We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Julian Gold Rush Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Save
You added Julian Gold Rush Hotel to your Saves list
2032 Main St., Julian, CA 92036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Julian B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Perfectly fine for a night, but very noisy since it is right on the main street. Our bed was right up against the window. For the area, it is probably the best option if you want to stay in town. The staff was nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Manager at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
We are sorry to hear your night was noisy. The hotel being located on main street this not a common concern since the town is very very quiet in the evening. The Hotel does have rooms or cottages in the back of the property away from the main street to insure less of that concern. Please advise us when booking your reservation and we will place you away from the street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    51
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the old Julian Hotel January 2 and 3. One night was not enough but we were able to enjoy the B&B main area and our 2nd floor room (comfy bed), and the lovely grounds and view. This hotel has it all - history (1897 oldest active hotel), charm, & absolutely beautiful decor (with extra bonus that the lovely Christmas decor still up), as well as very clean. Our room was small but so peaceful and quiet. And the staff treated us so incredibly well. They serve a nice afternoon tea with assorted teas & cookies (just would be nice if it was at 4 rather than 5 as we wanted to get out to an early dinner), a fantastic full breakfast, an extra treat to get an apple pie. We enjoyed the ambience of the old fashioned parlor for gatherings and games at night (such a nice change from just watching tv). Perfect location - in the heart of town, able to walk to everything, yet the patio in back and the peaceful setting made us feel away from town. Good price. I HIGHLY recommend the beautiful, charming Julian Hotel.

Room Tip: We wanted a very quiet room as my husband is a light sleeper. If you want a very quiet room ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased your enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in November. Our room was very petite, but charming and I loved the high bed and curling up under all of the covers. The bathroom was clean and the shower nice and powerful.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Afternoon tea and games a quaint experience.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, they helped us to find places to walk in the local area - we enjoyed Mount Vulcan, Hesse Park and the Anza Borrego desert which were all within an hours drive.
My only negative was the piped music in all of the public areas. It was only November and they were playing Christmas carols on a continuous loop. We were staying for 3 nights and things close early in Julian so we ended up spending a lot of time sitting on our bed because the public areas were a bit too Christmassy!
Julian itself is a tourist trap but barely open in November. We enjoyed the Apple pie, but most of the shops are full of tourist trap nonsense and not really worth a visit. There is a lovely art and craft gallery though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during the Holidays. We are disappointed to hear you found most stores not to your liking. However glad to hear you found good hiking trails. The trails around Julian, Cuyamaca and Borrego are real treats. If you are interested in things besides the shops Julian does have horseback riding, wineries, gold mines, wolf preserve, craft shows ect. We do have a list on our website. Yes, during the holidays we do have decorations in our lobby and parlour, however the guest rooms are not decorated during those times. We try to play music that reflects the era of the hotel and sometimes we cant control what may be offered on our favorite stations. However we are always available to hear your concerns and do the best we can to change what is being played to suit most guests desires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Charming B&B, nothing more to say really. The rooms are very cutely decorated, even if a little on the small side. The breakfasts are hearty and tasty and the afternoon tea in the parlour is welcome after a day of exploring (and eating apple pie). More that anything, the staff were super helpful, really going out of their way to help us out with tracking down some packages we had delivered there. Julian is the kind of place where you probably don't need more than a couple of days , but for those couple of days, this is where you want to stay.

Room Tip: They actually let you look round all the open rooms when you check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. Yes, rooms on the second floor are quaint due to being part of the original structure. However through out the property larger rooms are available. We look forward to seeing you again for another relaxing getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

As with any original hotel built during the late 1880s the rooms are going to be a little on the small side but they are rather quaint.

Like many other reviews the breakfast here are very good. They have fresh fruit and we had a nice spinach omelette and then the second morning was a French toast. In addition you also get some of their home mixed granola cereal which is really good. If you want hot chocolate with your breakfast be sure to ask for it.

The afternoon teatime is a combination of small breads and cakes along with coffee. The tea is packaged and there's a selection of around six different types.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the history of the hotel and your stay. Yes, the rooms on the second floor are quaint due to being part of the original structure of the hotel. However if size is a concern we do have large rooms available through out the property. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a great stay at this Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Julian, close to everything.The room was nice, we had our own bathroom, and everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast of Granola, yogurt, fruit and Eggs Florentine was delightful

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a delightful and relaxing way to spend a few days away from the hustle and hassle of the city. Quiet, comfortable and charming with a great breakfast and just feet away from the shops and cafes in Julian. Can't wait to go back....again.

Room Tip: Take room 10...our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Julian Gold Rush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Gold Rush Hotel

Address: 2032 Main St., Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julian Gold Rush Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.