We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dream for true relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenwood Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kenwood Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Kenwood Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10400 Sonoma Highway, Kenwood, CA 95452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
portland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A little dream for true relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'll admit that I haven't stayed here in a few years.... but I still think about it, which should say something.

The grounds are beautiful and interesting, intimate, yet roomy. The various public areas to relax in are sprinkled throughout the property so you feel like you have privacy while still being in public places. I stayed in an average sized room with a lovely fireplace and bathroom nearly equal in size. There was also a little private patio with a curtain separating it from the public areas. There are no tvs and fairly sure there wasn't a phone. Which I appreciate greatly when staying for pleasure. TV can be watched anywhere - it takes a magic moment to be able to pick up a book, or just a moment to breath in our modern world.

The bathroom was spa-like and therapeutic as were the entire grounds. If Burke Williams Spa moved to Tuscany - this would be it. My only complaint would be the fact that the hotel is so close to the highway running between Santa Rosa and Sonoma. It can be a little noisy and busy. Also - be forewarned, this is closest to Santa Rosa - the least interesting town/city in Wine Country. You'll want to head East to Sonoma to get any charm outside of a winery along the highway.

I hope to get back soon, and hope my stay will be as magical as the last.

Room Tip: The rooms vary a lot. Ask about specifics for locations, noise, and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    44
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
15
308
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent two days at the inn. It was a cold and wet outside. The hotel felt very empthy. While the bar was open, it was operated just for us. The breakfast was not quite in line with a $ 450 room. The room it self was very nice and extremly large. No TV but a fireplace to turn on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you think Sonoma Valley can't get any better, you need to see Kenwood Inn and Spa.
The grounds are gorgeous, nestled into the side of a hill that overlooks the Sonoma Valley. But then you get to your room. There are two chairs facing the lit fire in the fireplace. The products are Alcona (for SoHo Sancuary lovers). There is a tub and a shower in the extra large bath, complete with generous towels and robes. Walk out the French doors to the pool and take up residence on one of the lounges. Immediately, someone is there to ask if you need anything. From your reclining position, look around up the lush grounds. An olive tree heavy with olives, oranges, lemons, blue sky. And that's just the first half hour. Then explore. There is a hot tub in a ruin, no roof, behind a thick wooden door. There is another hot tub to find as well. The spa is over there beyond the pool. Discrete. The only sign are the chilled out people strolling back to their rooms. In the morning, breakfast in the courtyard. As if you don't feel pampered enough, the breakfast is worthy of it's own review. (This coming from a food snob.) Don't wait, like we did, to inquire about staying the next night. Book several nights up front. You won't want to leave.

Room Tip: Poolside. It's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

this was our 5th visit to the Kenwood over the last 7 years and the hotel is slowly going downhill. Our first visit there in 05 we were in awe. an awesome property and impecciable serice. now the hotel is not being kept up to 4 star standards, and the front desk and bar service was like a holiday inn. Even the "gourmet breakfast" was very pedestrian by luxury hotel standards. At this time I find the Kenwood wildly overpriced for the quality you get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIS, General Manager at Kenwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is with great concern I read your recent review of our property. As you have stated, you are a repeat guest, so you are no doubt aware of our sterling reputation and our pride in being the best hotel and spa in Sonoma, and among the best in the Country according to publications such as Conde’ Nast and Trip Advisor. We take our guests’ feedback very seriously. I was disappointed that you did not enjoy your selection at breakfast. It is our goal to be constantly improving on what we do, and to that end, we have in fact recently added a wider array of choices to our complimentary gourmet breakfast items. We would welcome your feedback on which item you were not happy with and how we can improve ourselves, and return you to being “In awe” of our fabulous property. I look forward to speaking with you whenever it’s convenient.

Sincerely,
Heike Pacchetti
General Manager
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Kenwood Inn and Spa was AMAZING! My husband and I traveled with one of my best friends and her husband to celebrate our 40th birthdays!!! This was my first time to Sonoma and it will be hard to beat! Our room was beautiful and romantic. We had a wonderful fire place and it was tucked away by the large hot tub so we had a lot of privacy. The salted caramels left on our pillows were so delicious! Breakfast is included and it did not disappoint. My personal favorite was the pancakes with Rosemary infused maple syrup!!!

The spa is amazing. I had my first oxygen facial which was fabulous!!! Eric the concierge spoke to me many times and helped plan our trip. The limo service that he set up was amazing! We had the best time!!!

Lastly, the grounds of the Inn are so breathtaking. There are vineyards everywhere, beautiful pool, gardens filled with pomegranates, artichokes, persimmons. Just lovely!!!

I highly recommend the Kenwood Inn!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We really enjeyed this hotel last February, this week we traveled and stayed in different hotels in Napa and Sonoma Valley. We enjoyed our stay in all of them, but in the overall, Kenwood Inn was the nicest of all. Room were very nice, elegant, comfortable. Very nice grounds, pools, jacuzzis. Breakfast was very nice, and we heard very good comments about the dining experience there. We will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The moment you lay your eyes upon this beautiful Mediterranean-style inn, you’ll know that you've made the right choice. Upon entering you’re graciously greeted, offered a chilled beverage and smoothly checked in. Winding your way through the grounds you easily get lost in the beauty… cobblestone paths, persimmons trellised and hanging from their vines, trickling fountains, an abundance of foliage, iron adornments…all so picturesque! The intimate atmosphere makes you feel as though you're staying at a friend's home in Tuscany.

Our room, number five, was located in the pool courtyard; we found this area to be the most beautiful. It’s the largest of the three courtyards, and all rooms overlook the Roman-style pool. Our junior suite offered 3 separate rooms; a sitting room with two comfy, over-sized chairs, a desk, credenza, and beautiful fireplace; the bathing room offered a large and exceptionally deep jetted tub, an antique dresser fashioned into a vanity, a very large separate shower, a closet, and a door leading to a private patio with two loungers and a sun umbrella; the bedroom was nicely appointed with 2 chairs, a large 4-drawer antique dresser with a mirror, and a very comfortable king bed.

Service was exceptional; Brittany and Elisa at the front desk were so kind, knowledgeable and helpful. The bar, dining, and housekeeping staff were excellent as well. The breakfast, which is included, was so good. They offer 4 prepared-to-order gourmet choices, or you can simply step into the dining room, pour yourself a cup of coffee and pick up a pastry. We were very, very pleased with the appetizers, wines, dinners and desserts! Cibo delizioso!

Although this was a “wine country” vacation for us, we truly couldn’t wait to get back to the sumptuous Kenwood Inn each day for romance and relaxation!

Room Tip: I don't think that you could go wrong with any of the rooms, however, if privacy is a priority...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenwood Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Inn and Spa

Address: 10400 Sonoma Highway, Kenwood, CA 95452
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenwood Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sonoma County, the Kenwood Inn and Spa is the premier destination for visitors seeking gracious treatment, lush surroundings, and luxurious accommodations. Designed with hand-crafted artistry, the Inn has the allure of a Mediterranean villa enticing guests along walkways that meander from courtyard to terrace, from patio to spa to create the ultimate escape.A small, peaceful hideaway, the Inn offers 29 dreamy rooms and suites, each appointed with fireplaces, featherbeds, Italian linens for bed and bath, complimentary breakfast each morning, luxurious robes for lounging and twice daily housekeeping service.The intimate hideaway offers a dining room and wine bar exclusively for guests of the Inn, spa featuring results-oriented products and vinotherapy treatments, one outdoor heated pool and two hot tubs, and sunning terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kenwood Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hotel Kenwood
Kenwood Inn Spa
Kenwood Inn And Spa Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenwood Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.