We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy and we hope to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heidelberg Inn

Save Saved
You added Heidelberg Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heidelberg Inn
85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Discount
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in June Lake
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very cozy and we hope to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is a very nice, homey place. The small size lent to making it all feel like extended family. There small evening social events were not flashy and perfect for the place. We felt very comfortable hanging out in the lobby in the evenings playing games, watching movies and enjoying the fireplace. As for the rooms, I appreciate that they weren't so shoved full of furniture that you couldn't move. Some things to note, we didn't get a full kitchen- there was no oven. I must have read my confirmation wrong. There is so much to do in the surrounding areas in any season, we hope to make it back in the summer.

Room Tip: Only a very few rooms have balconies. None on the second floor. That would definitely add to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
For liability reasons, the second floor units do not have balconies, although I agree, it would be an added bonus. You are correct in advising others to request a room looking at the lake, although we cannot grant that request to everyone, or the building would be too heavy on that side and possibly tip over. Just kidding, we try our best to please everyone, but someone has to stay in the rooms overlooking the parking lot, and that may be you at some point. Enjoy yourself on our deck or take a walk around the village to find the best view for you.

Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here in late September to early October and the place is a charming place to stay.The building is an interesting one, having been an old lodge converted into its current arrangement. I have to say the great hall is by far one of the most impressive ones I have seen recently with 2 long and rustic staircases at either end. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and help to contribute to the charm and comfort of the place.

If you are looking to fish then I would say this is a ideal spot, we were using the Inn as a base to explore further so again couldn't really fault it. If you are self catering i would recommend that you either bring your own food or visit the stores in Mammoth Lakes which is about 20 mins down the road - the local produce is very pricey. Also there are no ovens - just rings and a microwave in the rooms so come supper time the BBQ's (there are only two grills) can get very busy.

There are 2 negative thing I would say about the place and either one has nothing to do with the Inn mind you. The first one is there is nothing to do in the evening so you have to drive to Mammoth Lakes. to entertain yourselves.although we did go to a very good restaurant down the road which has Hawaiian BBQ ribs and these were so good. The second one and this must be considered by some folks is that the Inn is located some 7250 feet above sea level and as such if you are affected by altitude differences you may find yourself breathless very easily and have to compensate for it.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room facing the lake and secondly, as there is no elevator you may prefer to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
If you are looking for peaceful, calm and quiet, then you have come to the right place. If an active nightlife is more your speed, then yes, down the road 20 miles to Mammoth Lakes you will go. The town of June Lake, more of a village actually, buttons up fairly early. By 9pm, the streets are empty, the businesses are closed, and you may get lucky and catch the last meal to be served at one of the handful of restaurants available.

Knowing that, you can plan accordingly for your stay with us. It is often that we find a late arrival making dinner out of our vending machine selections. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our stay at the Heidelberg Inn was a dream come true.Snow capped mountains surrounded us as we soaked in the jacuzzi 6ft from our room.The staff was welcoming and didnt hestitate to make our stay wonderful.We had a full kitchen and were able to Bbq everynight from our balconey.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Short and sweet and to the point - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I just went there for a few days. Great hotel. I am a teenage girl and went with a friend and my parents. The staff was VERY nice.
The hotel is very homey. It is very old fashion with real keys, two floors, and no elevator. Everyone staying in the hotel was very nice and friendly. Don't have to worry about leaving the door open, no crime.
Hotel lobby had a bunch of couches for everyone to sit and mingle. Movie night and activities daily. There are two georgeous hot tubs with a great view. There is also a dry sauna and a rec. room complete with a tv, ping pong, pool, and video games, some of which are free. Very fun and social!
The rooms are very nice and big. Beds are comfy. Full kitchen. Even though the hotel is rustic, the rooms are updated.
Overall, the hotel was great! Loved it and will definitely go back!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much - you teenagers can be hard to please sometimes and it is nice to hear that we were able to do that for you. There is no shopping mall, video arcade or other hangout for you, and unless you enjoy the outdoors and temperamental internet service, you may find yourself a little, well, bored. We hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Traveling with two toddler boys (2 & 4), I always have concerns about where I stay: will the unit be big enough? will there be stuff to keep them busy? will I drive the other guests crazy?? The Heidelberg was PERFECT and exceeded my expectations. The front desk was so helpful and even gave us an early check in on Sunday so I could nap my boys. The lodge itself is so roomy and large, it feels like you are staying in a big rustic mansion. They even moved our friends to another 2 bedroom unit downstairs so we could all be close together. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. My only complaint would be the lack of an oven.. I just wish we would have known in advance and I would have planned my meals differently. But no biggie at all, we made do and next time will plan for it. There is a large rec room downstairs that the kids LOVED! I was so pleased that there was a big open area for them to run around and let off some energy because it was too cold outside. We got fresh snow, my boys first time, while we were there and that just topped off this perfect vacation. I would highly recommend to any family and we plan to make this a yearly tradition! Thank you very much for everything Heidelberg!!

Room Tip: Room 103 downstairs was very large and loved that the door opened up right to the large fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
After many hours of travel in the car, our guests with children can be found chasing them up our back hillside and around the four-sided lobby fireplace. As you mentioned, the game room is an ideal spot for kids to be kids with their own TV, large chalkboard, pool and ping pong tables. Around 8-9pm, the lobby quiets down as our guests retreat to their rooms and plan the next day's activities. We also offer DVD rentals, puzzles and board games for family evenings and snowbound days.

Thank you for encouraging other families to try us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We just got back from a week. June mountain had minimal snow, but the staff was helpful coming up with alternatives. We did a few days at Mammoth it only takes 20 minutes to get there. I enjoyed the atmosphere. the fireplace was warm and the Jacuzzi hot. The robes were first class. the towels were so soft. the sheets were Egyptian cotton! and here is the best part..... the first morning the phone rang and i was expecting the time share call, you know the one about the tour and some bogus gift. well it didn't happen. they just wanted to see if the room was to our liking and if everything was OK. They had movie night for the kids and root-beer floats, free breakfast the first day, and you never had to make coffee, they had it out (with tea, hot chocolate, and apple-cider) every morning! Thanks Karen!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
You're welcome and my apologies for not responding sooner, but I'm back after a "social media hiatus". We are a timeshare, but we do not support active sales at the site, so your vacation will not be interrupted by any type of sales promotions. We are happy to share information about our programs if asked, but no free remote control car for sitting through a two hour presentation.

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We spent a week at the Inn, and absolutely loved it. The accommodations (in our case, the one-bedroom) were very comfortable and the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The central lobby area is charming, and the Inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shops and the lake. It's also conveniently located for day trips! We went to Mono Lake, Yosemite, Mammoth, and Bodie - and the "commutes" from the Heidelberg were very convenient.

Only a couple of things kept this from being a 5-Star review. One, while there are washers and dryers on site, they can't be used by guests until after 4:00 p.m. typically. The other issue was that our bedroom windown looked out over the back parking lot and was literally just a few feet from where people were coming and going, chatting and smoking, etc. There wasn't a sheer drape over this window like there was over the "living room" window, so it was an all or nothing situation with the drape. The window was also within a few feet of some sort of electrical box that buzzed all night long....a bit of a buzz kill when one has traveled hundreds of miles to get "into nature". :)

Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Heidelberg and would definitely recommend it to others - as well as stay there ourselves again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for you review and my apologies for the delay in responding. The draperies have been replaced and all of the units have sheers as well as black-out curtains. There are rooms that are closer in proximity to the parking lot than others, and it is a matter of request and timing when making those room assignments, but it sounds like you enjoyed your stay regardless. The electrical box actually belongs to Edison and is not associated with our building, it just happens to be fixed on our property and yes, it does make noise which can be heard when the windows are open in the unit. We do try to take into consideration the length of your stay when assigning rooms, and save the rooms on that side of the building for one or two night stays.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heidelberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Inn

Address: 85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Heidelberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel June Lake
Heidelberg June Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidelberg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.