We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs TLC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Whispering Pines Resort to your Saves list
Whispering Pines Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Nevada St, June Lake, CA 93529   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Needs TLC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I so wanted to rate this motel with more than 2 stars, but I just couldn't. The people that we dealt with were all so nice and friendly, and the locaction absolutely stunning, but there were just too many other problems. Like I said, the location is spectacular. It is on the far end of June Lake township, so it is secluded and the view of the snow capped mountains is beyond beautiful. However, the rooms are in need of some serious TLC. The hotel is definately not a resort. It reminded me of an old washed up movie star. Once great in it's day, but now gone to seed. The interior, while very clean, was straight out of the 1970's, down to the wallpappered walls and green flowered formica countertop in the kitchen. The carpet had holes in it, and the bed...well...lumpy is a kind word for it. The sheets were so old and threadbare that they wouldn't even stay on the bed. The pillows were flat and I woke the next morning with a pinched nerve in my neck. I thought a hot shower would help. The shower had no pressure whatsoever...It was like showering under a garden hose, and the hot water ran out not within 10 minutes. The heat was either too little or baking hot. The t.v. was small, old and had a horrible picture. On top of that the prices were high for what we could've gotten elsewhere in town. I hope that someday, the owners will invewst the time and money this place needs, but until then, we unfortunately have to saty elsewhere....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
25
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent three nights in this motel in October for a very reasonable rate. Our room was spacious and clean plus we had a complete kitchen and free internet. No luxury, but worth the price. The view out of our upstairs room was beautiful, especially the morning that it snowed. The location is excellent for seeing the bright fall colors on the June Lake Loop. Also, the room is close to the Parker Lake trail head. Parker Lake is gorgeous any time of year, but especially so in the fall. The trail is about four miles in and out and is not very difficult and certainly worth the effort. Also, Whispering Pines is not that far from the always interesting Mono Lake. We love to visit the South Tufa at sunset. Spectacular!
Although we have visited this area many times, this was our first stay at the Whispering Pines. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We think the upstairs rooms are the quietest and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

we were there while doing a long trip all over california and nevada. the place is great, very comfterbale, we were in a unit with two bedrooms so there were enough space. there is a fuul equiped kitchen and laundry machine, well basicly everything. the owner is a great guy and the girl from the reservations too. if you are stying there for the june lake area its very good, but for yosemity its far, its two and a half hours from there to the valley. but i really recomend this place is you dont have a closest option.

Room Tip: if you are a family take the vila, its very comftarble
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for one night on our trip from Yosemite to Las Vegas. Had paid for a cottage and I have never chosen such a terrible place to stay in the US.
The 'cottage' was directly behind the motel and the back of the 'cottage' was a concrete ditch. I have no idea what the strong smell was inside! It was dirty and worn long past re-decoration. Air con units had been replaced and the bedroom door would not close as the unit in there was too close to the door. The one in the living area had been botched.
The blinds did not close properly some too small for the windows, no nets or other curtains.
It was attached to another cottage when one person arrived next door it was as though they were in the same room.
I went to reception and told them I was not prepered to stay in the accomodation. All the receptionist would say is I only work here and gave me a card with a name on to 'ring her' By this time I was very annoyed and told him to 'ring her' for me.
The result was we were offered an A frame cottage. From the outside it looked much better than the smaller cottage but when we got inside there was the same smell but not as strong, very worn, poorly built, not all the lights worked, most importantly the one on the dark stairs. If you are over about 5' 7" you would not be able to use the shower due to the A frame slope.
A nasty message saying you will be charged $35 dollars if you leave any dirty pots was the icing on the cake!
It was such a shame - it is set in a nice woodland area (no sign of Lake June though) - it could be a gold mine - but not in this state.

Room Tip: Stay somwhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Whispering Pines for one night on our way from Las Vegas to Yosemite. It was ideally situated, just a short drive from the entrance to the park. The natural scenery around June Lakes and the hotel was stunning itself too. We arrived quite late at night, and the receptionist was friendly and efficient at checking us in, no problems with the late hour. The room was spacious, with a separate kitchenette. It also had a tv and free wireless which was a great plus. It was clean, although a bit worn in places (something that doesn't bother me at all, although it might some people). I'm not sure that it had air conditioning, it wasn't apparent, but we were too tired to care much. The only thing I have to complain about was that one of the pillows on my king size bed smelt truly terrible. I had to put it on the floor it smelt so bad. There were other pillows though luckily. I didn't investigate in the morning because quite frankly I didn't want to know. Check out in the morning was easy and quick, and Gustavo at the front desk was friendly and helpful, and suggested a fantastic place for breakfast just down the road which we loved. We didn't have time to explore June lakes much, but the town looked quaint and like it would have been a great place to stay. Whispering Pines was basically just off the main road, which was fantastic as it was so easy to find. For those worried about road noise, there was complete silence through the night - whispering pines was all you could hear. The view from our window included beautiful pines, mountains, and even a small waterfall. I believe the hotel also offered a hot tub and perhaps a pool, but I can't quite remember. All in all, it was basic accomodation for a good price. It wasn't luxury, but it was comfortable, and if not for the scary pillow and the heat, it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rifle, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were on vacation- going to Yosemite. We arrived here late after getting lost. There was no air conditioner or fan. I took a shower and ran out of hot water while rinsing the shampoo from my hair. There was a sticky and stained bathroom floor and the sheets on the beds were stained and had holes. I guess the rates were low here but that doesn't mean that you have to get a badly maintained room. I would definately go somewhere else to sleep if I had the choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Yes, it's retro....but most importantly it is well maintained and managed. Just happened to find it for a busy late summer Friday night stay. Loved having a full kitchen and the view from the deck is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
13.2 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#3 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
13.3 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
2.2 mi away
Gull Lake Lodge
Gull Lake Lodge
#3 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Resort

Address: 18 Nevada St, June Lake, CA 93529
Location: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Pines Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel June Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.