We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heidelberg Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Heidelberg Inn to your Saves list
Heidelberg Inn
85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Our two 15 year old grandsons loved the old fashioned comfort, the town small enough to wander about, the hot tubs, talking to "interesting people." We took day trips to Bodie, Mammoth Lakes, and Obsidian Crater, all fun and interesting.
We felt comfortable letting them roam....around town, down to the docks, over to the grocery store, a
freedom they don't have so much at home with their parents in San Jose.

Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms and grounds were clean and well-kept. Good selection of older movies which we played in the room easily. TV reception was good.

Other comments: Tiger Bar across the street tends to get noisy around midnight and the one bedroom unit we had was really a bed- alcove with no window. If we were to go there again, I would make sure of the bedroom situation. Dishwasher was loud. Wi-fi was sporatic in the evening in the room - but tolerable, and ok during daylight hours.
Couldn't figure out the bar-b-ques, but we're not really into that anyway, and the staff did offer to help. Adequate storage and closet space. Ground floor room with balcony and little view of Lake was fine.

We had a great time, and would definitely consider staying there again on a repeat visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
June Lake is a place where you can give the kids a little more freedom than they have in the city. The Tiger Bar continues to be a minor irritant, but paradise is not perfect and we work with them as much as possible to keep the noise under control. The unit that you stayed in is a little different than our other units in that the bedroom does not have a window, thus it cannot have a solid door, thus the louvered folding doors and alcove feel. The internet service is currently undergoing upgrades both on our end and in the general area, so that will behave better some time soon. The BBQs receive heavy use and the ignitor buttons wear out quickly. We keep manual lighters and extra propane tanks handy and are ready to assist when necessary.

Thank you for your response and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yarrawonga, Australia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

step back in time with movies stars of the 40s great old photos on the walls!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Absolutely! Long time local residents will confirm that personalities such as Betty White, Frank Capra, Charlie Chaplin, Bob Hope and others visited and/or stayed here. June Lake was and still is a popular filming location. Our lobby walls are decorated with photos of these memorable movie legends.

Thank you for letting others know about our star-studded history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I have just checked into the Heidelberg Inn and am very dis satisfied! I have been coming here as an owner for 20 years and these last 4 to 5 years they have done nothing to make me happy. This is a beautiful place to visit but the accommodations get worse each year. The dues go up but the service and everything else gets worse! I really think they cater more to the rental market where they can make more money that to owners.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I understand your frustration with your most recent visit. A room request is not a guarantee that you will receive that room, regardless of your ownership status. In checking your stays with us over the past ten years, you have received your room request more than half of the time, and those times when we did not have that specific room available for you, we gave you a comparable room, i.e., one with a a view and a balcony. I have actually had guests fighting over rooms while waiting to check in, so I understand the importance of a request and the difference it can make in your vacation experience.

We do our best to give the owners preference in room assignment, and in this case, we were not able to get you into your favorite room until the day after you arrived. This was due to a late booking by our rental division, and that room was the only unit available for that reservation. Room assignments are like a giant puzzle, and sometimes the pieces will only fit a certain way in order to get everyone in here. Unfortunately for you, it did not fit perfectly this time, but we worked it out. Yes, we should have contacted you to let you know what had happened so you knew what to expect when you arrived.

The maintenance fees have not increased more than 3% each year for the past five years, yet we have managed to make tremendous improvements in the facility without any special assessments. In fact, for 2008, the assessments increased 1%, and for 2010 there was a 0% increase. Here is a list of what we've done during that time: unit and lobby bathroom remodel, office remodel, major plumbing and structural repairs, parking lot replacement/resurfacing and re-striping (including lighting and handicap upgrades), lobby carpet replacement, deck replacement, BBQ replacement, deck furniture replacement, exterior building re-painting, spa upgrades (heaters, pumps and filters), soft goods remodel (this includes draperies, all upholstered furniture, bedding and carpeting, currently in progress), and our new ice machine was installed today.

This is an 80 year old building and she needs a lot of love. Often we do not realize

Our rental program was set up to recover lost revenue from delinquencies due to time share owners who default. As you can imagine, all of our resorts are experiencing a higher than normal delinquency rate due to current economic situations affecting time share owners everywhere. We do not "cater" to renters, however, we welcome them since they make it possible to keep your annual assessment from increasing. Yes, we do take "walk-in" renters and we consider ourselves fortunate to be in a location where we have that opportunity. Those rooms would otherwise sit vacant with no revenue to support them.

Thank you for being a concerned and contientious timeshare owner. I appreciate your comments and am proud to have you as a long time Heidelberg owner. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

When we arrived in mid-June the lobby was warm and stuffy, as was our room. We were told there was no a/c on the property but we could use a window fan. Our room was on the ground floor, which turned out to be a bit below ground level as the building is on a hill. The parking lot was just a few feet from our room so we could not open our window, for privacy , noise and air quality reasons. Fortunately the front desk person (who was extremely nice) found us a room on the second floor where we could use a fan; since the temp cooled outdoors at night, we were able to sleep. But if you want A/C, stay elsewhere.
**NOTE that there are no services here. The front desk closes at 10pm and no one is available after that, even for emergencies. There is no on-site maintenance person. The advertised activities are minimal (ex: 2 nights are 'movie night' where you pick a dvd and play it on the large tv in the lobby) and there is no swimming pool even tho the website says that there are 2. Instead there are 2 jacuzzis (and a sauna). The rooms vary a lot in size, so be sure to ask for a large one. Kitchens, bathrooms and carpets are new.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better; downstairs take front of bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. As you pointed out, this establishment operates as a condo and not a hotel, because we are not a hotel. We are a timeshare resort. Our on-site activities are limited because of the vast amount of area activities available such as hiking, fishing, swimming, boating, sightseeing, etc. We rely on our guests to entertain themselves in drawing on the reasons that they chose to visit here in the first place. Our staff is available to help you with that, and printed material is posted for that purpose. In addition to movie night, we also host a continental breakfast, ice cream night, and a welcome social. Nothing extraordinary, but just a few activities to get folks out of their rooms for a bit. Admittedly, there is incorrect information that has been distributed stating that we have a pool as well as other amenities that we do not have. We are aware of this and have taken steps to amend it.

As far as I am aware, there are no hotels or motels in this area that have air conditioning because we generally do not need it. Temperatures rarely rise above 80 degrees during the day, when most people are out enjoying the outdoors, and evening temperatures average around 50 degrees, i.e., windows closed.

As for our on-site maintenance, it does exist, you just happened to visit us when we were in between maintenance employees, and we did our best to take care of any maintenance issues as they arose.

This is not Las Vegas or Los Angeles, this is June Lake, and perhaps you noticed the remoteness of the area. As such, we do not staff the resort 24/7, nor do any of the businesses in the area. It just does not make much sense. If there was an emergency, the phone in your your room could be used to call 911. Perhaps you missed the fire station that you passed as you came into town? The one with the paramedic trucks parked out front? The manager's direct cell phone number, just for this purpose, is also available on the printed material that was given to you when you checked in as well as posted at the front desk.

The first floor is at, not below street level. The rooms which face the back side of the buiding are at ground level, while the units on the front side have a built up balcony and are obviously more desirable for the view. I'm glad that we were able to acommodate you in a room that was more to your liking. If available, we are happy to give our rental guests the view rooms. However, being that we are a timeshare, those units generally go to our timeshare owners.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I recently traveled with my 3 year old granddaughter to June Lake, CA where we stayed at the Heidelburg Inn. This place is awesome! I felt like I was staying with family and friends. The ladies at the front desk were so personable. They were always pleasent to talk to and helpful with anything I asked about.
We had a wonderful visit.
This place is beautiful. The huge fireplace in the middle of the lobby keeps you warm at night, and I loved reading to my little one while sipping on hot coco.
There are plenty of movies to rent, games to play with and something going on just about every night.
There are several resturants located just across the street or the rooms are equipped with everything you need to cook yourself up a great meal.
I love the bathtubs! They are deep and comfortable to soak in on a cold day.
The fall colors were beautiful, and the town is full of wonderful people at all the establishments I visited..
The pictures on line do not justice to this place. It is beautiful. I will be going back next year and can't wait.
Thank you for helping make my vacation a memorible one.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you had such a memorable stay. You are correct in stating that the pictures on line do not do this resort or the June Lake area justice. It truly is something you have to see for yourself. We had a gorgeous fall and are having a spectacular winter. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We weren't able to do a lot of planning for this labor day weekend trip. Frankly I went by the personal responses by the manager on tripadvisor. And based on past reviewer's experience I called to verify that my reservation was in place :)

After the initial hiccup (note that the GPS does not find "85 Boulder-Lakeview", use "85 Lakeview" instead - we were guided by Karen even though it was past 10pm) in finding the place we were pleasantly surprised when we reached. Its looks like a place with a history going by the walls full of pictures of past celebrity guests and trophies. The lobby is absolutely charming. The 1 bedroom apartment was very cozy with a nice bedroom and decent sized hall with a sleeper sofa and 2 TVs. The kitchenette was adequate. One of my main criteria in a hotel is the bathroom - full marks here.

Location is perfect. Its bang opposite Tiger bar & cafe, Sierra Inn Restaurant and Ernie's Tackle shop - thats all you need in June lake :)

We had a great time and would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for bringing attention to the subject of GPS as it relates to this area. This causes more confusion with directions and the ability to find our resort than anything else out there. I understand that GPS navigation is a great tool, however, in a rural area such as June Lake, it can turn you around so fast you don't know which way is up, especially in the dark in an unfamiliar place. The same is true with Mapquest and similar programs.

Our official physical address is 2635 Highway 158, June Lake, CA 93529. Many search engines do not recognize this address. Here's the story as it was told to me by the postmaster: Years ago, there was no door to door mail delivery in June Lake. The mail arrived general delivery to the local post office, the address of which was 85 Boulder Drive. Thus, everyone's mailing address was 85 Boulder Drive since that was where you came to collect your mail. At some point in time, someone added "Lakeview" to the 85 Boulder Drive address for the Heidelberg Inn, presumably to make it easier to find the building once door to door mail delivery became available. Lakeview Drive is the street which runs behind the Inn. So, that is how our address became "85 Boulder-Lakeview Drive". My favorite version is when I see "85 Boulderdash Lakeview Drive".

So, how did we get to 2635 Highway 158? Well, at a later point in time, I'm not exactly sure when, the county was required to designate specific addresses for all residences and businesses for census enumeration as well as for emergency purposes. Boulder Drive became Highway 158, and addresses were created. Believe me, it's as big a nightmare for me as it is for you, especially when I'm attempting to have something shipped here, since UPS, FedEx, etc., all recognize different physical addresses. So, if you would like to mail something to us (gifts, cards, hate mail, etc.) via the U.S. Postal Service, please use our mailing address which is P.O. Box 809, June Lake, CA 93529. There is no door to door mail delivery in June Lake, and if you send something via the USPS to the other addresses, it may be returned to you. If you are trying to have something shipped here via UPS or FedEx, please use one of the physical addresses (2635 Hwy. 158 or 85 Boulder) and be sure to include "Heidelberg Inn" in the address. Something else to consider is that overnight delivery is not available here, so don't waste your money.

My recommendation to all potential visitors is to either look at a real map or contact us directly for specfic directions. Most of you are AAA members, so take advantage of those free maps!

We're glad you had a great time with us despite the confusing directions. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale Sonoma County, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

The accommodations described in the confirmation emailed to us were not available at the site where we stayed such as the pools, jacuzzis, etc. Available off-site several miles away for an additional per person charge of $20 per day. The staff were not very friendly or accommodating to us for a duplicate reservation made by the telephone reservation system and ensuring that we were not charged twice for one room. The site itself has no restaurant, or outdoor area to enjoy the view of June Lake, and the parking lot was under construction (no discount offered for this) and we had to schlep our stuff to various on street parking locations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
After examining your confirmation letter, we realized that the Heidelberg Inn was confused with another Wyndham property in our system and their information appeared on the confirmation for our hotel. While we apologize for that mistake, it is certainly not the Heidelberg's fault that this happened. If you had read your confirmation closely, as we did, you would have noticed that the name of the property was different.

We did make every effort to follow up on your duplicate reservation and we did verify and inform you that you were not double charged, however, we do not make nor control the rental bookings and that is why we encouraged you to follow up with your booking agent. It was obvious to us that you were not pleased with the acommodations as they were not what you expected, and any "unfriendliness" on our part may have simply been your misperception based on your unhappiness with the situation. At that point, we could do nothing but offer you what we had to offer. You chose to stay and then left a day early, and you did receive a refund for the booking error.

We do not offer a restaurant on the property, however, there are two restaurants directly across the street within walking distance from the hotel, and menus for those restaurants were included in your in-room information book. Apparently, you missed the large outdoor deck area where our guests sit to enjoy the view of June Lake.

All of our reservation partners were notified that our parking lot was under construction and we personally contacted our inbound guests to advise them of this project. Since you were a rental guest, we had no telephone number to contact you, thus it was up to your booking agent to advise you of this. We are sorry you were not aware that this was taking place, but as we discovered, there is misinformation out there and miscommunication does occur. As far as "schlepping your stuff", the area directly outside the entrance was clearly marked and designated as a loading zone, making this effort unnecessary on your part. We also provided a luggage cart for assistance with your bags.

For all potential guests reading this response, I would like to take this opportunity to advise you that not everything that you see on the Internet is accurate and it is always a good idea to research your destination before traveling to be sure that you are getting what you expect. I encourage our visitors to contact us directly here at the resort for information and/or clarification on our services and amenities, especially if you are a first time visitor. We want your stay with us to be a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heidelberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Inn

Address: 85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Heidelberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel June Lake
Heidelberg June Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidelberg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.