We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, relaxing and friendly place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Hill Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Hill Country Inn
2502 Washington Street, PO Box 2410, Julian, CA 92036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Julian B&B and Inns
Holtville, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing and friendly place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Where do I start? Arriving in a beautiful area of the mountains. When we went to our room we were escorted so she could show us where everything was and how it worked (specifically the gas fireplace and jacuzi tub. It is within walking distance of the town of Julian. It is a bed and breakfast so of course the breakfast was amazing. They have a social hour with cheese, crackers, fruit with beer and wine
My husband had his New Castle beer so it is not cheap stuff. Dinner is reservation only so the chef can make everything delightful. The food was wonderful. Thank you staff for making our 32nd anniversary so special :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    18
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
101
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed a couple of nights and though it's a very sleepy town, Orchard Hill was awesome. The food was great, the staff was super and the cottages were cozy. We met the owner while waiting for dinner our first night...super nice and down to earth guy.

Room Tip: Bring some movies..they have a big library but you may want to grab some more recent releases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

a wonderful personal feel. the owners make you feel so at home. we definitely want to go back!
a spoiling comfortable experience... on top of a hill. you feel away from everything.

the food is amazing, the hospitality is personal and charming. the service and staff are great. it isn't high gloss, it is spoiling, low-key, comfortable, etc.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Orchard Hill Country Inn is a charming retreat set above the gold rush town of Julian. But two things set this inn apart: they are incredibly accomodating to one's personal needs( diet, room preference etc.) and dinner and breakfast were delicious! Even better, the inn is not far from Anza Borrego State Park, a gem of an off-road desert experience .

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge but rooms in the cottages looked pretty nice,too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our family has been coming to this lodge every year for many years now. It has always been a great gathering place for our group and the accomodations and common areas are very comfortable with luxury linens and large enough common areas for a number of people but still with a homey feel. There is a appetizer hour with a complimentary glass of wine that is sure to tickle you fancy around the large stone fireplace. Outdoors is a great mix of nature and within walking distance to the little town of Julian. The grounds are hilly and perhaps not an easy trek for the elderly but you will find handicapped accomodations within the lodge. You'll also find the working staff to be friendly and eager to help you.
Finally, in an era of a poor economy, this may be considered quite pricey. There are other inns in town that are clean, and just around the corner from shopping.

Room Tip: The least expensive room is the best value. We have stayed in others and find them to be about the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. The lodge was inviting and dining room overlooking mountain area had a great view. Our dinner was included with the 2 night stay. Soup (barley with apricot) was outstanding and I would love the recipe. The salad was fresh, dressing a little bitter. Fresh just baked rolls were actually boring.My entree (beef) was tender and side dishes tasty but tiny. A nice,but also very small dessert was included. We finished the meal with a great cup of coffee. The service was great as was the ambience . We had a wonderful cottage room (Black Gilflower) that appointed nicely and very comfy. We especially enjoyed the quiet time just sitting out on the little porch reading and watching the marvelous bird display. We loved the seclusion of the cottage,which also meant we had to hike up the hill for meals. All in all it was a wonderful visit and we would go back, especially if this time I can find a bargin. A special treat, as we were leaving we had the opportunity to see the famous wild turkeys.

Room Tip: Be aware that some of the cottages are at bottom of the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We found a LivingSocial.com package for $249 (Sunday to Thursday) for 2 nights with $25 credit for a 4 course meal in a Lodge Room. This is about 1/2 the normal rate, and we have always wanted to try the Orchard Hill Country Inn in Julian. It did not disappoint. The room was small but quaint. We enjoyed staying in the Lodge instead of the outlaying buildings. The weather in November makes this more desirable, and the roaring fire in the great room, breakfast/dinner room, and game room make it very convenient. Everyone was very friendly including the other guests that we met over wine/beer and cheese each afternoon from 4-5:30pm. The grounds are very inviting although more enjoyable when not cold or raining. The 4-course dinner was very good but we probably wouldn't do it again. Breakfasts were excellent. Beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are smaller, but very convenient, quaint and less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchard Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Country Inn

Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Country Hotel Julian
Orchard Hill Country Hotel
Country Inn Julian
Julian Country Inn
Address: 2502 Washington Street, PO Box 2410, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Hill Country Inn is a AAA Four Diamond inn located in historic Julian, California. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Hill Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Orchard Hill Country Inn to your Saves list