We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kenwood Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added Kenwood Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenwood Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10400 Sonoma Highway, Kenwood, CA 95452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kenwood
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I don't get what the big deal is about this place. Its located right beside the highway! No matter how many fountains they run to drown out the traffic noise you'll still hear it!!! I could live with this for a couple hundred a night but at a starting rate of $600 a night you can't be serious. We heard the roar of trucks going by during our entire massage, how relaxing is that? When the power when out without all that water running to drown out the noise you realize what a façade this place is. The power was out all morning, we started our day with a cold showers, no hot breakfast and no management in sight. In fact it was obvious they were hiding from the guests, terrible. The restaurant serves such small dinner portions you'll leave hungry and mad that you paid so much for nothing. Plus they gouge you with a built in 20% gratuity on all services good or bad. Go into Sonoma, Girl and the Fig is awesome and about half the money for a fabulous dinner. What really says everything for us was when we checked out, they gave us nothing complimentary for our horrible morning but most importantly they never even asked how we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIS, General Manager at Kenwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Dianna,
I am deeply disheartened to hear that your stay with us was anything but a wonderful experience. Firstly, please accept our apologies for the unfortunate power outage that occurred during your visit. Much of Sonoma and Glen Ellen suffered during those two and a half hours without power. The fact that it coincided with the rare occurrence of traffic noise drifting into our courtyards is most unfortunate, not to mention your other listed concerns. As you can imagine the power outage caused us much disarray and we could not be at all places where we wanted to be during that time. I would love to speak with you directly in order to address your concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    36
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
14
265
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A very excellent start of our honeymoon, attentive staff, beautiful place centrally located in sonoma county. Very nice large luxury room, although view and wifi reception could have been beter. Eric the concierge perfected our stay. Good restaurant and excellent breakfast, the only downside the rather high roomprice. Certainly worth recommending.

Room Tip: Pool faced rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We went to kenwood for a wedding week. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left the stay was amazing. The staff, especially the concierge Eric, were exceptional. The wedding was beautiful, food was great and the atmosphere was perfect. I'm sure the bride and groom were extremely happy they chose this venue.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
1,733 helpful votes 1,733 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon. The Kenwood Inn and Spa is a beautiful hotel with the feel of Italian villas clustered together. Since this hotel has been reviewed so often, I'll just point out some things a potential guest might want to know:

- The hotel only accepts guests 18 and up so it is very tranquil.
- The staff were uniformly very hospitable and nice. The Concierge is extremely personable and helpful.
- Breakfast is included. Coffee is set out by the restaurant area starting at 7 am and then a choice of 3 different cooked breakfasts is possible starting at 7:30 am. Be advised, however, that our experience was that it took 30 minutes to receive our cooked breakfast. There is also a buffet of pastries and fruit if you want that.
- Do not leave food out in your room. Our room had severe ant issues and we woke up to find them crawling all over an opened bag of M+Ms that we had left on the dresser. Same thing happened the next day with our evening chocolates.
- The bathrooms are very old fashioned (ie. not updated in the modern style) with a small 70's style tub and leaking shower curtain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Kenwood, CA has a number of wineries and is typically about a 2-hour drive northeast of San Francisco. I stayed ther for the 2013 Sonoma Wine Country Weekend in order to be close to several of the events. The hotel has pretty grounds. However, the rooms are dark. I was in a room on the first floor. I could hear the people above me walking around their room at all hours. I'd read about this problem in other reviews. As a result, I had requested a room on the second (top) level. However, the hotel was sold out for the Sonoma Wine Country Weekend so a second-story room was not available. Service in the restaurant was slow each morning for breakfast. In summary, the Kenwood Inn and Spa is a four-star hotel in a beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level so that you won't hear the people above you walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our second visit to the Kenwood Inn and I can't say enough about how wonderful it is. The staff is fabulous, especially Eric the concierge! The resort itself is so beautiful, relaxing, the water features are amazing. Our room was absolutely amazing. Every time we walked around the grounds, went for a swim in the amazing pools, we were alone. The only time we saw other guests was at breakfast. A PERFECT place for a romantic getaway. I can't say enough great things about Kenwood Inn.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Romantic Tuscan ambiance complete with old world charm -the perfect venue for a small (60) wedding. Buy out the property and you never have to leave. Kenwood has everything - a fabulous chef, beautiful rooms and courtyards, award winning spa. It was the wedding my daughter dreamed it would be. Our guests raved about the wedding weekend. Between Eric, the concierge's knowledge of the area and Jeannine, the event coordinator's attention to detail, we didn't have to worry about anything. I highly recommend this beautiful magical place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kenwood Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Inn and Spa

Address: 10400 Sonoma Highway, Kenwood, CA 95452
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenwood Inn and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sonoma County, the Kenwood Inn and Spa is the premier destination for visitors seeking gracious treatment, lush surroundings, and luxurious accommodations. Designed with hand-crafted artistry, the Inn has the allure of a Mediterranean villa enticing guests along walkways that meander from courtyard to terrace, from patio to spa to create the ultimate escape.A small, peaceful hideaway, the Inn offers 29 dreamy rooms and suites, each appointed with fireplaces, featherbeds, Italian linens for bed and bath, complimentary breakfast each morning, luxurious robes for lounging and twice daily housekeeping service.The intimate hideaway offers a dining room and wine bar exclusively for guests of the Inn, spa featuring results-oriented products and vinotherapy treatments, two outdoor heated saline pools, sunning terraces, a steam room and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Kenwood Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hotel Kenwood
Kenwood Inn Spa
Kenwood Inn And Spa Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenwood Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.