We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, rundown, and the lake is gross!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Resort and RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelseyville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgewater Resort and RV Park
Save
You added Edgewater Resort and RV Park to your Saves list
Kelseyville, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Reno, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old, rundown, and the lake is gross!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have stayed at a lot of different RV parks. And each one had it's own personality and quirks. However, this park has been our worst experience yet. It is extremely run down. Everything is old and broken. The owners need to focus on fixing this place up. The bathrooms are surprisingly clean - but the facilities are just old and uninviting. They are also charging an arm and a leg for this place - but it's not even a pleasant place to stay.

Be warned that the lake is disgusting! Apparently every summer the lake has a huge amount of algae floating on top. You cannot swim in it! It stinks and is gross.

The pool is nice. However, because you cannot swim in the lake - it is the only thing to do at Edgewater. So, it is overcrowded.

The owners will nickel and dime you for everything, so be warned. They charge for children, dogs, pool keys, etc. One example would be ice. The convenience store right next to the park charges $2.50 for ice. The park charges you $3.50. Very expensive place to stay. The state park is much cheaper and nicer.

On a positive note, the park is very dog friendly. There are a lot of nice and well behaved dogs at this park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Great location. The people that run it are very nice. We camped in tents, so we had to use the public facilities. The cleanest bathroom and showers I have ever seen at a camp site. Small sites, but had all the accommodations one could need. Great place for kids and dogs. Seemed like everyone there had a dog with them. The lake itself is a little bit undesirable however. Lots of algea and grass. When the wind died down all the algea and green guck stayed on the top and was too gross to swim in. The lake was very warm, so we had a great time jet skiing on it. When we couldn't swim in the lake, we swam at the Edgewater's pool. So it was nice that they had an alternative. I would definately come back to Edgewater, however Clearlake is not a very pretty lake.

Room Tip: All the sites are nice, but the lakeview ones are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Pictures of the camp sites are not reality. There are only two with lake views and large spaces, the rest are on dry weeds and dirt, small, and very close together. We are only 30 feet and could not get level or extend our awning. Sat between a utility shed and a pop-up trailer with less than 4 feet on each side. People were nice, however.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our first RV vacation. I was looking for something for Memorial Day weekend that wasn't too far from home where I could teach my son to fish and take our 3 small dogs with us. It was my first time renting an RV and I was a little nervous about manuevering and hooking up the rig once parked. And I wanted the best spot in the park. The people I made our reservation with were very friendly and accommodating, reserving a fantastic spot for us (about 100 feet from the swimming beach), guiding me to the campsight and helping me hook up the rig. The campground was full of families with well-behaved dogs on leash and plenty of activities - and they provided free wi-fi. The other campers were very nice too.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

A friend and I stayed here after reading the awful reviews about most places in the area. We were given Cabin #5, which had a great view of the lake and was right near the office, store and dock. We absolutely LOVED it and would definitely go again! It was close enough to Konocti Harbor, where we had an event planned, that driving there only took maybe 10 minutes. I cannot imagine staying at that hotel with the crowds, noise and partying going on.

The first night we were there, we went to the Italian restaurant just outside the park. The food was awesome there! The cook even came out to make sure we were happy. Not the most inexpensive place, but what the heck... you're on vacation right?

As a side note, don't go here if you expect 5 star service. This is a cabin on a lake, with heat, refrigerator, A/C, towels and dish soap for you to clean the dishes you use. It's not cheap, but compared to the other places in the area ( and seeing the reviews you take your chances ), I would MUCH rather stay here.

  • Liked — View of the lake
  • Disliked — ants in the bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

On our 44th anniversary get-away, we stayed two nights in Cabin #7 (1 of 8) which has a view (obstructed) of the lake from the unscreened front porch and living room. This resort campground boasts 150 shade trees of 19 varieties which is a pretty good ratio of trees-to-land for five acres with many trees being very large and mature. We were right across the driveway from the office/store and the small swimming pool which is a nice sunny area with shady seating outside the fence. Most camp sites are back from the lake (without a view) but under shaded trees. Of the cabins available I liked our location best even though a couple were closer to the lake.

Check-in at 3pm on Saturday was very efficiently handled by the staff, leaving very little to question about the rules and facility. We came here because we had our dog with us and although Lake County is not known for its dog friendly atmosphere, Edgewater Resort definitely makes up for it. The resort is located right on the lake with their own boat launch, pier, dock, and pebbly-beach swimming area (albeit filled with typical Clear Lake green grunge which hugs the shores.) Dogs must be well-behaved and leashed and we found only friendly mutts and owners. Off-leash is allowed in the lake swimming area if the dog is obedient by voice command. Thankfully aggressive dogs and people are not tolerated. There was always plenty of friendly staff around so getting assistance with anything was not an issue.

The furnished cabin has two double beds, one in the living room and one in a separate bedroom. The living room contained a wall-room A/C above the bed, a couch, chair and ottoman, a dining table, and a kitchen area. The small bedroom has a window A/C, small TV, and a door to the back fenced yard. The yard is shared with the occupants in the attached house. Each side has a small barbeque and picnic table with one shared portable fire pit. The units have a locked adjoining door in the living room but noise was not a problem. The front porch has a table and chairs which was my destination spot first thing in the morning.

Cleanliness/dusting is not on the top of the staff’s list when it comes to baseboards, the top of the refrigerator, windows and sills, and bed side tables, but “after all you’re camping” (AAYC) and you don’t eat off baseboards. The refrigerator and electric range appeared near-new and everything else was clean and in good working order. No phone, blender, or dishwasher but AAYC. Free full-cable TV and Wi-Fi was included and worked well. The very small bathroom has the only mirror but there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

Be sure to check out the pictures in the single-room club house and ask the staff to tell you about the history of the resort. It has an interesting background. If your dog is friendly when you’re not by its side, you can hitch it up to the doggy hitching post while in the store or club house room. For just relaxing and gazing at the lake, there are chairs in a lawn area next to the lake, at the swimming area, and at the end of the pier.

Walking around the resort does not take long so if you want some real exercise you will have to go off-site. As long as you don’t think of this place as a big campground with lots of space to wander, you won’t be disappointed. The narrow 5-acre lot is bounded by the lake to the east, private property north and south, and Soda Bay Road to the west.

The fishing is supposed to be good but the many fishermen we saw were having no luck that weekend.

On our drive around the area we stopped by the State Park just down the road and the ranger allowed us free entry to drive through (without getting out of the car) as long as we were back in 30 minutes. It took 25 minutes and worth the visit. Konocti Harbor is a short drive from the resort and we enjoyed the Reba McIntyre concert on Sunday night before heading off Monday morning to the most dog-friendly place in California...Carmel-by-the-Sea!

  • Liked — Dog friendly - Lake view
  • Disliked — Nothing really...just remember it's a campground.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Resort and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort and RV Park

Address: Kelseyville, CA
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Kelseyville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kelseyville
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And RV Park Kelseyville, CA - Lake County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Resort and RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.