We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Hill Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Hill Country Inn
Save
You added Orchard Hill Country Inn to your Saves list
2502 Washington Street, PO Box 2410, Julian, CA 92036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Julian B&B and Inns
Tucson
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Delightful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Located on a large parcel of land, upon which sits several luxurious cottages and a large lodge style main structure, is where this B&B can be found. The main lodge also has hotel-style rooms and the dining room with enclosed sunroom seating for dinner and those wonderful breakfasts. The main dining room has a lovely ceiling mural and the walls are painted in a mural motif also. Most attractive. The seating area in the lodge is anchored by a huge stand-up-in-it fireplace, comfy sofa seating, and many Mission-style furniture pieces. Very Craftsman-period inspired.

Fairly pricey multi-course dinner meals (we figured about $100+ for two, including wine with the meal) and, based upon prior Trip Advisor reviews, decided to pass on dinner there, ending up in the downtown area of small, quaint Julian to explore dining options. A less formal dinner suited us fine, although those dining at the Orchard Hill enjoyed that too.

Views here were of a huge tree covered hill and a small red-brick church with a white spire; reminds us of the east coast and New England. While we were there in January, there was some snow on the ground (and is was VERY cold!!), making the comparison to the east coast all the more complete.

Thick, warm, cocoon-like bedding is needed during these very cold nights and we found that here. Heating consists of a wall-style heater which brings to mind Niagara Falls or Hoover Dam hydro-sound effects. The heater is right next to the bed. We cranked the heater up during the day and turned it off at night. The gas log fireplace was very welcome, too.

There is a 4 pm to 5:50 pm cheese and beverages gathering hosted by the B&B. The hard cheese is particularly good, as are those triangle shaped seasoned crackers made by their local chef (we were told), but there are also grapes, raw veggies and dips, etc. Wine offerings are good (one red and one white) and the Inn provides a two glass maximum per person.

We had a lovely breakfast yesterday: a few small crepe-like pancakes (about 4 inches in diameter), lightly flavored with a sweet syrup and sliced strawberries, kiwi, and a bunch of grapes. Hard boiled eggs, scones, yogurt, breads and jams, and cereal rounded out the other offerings.

Sunday morning breakfast was a buffet with gorgeous huge strawberries and excellent watermelon, an egg/red pepper/scallion/cheese option, sausages, potatoes composing the main entree. Again, those homemade scones which were flakey and so light, rounded out the menu for us. Champagne mimosas were an option for those (we presume) planned to stay the night! As we were driving, we took a pass on that option.

Seating is almost entirely at tables for 2 which is a welcome break from the big dining room style breakfasts found at many other B&B's. The enclosed deck was sunny, warm, and offered great views of this charming town which you can see from this hilltop setting.

During the Summer and Spring, this must be a magical place (hopefully the heater won't have to run) when the trees, shrubs, and iris bulbs put on their display; visitors can sit outside on the large patios and walk around the beautiful grounds.

Julian's main street is only a half-block away and the shops offer so many fun items and antiques so that even the male members of any traveling party would be entertained. Read the historical signs on the old buildings to get a sense of history here. There's also a mine ride but we just couldn't bring ourselves to venture down to an even colder environment than we experienced above ground this visit.

We came here on a Groupon offer and look forward to returning in the future. In our opinion, there is no other B&B in Julian that even approaches this choice property. It is well maintained and our room, "Jonathan", was pitch-perfect as an East Coast nautical themed room. Our room in cottage #1 consisted of two rooms, a small frig, bar sink, and the frig came with 6 creamers and one can of Coke (just in case you were wondering). In-room small coffee maker brews Seattle's Best coffee (provided).

Now we head home, Julian apple pies in the car, as well as so many treasures we located in Julian. Kind thoughts and memories of this gem of a B&B are stored in our minds!

Room Tip: Jonathan room is in cottage 5. There are a couple more themed-rooms in this cottage but none were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    19
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
116
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holtville, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Where do I start? Arriving in a beautiful area of the mountains. When we went to our room we were escorted so she could show us where everything was and how it worked (specifically the gas fireplace and jacuzi tub. It is within walking distance of the town of Julian. It is a bed and breakfast so of course the breakfast was amazing. They have a social hour with cheese, crackers, fruit with beer and wine
My husband had his New Castle beer so it is not cheap stuff. Dinner is reservation only so the chef can make everything delightful. The food was wonderful. Thank you staff for making our 32nd anniversary so special :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed a couple of nights and though it's a very sleepy town, Orchard Hill was awesome. The food was great, the staff was super and the cottages were cozy. We met the owner while waiting for dinner our first night...super nice and down to earth guy.

Room Tip: Bring some movies..they have a big library but you may want to grab some more recent releases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

a wonderful personal feel. the owners make you feel so at home. we definitely want to go back!
a spoiling comfortable experience... on top of a hill. you feel away from everything.

the food is amazing, the hospitality is personal and charming. the service and staff are great. it isn't high gloss, it is spoiling, low-key, comfortable, etc.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Orchard Hill Country Inn is a charming retreat set above the gold rush town of Julian. But two things set this inn apart: they are incredibly accomodating to one's personal needs( diet, room preference etc.) and dinner and breakfast were delicious! Even better, the inn is not far from Anza Borrego State Park, a gem of an off-road desert experience .

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge but rooms in the cottages looked pretty nice,too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our family has been coming to this lodge every year for many years now. It has always been a great gathering place for our group and the accomodations and common areas are very comfortable with luxury linens and large enough common areas for a number of people but still with a homey feel. There is a appetizer hour with a complimentary glass of wine that is sure to tickle you fancy around the large stone fireplace. Outdoors is a great mix of nature and within walking distance to the little town of Julian. The grounds are hilly and perhaps not an easy trek for the elderly but you will find handicapped accomodations within the lodge. You'll also find the working staff to be friendly and eager to help you.
Finally, in an era of a poor economy, this may be considered quite pricey. There are other inns in town that are clean, and just around the corner from shopping.

Room Tip: The least expensive room is the best value. We have stayed in others and find them to be about the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. The lodge was inviting and dining room overlooking mountain area had a great view. Our dinner was included with the 2 night stay. Soup (barley with apricot) was outstanding and I would love the recipe. The salad was fresh, dressing a little bitter. Fresh just baked rolls were actually boring.My entree (beef) was tender and side dishes tasty but tiny. A nice,but also very small dessert was included. We finished the meal with a great cup of coffee. The service was great as was the ambience . We had a wonderful cottage room (Black Gilflower) that appointed nicely and very comfy. We especially enjoyed the quiet time just sitting out on the little porch reading and watching the marvelous bird display. We loved the seclusion of the cottage,which also meant we had to hike up the hill for meals. All in all it was a wonderful visit and we would go back, especially if this time I can find a bargin. A special treat, as we were leaving we had the opportunity to see the famous wild turkeys.

Room Tip: Be aware that some of the cottages are at bottom of the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Country Inn

Address: 2502 Washington Street, PO Box 2410, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Hill Country Inn is a AAA Four Diamond inn located in historic Julian, California. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Country Hotel Julian
Country Inn Julian
Julian Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Hill Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.