We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, serene place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Eagle Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Double Eagle Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5587 Hwy 158, June Lake, CA 93529   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Torrance, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, serene place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a room on Ron's Pond. It was absolutely gorgeous! Fall leaves one day and snowfall the next. The room is very nice and cozy but big enough to enjoy. The stove heater was great. The bathroom is very spacious. The restaurant was wonderful and very gracious about doing take outs which was important since we brought our dog. The first evening there we saw deer right outside our deck. Nice sturdy deck furniture by the way. We had never been to June Lake and found it beautiful and serene. We will be back and look forward to staying at the Double Eagle again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for the review! We can't wait to host you on your next visit to June Lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    40
    15
    9
    15
See reviews for
58
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in one of the resort rooms (117C, an upstairs). As others write, this is a beautiful setting. We looked out over the pond to the trees (aspens in full color) and mountains beyond. The room, a 2-queen, was spacious with a large bathroom and excellent jacuzzi tub. Didn't use the spa/gym, but it looked like a very nice facility. We liked their approach to breakfast, not the standardized free buffet, but a voucher for $8 per person for each day we were there. You could eat eggs or pancakes for less than 8 bucks or spend a little more for more varied dishes. We had dinner at the restaurant twice, very unusual for us, who usually avoid hotel dining rooms. Prices were mostly moderate and the service was extremely courteous.
A few missteps: We didn't really understand that the resort rooms are 4-plex townhouses, and ours was up a long flight of stairs that could be challenging for some. The stairway had 2 motion activated lights, and our bottom one never worked. I reported this 3 times to the desk but it was never fixed. Finally, bring a flashlight; the walk from the dining room to our room on gravel was completely unlit.
All things considered, would definitely stay there again if in that area.

Room Tip: If stairs are a challenge, make sure you specify a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking advantage of the restaurant! We have fixed the lighting problems, and greatly appreciate your feedback on that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

June Lake is an absolutely breathtaking area in the Eastern Sierras. It is much less crowded and flashy than nearby Mammoth Lakes. This was my second stay at the Double Eagle and I was not disappointed. We stayed in a 2-bedroom cabin -- one room with a king bed and the second with two twin beds. The cabins were clean, with updated carpet and furniture. There is a full kitchen, which we used daily. We also sat outside on our deck in the afternoon sun. We used the spa facilities and fitness center, which were very good. The gym has everything you need -- cardio plus extensive weights, balance balls, etc. There are also group fitness classes. The restaurant was excellent. Every meal we ate was delicious -- salmon, trout, pasta, prime rib, and a superb grilled shrimp and spinach salad for lunch. The restaurant is set among the trees, with a roaring fire in the fireplace. We also sat in the bar for Sunday night football and enjoyed drinks and appetizers. The baked brie was fantastic! We were in the mountains specifically to hike and there were countless trails of all levels of difficulty. We took 2 fairly rigorous hikes -- to Walker Lake and another to Agnew and Gem Lakes. Amazing! The fall colors were at their peak and the sun was brilliant. Truly a memorable trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for a night on a road trip to the east side from Yosemite Valley. The area was beautiful with the aspens showing their fall colors. We loved Mammoth Lake and Convict Lake as well as June Lake. Our accommodations, which appeared to be pretty new, were very nice. The bathroom was large with a Jacuzzi and a separate shower. Our deck overlooked the pond and was a great place to have our wine prior to dinner. We did not use the spa; however, we had two meals at the onsite restaurant and they were both very good. I would definitely stay here again -- and next time I hope it's for more than one night!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After a horrific experience with the June Lake Villager motel, I booked the Double Eagle Resort instead. Yes it was more expensive BUT well worth it. They know how to treat a guest. I highly recommend this property.
June Lake is a beautiful spot in eastern California. We came up for fishing and found out they were having a chili cook off and beer fest too.... We will be back to the Double Eagle...

Room Tip: CHECK all reviews, either on here or YELP.... take heed with the bad reviews... usually they are rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Property is located on a beautiful spot with Carson Peak towering behind the resort and a year-round waterfall cascading down the granite rock face. Construction of units is of very good quality and they are spacious and comfortable. The place would get five stars if not for the following problem.... we have kids, and selected the Double Eagle specifically because it has an indoor pool. (The pool and hottub facility is gorgeous BTW!) The problem? Double Eagle is a Resort and Spa, and Spa guests hang out in the pool area on high quality, comfortable, chaise lounge chairs. And the resort does not want kids disturbing their spa customers. In an effort to satisfy both families and other spa guests they allow kids from 11:30am to 1pm and again from 4:30 to 6:30pm. We prefer to use the pool first thing in the morning, before leaving the resort for the day, or last thing in the evening, before the kids go to bed. The timing just wasn't so great. They also don't let the kids use the locker rooms... I'm not sure why - perhaps the kids might see a naked person? Or an adult might see a naked kid?

On the plus side, the restaurant is great and has an affordable kids menu with food the kids really enjoyed eating.

Bottom line: Beautiful spot, very nice place, not sure I would take my family there again.

Room Tip: I heard from other guests that the rooms in the cabins are small, although they do have more than on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stopped here for a couple of nights on our road trip and very nice and quiet it is too.
Very nice place to stop, but for us a couple of nights was enough. If you are into fishing, then this is the place to base yourself.
The cabin was really nice, although we did have an issue with the cooker, which was a bit of a pain and not resolved.
I imagine that if we had longer and done one of the many hikes around the area then my opinion might be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Eagle Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Eagle Resort and Spa

Address: 5587 Hwy 158, June Lake, CA 93529
Location: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Double Eagle Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Double Eagle Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Eagle Hotel June Lake
Double Eagle Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Eagle Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.