We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenwood Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kenwood Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Kenwood Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10400 Sonoma Highway, Kenwood, CA 95452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I celebrated another wedding anniversary with the Kenwood Inn team and it was great as usual. They made us feel like royalty and no matter what we asked for or who we asked it was always a "yes we can take care of that for you" attitude.

The rooms are fantastic and the food fabulous. We cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several rooms and have looked in many of the others and they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    50
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
15
343
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'll admit that I haven't stayed here in a few years.... but I still think about it, which should say something.

The grounds are beautiful and interesting, intimate, yet roomy. The various public areas to relax in are sprinkled throughout the property so you feel like you have privacy while still being in public places. I stayed in an average sized room with a lovely fireplace and bathroom nearly equal in size. There was also a little private patio with a curtain separating it from the public areas. There are no tvs and fairly sure there wasn't a phone. Which I appreciate greatly when staying for pleasure. TV can be watched anywhere - it takes a magic moment to be able to pick up a book, or just a moment to breath in our modern world.

The bathroom was spa-like and therapeutic as were the entire grounds. If Burke Williams Spa moved to Tuscany - this would be it. My only complaint would be the fact that the hotel is so close to the highway running between Santa Rosa and Sonoma. It can be a little noisy and busy. Also - be forewarned, this is closest to Santa Rosa - the least interesting town/city in Wine Country. You'll want to head East to Sonoma to get any charm outside of a winery along the highway.

I hope to get back soon, and hope my stay will be as magical as the last.

Room Tip: The rooms vary a lot. Ask about specifics for locations, noise, and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent two days at the inn. It was a cold and wet outside. The hotel felt very empthy. While the bar was open, it was operated just for us. The breakfast was not quite in line with a $ 450 room. The room it self was very nice and extremly large. No TV but a fireplace to turn on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you think Sonoma Valley can't get any better, you need to see Kenwood Inn and Spa.
The grounds are gorgeous, nestled into the side of a hill that overlooks the Sonoma Valley. But then you get to your room. There are two chairs facing the lit fire in the fireplace. The products are Alcona (for SoHo Sancuary lovers). There is a tub and a shower in the extra large bath, complete with generous towels and robes. Walk out the French doors to the pool and take up residence on one of the lounges. Immediately, someone is there to ask if you need anything. From your reclining position, look around up the lush grounds. An olive tree heavy with olives, oranges, lemons, blue sky. And that's just the first half hour. Then explore. There is a hot tub in a ruin, no roof, behind a thick wooden door. There is another hot tub to find as well. The spa is over there beyond the pool. Discrete. The only sign are the chilled out people strolling back to their rooms. In the morning, breakfast in the courtyard. As if you don't feel pampered enough, the breakfast is worthy of it's own review. (This coming from a food snob.) Don't wait, like we did, to inquire about staying the next night. Book several nights up front. You won't want to leave.

Room Tip: Poolside. It's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

this was our 5th visit to the Kenwood over the last 7 years and the hotel is slowly going downhill. Our first visit there in 05 we were in awe. an awesome property and impecciable serice. now the hotel is not being kept up to 4 star standards, and the front desk and bar service was like a holiday inn. Even the "gourmet breakfast" was very pedestrian by luxury hotel standards. At this time I find the Kenwood wildly overpriced for the quality you get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIS, General Manager at Kenwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is with great concern I read your recent review of our property. As you have stated, you are a repeat guest, so you are no doubt aware of our sterling reputation and our pride in being the best hotel and spa in Sonoma, and among the best in the Country according to publications such as Conde’ Nast and Trip Advisor. We take our guests’ feedback very seriously. I was disappointed that you did not enjoy your selection at breakfast. It is our goal to be constantly improving on what we do, and to that end, we have in fact recently added a wider array of choices to our complimentary gourmet breakfast items. We would welcome your feedback on which item you were not happy with and how we can improve ourselves, and return you to being “In awe” of our fabulous property. I look forward to speaking with you whenever it’s convenient.

Sincerely,
Heike Pacchetti
General Manager
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Kenwood Inn and Spa was AMAZING! My husband and I traveled with one of my best friends and her husband to celebrate our 40th birthdays!!! This was my first time to Sonoma and it will be hard to beat! Our room was beautiful and romantic. We had a wonderful fire place and it was tucked away by the large hot tub so we had a lot of privacy. The salted caramels left on our pillows were so delicious! Breakfast is included and it did not disappoint. My personal favorite was the pancakes with Rosemary infused maple syrup!!!

The spa is amazing. I had my first oxygen facial which was fabulous!!! Eric the concierge spoke to me many times and helped plan our trip. The limo service that he set up was amazing! We had the best time!!!

Lastly, the grounds of the Inn are so breathtaking. There are vineyards everywhere, beautiful pool, gardens filled with pomegranates, artichokes, persimmons. Just lovely!!!

I highly recommend the Kenwood Inn!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We really enjeyed this hotel last February, this week we traveled and stayed in different hotels in Napa and Sonoma Valley. We enjoyed our stay in all of them, but in the overall, Kenwood Inn was the nicest of all. Room were very nice, elegant, comfortable. Very nice grounds, pools, jacuzzis. Breakfast was very nice, and we heard very good comments about the dining experience there. We will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenwood
9.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
9.7 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#1 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
19.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
13.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Inn and Spa

Address: 10400 Sonoma Highway, Kenwood, CA 95452
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenwood Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sonoma County, the Kenwood Inn and Spa is the premier destination for visitors seeking gracious treatment, lush surroundings, and luxurious accommodations. Designed with hand-crafted artistry, the Inn has the allure of a Mediterranean villa enticing guests along walkways that meander from courtyard to terrace, from patio to spa to create the ultimate escape.A small, peaceful hideaway, the Inn offers 29 dreamy rooms and suites, each appointed with fireplaces, featherbeds, Italian linens for bed and bath, complimentary breakfast each morning, luxurious robes for lounging and twice daily housekeeping service.The intimate hideaway offers a dining room and wine bar exclusively for guests of the Inn, spa featuring results-oriented products and vinotherapy treatments, one outdoor heated pool and two hot tubs, and sunning terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kenwood Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hotel Kenwood
Kenwood Inn Spa
Kenwood Inn And Spa Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenwood Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.