We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice smaller hotel in Sonoma.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenwood Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kenwood Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Kenwood Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10400 Sonoma Highway, Kenwood, CA 95452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice smaller hotel in Sonoma.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have been to Napa & Sonoma on many occasions & wanted to try someplace different to stay. We usually stay at the Auberge du Soleil, which is a lovely experience, but we were in the mood for something a little less "big deal." The Kenwood was a nice surprise.

The hotel is built in a former estate & has a certain old-world charm. All the staff were extremely polite and conscientious. We had a room overlooking the pool & it was very spacious, huge bathroom, gas fireplace, comfy king bed, lots of nice amenities. The hotel is built right on the road, which gets a steady stream of traffic, so avoid rooms streetside. Our room was quiet, but we realized we also had no next door guests. When people checked in next door, the walls seemed very thin - Yikes!

My husband & I both had deep tissue massages in the spa - they were well done, but nothing special, moderately pricey.

We only had breakfast in the restaurant as the dinner menu looked uninspiring - lots of faux-Italian dishes. Breakfast waitstaff were very friendly, but nothing food-wise really stood out - this is wine country, so you come with high expectations. (A much better & more original breakfast can be had a couple of miles down the road in Agua Caliente at El Molino -try it, you'll like it & they serve Blue Bottle coffee to boot!)

I would stay here again if I wanted to be close to Sonoma, but would be cautious about coming in high season, as the hotel is small & facilities could get crowded.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms streetside - try for a room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    46
    26
    13
    5
See reviews for
15
321
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ivyland, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I rarely post a review but feel it's necessary to share my recent experience at the Kenwood Resort and Spa. Being in the consumer travel industry for the past 35 years I've had the opportunity to travel extensively and experience numerous service providers. While most of my experience has been positive, it's rare when I can say a trip was exceptional. That is not the case with the Kenwood. They combine a truly unique physical setting; you'll feel like you're in Tuscany, with a staff committed to exceptional customer service. Heike, the GM, has built a strong customer focused staff. Every staff member we met could not do enough to make our visit memorable. This positive experience started prior to our visit with my contact with concierge Eric Edenfield. My wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and I wanted to do a few special, intimate and non-tourist activities while out in wine country. Not only did Eric respond with numerous suggestions he even went as far as to take pictures of a few romantic locations where we could share some wine and private time together. His personal commitment to our vacation continued throughout out our stay. I can continue to give examples of exceptional service, from when Marcia the waitress went out in her car and lent us her personal backpack cooler to Jim the overnight manager meeting me each morning so I could get my wife's medicine out of the kitchen freezer. When traveling the goal is finding an exceptional resort or hotel with truly customer focused employees. That's what you'll find at the Kenwood.
--
Marty

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just back from Kenwood and I have to say its stunningly beautifull.If youre looking for somewhere romantic and special this is perfect ! We were there for our anniv and were upgraded to a suite overlooking the pool and it was stunning ,felt very "Downton Abbey" with all the beautiful drapes, oversize pillows,gorgeous linens ,plus huge fireplace! Staff are so funny and friendly especially Eric and Micah, Eric gave us so many suggestions for wineries and restaurants,loved him!Breakfast is a perfect end to your trip, fabulous choices and delicious. If you want something extra special this is the place to go ,its worth every penny and we,re most definately going back next time a little longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was a fantastic surprise. We had never been to this hotel before so when we arrived we were blown away. It is designed as an Italian estate. There are a few buildings surrounding a courtyard which houses the restaurant. Upon arrival we were given a tour of the property and shown to our room which was palatial. An enormous room with a fireplace, a seating area, two wardrobes and a desk. The bathroom was magnificent; with a two person shower and an enormous jetted bathtub in the center of the bathroom. My wife and I wondered how many babies had been conceived in this room. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it too was great. Our server, Misty and the F&B Director Anne were fabulous. Aster dinner we went to the Fountain Court where we enjoyed a jacuzzi set up like a Roman Bath. The Jacuzzi could probably seat 30 people. After that we went and swam in the pool and then back to the room. Did I mention there are no televisions in the room! What an amazing property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at the spectacular Kenwood Inn. Breakfast was phenomenal. Micah and Eric were very helpful navigating Sonoma and gave us great recommendations for both wineries and activities/hiking. Don't miss the beautiful Russian Valley!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just spent 5 wonderful nights here while attending the Sonoma Film Festival. Our room was spacious, quiet, and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious as was lunch and dinner. The staff was friendly, competent, and helpful, from management to housekeeping. We loved the landscaping, many courtyards, fountains, pool, and spa. It is centrally located between Santa Rosa and Sonoma with easy access to wineries, restaurants, hiking trails and other activities.
We highly recommend the Kenwood Inn and Spa as a romantic retreat with a well-deserved reputation of excellence from discerning visitors and informed media.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staying at the Kenwood Inn and Spa feels like you've been transported to Italy without the 10 hour flight! Everything from the beautifully maintained landscaping to the outdoor pool and courtyard areas surrounded by lemon trees, gives the impression of being in a countryside villa. The rooms are spacious and elegantly appointed, without being fussy or pretentious. A small fireplace and outdoor private patio make each room feel cozy and romantic. The staff was terrific and particularly Eric, who was very knowledgeable about the area and the perfect wine country host. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenwood Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Inn and Spa

Address: 10400 Sonoma Highway, Kenwood, CA 95452
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenwood Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sonoma County, the Kenwood Inn and Spa is the premier destination for visitors seeking gracious treatment, lush surroundings, and luxurious accommodations. Designed with hand-crafted artistry, the Inn has the allure of a Mediterranean villa enticing guests along walkways that meander from courtyard to terrace, from patio to spa to create the ultimate escape.A small, peaceful hideaway, the Inn offers 29 dreamy rooms and suites, each appointed with fireplaces, featherbeds, Italian linens for bed and bath, complimentary breakfast each morning, luxurious robes for lounging and twice daily housekeeping service.The intimate hideaway offers a dining room and wine bar exclusively for guests of the Inn, spa featuring results-oriented products and vinotherapy treatments, one outdoor heated pool and two hot tubs, and sunning terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kenwood Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hotel Kenwood
Kenwood Inn Spa
Kenwood Inn And Spa Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenwood Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.