couldn't wait to visit Kunde after loving their Zinfandel which I had purchased here at home in Canada! I was not disappointed! We were just in time to join a group for mountain top tasting in the vineyards! Len was a great host and shared lots of interesting pieces of history about the winery and vineyards.

The scenery from the mountaintop was spectacular....the Red Dirt Red just yummy!! I also found lots of great Christmas gifts in the tasting room. If I lived in the area, I would definitely join their wine club!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kunde Family Estate also viewed

Kenwood, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Kunde Family Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kunde Family Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.