We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Tree Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4360 Highway 78, Julian, CA 92036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Julian
Altadena, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location and price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We ended up at this hotel because the bed and breakfast we booked at lost our reservations. When we drove up to it, it look like the Bates Motel. The Inn keeper was very nice, even though we woke him up, he helped us out and even gave us discount since we were staying for two nights. The room he gave us was #17 it had a King size bed, it was just a bit run down but very clean. Now, don't let the looks of the place turn you around, this place is in a great location and it is very clean. Next time I am going to book there and I am telling my friends to book there, it is close to to great restaurants. If you are looking for a fluffy hotel like the Hilton or Holiday in this is not it. The place is non-smoking, which was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Affordable, clean country motel for the family with pool and lots of parking; pets allowed. Can walk to winery, antique store, restaurants. Hiking trails nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely weekend to celebrate our anniversary at the cozy Apple Tree Inn. The owners were extremely friendly and made sure we had a perfect stay. The room was very clean and loved the country touches in the room and the decorative linens. The location just on the outskirts of Julian is perfect, there is even a very nice restaurant right next door. Thanks for the great stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cle Elum, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was our first time to Julian Ca. Stayed one night in the king room. This was a upgrade that was given to us. The owners were friendly and had lots of suggestions of fun things to do. The room was clean and well taken care of. I come from a small town with small family ran motels like this. I was pleasantly surprised with the condition. It is a nice get-away from all the glitz's of large hotels. If you are looking for fancy with room service this place is not for you. But if you want a small town experience with great hospitality then you will love this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Enjoyed my stay here; quiet, restful. Pool not heated but refreshing. Rooms modest but clean. Good food next door at Jeremy's on the Hill. Close to town and Santa Ysabel Casino.Nice hiking trails nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a disappointment. no upgrades on the rooms since 1972...small t.v. with 3 channels, old saggy bed, noisy air cooler, dirty public areas..Owner seemed more interested in fancy car than in taking pride in his facility...Pricey considering lack of comfort and amenities Don't walk,run away from this property...it is better to drive 20 minutes to Ramona

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011 via mobile

I am not sure where the positive reviews came from as well, but this place wasn't even acceptable for our pet rat.  We showed up with our kids (whom were excited about the pool).  The room smelled like a pack of wild coyotes came in and marked their territory.  In addition to the smell of mold, the bathroom lacked the "rustic charm" we were to expect from an old-fashioned motel.  Certainly a place where the likes of Norman Bates would be found lurking.  The owner seemed-somewhat friendly but was not willing to accommodate a full refund, since we checked-out minutes after we checked-in.  Per a discussion I shared with a friend, I would only find myself in that place if the town was littered with zombies and I had to take refuge amongst the painted cinder-block walls.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 4360 Highway 78, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Tree Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Hotel Julian
Apple Tree Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.