We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Cabin in the Pines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2609 D Street, PO Box 2513, Julian, CA 92036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Julian B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cozy Cabin in the Pines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a stay in the Cabin in the Pines. It is about 1 1/2 miles outside of town, separate from the B&B. It was so quiet and cozy and private! It was equipped nicely...modern kitchen with stainless appliances, flat screen T.V., jetted tubs! There was a cute little gas fireplace that we didn't use, as it was really warm that weekend! The owners were very accommodating with our late arrival and left the lights on for us. Can't wait to visit again in the winter and use the fireplace!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I don't normally get all gushy and excited about a B&B, but my weekend anniversary stay here was made absolutely awesome by this quiet little getaway place. From the delectable smell of baking brownies as we entered, to the exquisite decorating and homey 'feel' to the rooms and common areas, and yes.. to the friendly owners and the even friendlier Golden Shepards we were totally blown away by our enjoyable stay. We considered the price very reasonable for what you get.

Downtown Julian is but a short block walk, but we only left the nest a couple of times for dinner, preferring to lounge on the deck and in the hammock by the pool enjoying the views and the quiet serenity of the gardens. They have a nice library of books and movies so if the view, pool, jacuzzi and fire pit gets boring, there is still plenty to do.

Jim's well spent time in culinary training in Switzerland was much appreciated as we were served 5 star breakfast's each morning (don't miss them!). Freshly baked brownies, ice cream, soda's and sweets were available round the clock, so you need to watch your waistline!

Definitely worth a return trip!

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms, Spring; Winter; Autumn and Summer. I heartily recommend our room (Spring), a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here from the Uk and desorite the terrific winds this was a beautiful place to stay. We rented the Summer room and we're made so welcome by Jim Julie and their three beautiful retrievers.. Great recommendations as to things to do.. Spotless B&B , wonderful breakfasts, great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Now they have owned this place since 95 I believe so they had a lot of time to get it right, and they have. A lot of attention to detail in the house and the service. We stayed in the upstairs room which was very large. It was a suite more than just a room, had its own living room of sorts. Very large electric fireplace and our own TV and DVD player. The living room area in the room was on was a corner room with windows on two sides. There were two pieces of Chocolate Ganache Cake in our room for us. The pantry is stocked with goodies and even Ice Cream in the freezer. Every room is very unique and has its own style. Our room was the only one upstairs and was right next to the main living room which had a wood burning fireplace which prepped and ready to go. Breakfast was a very deep dish Fritatta and there were baked pears and fresh squeezed orange juice. I will be back, had a blast. Helpful votes are appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

No matter what kind a hotel you've been in. You don't want to miss this warm family house. Very clean, very comfortable. Nice breakfast, nice people. Room with surprises. You can really get relaxed and enjoy the idyllic town. Hope I can come back and stay longer. I found this great place here and I do want to let more people know it.

Room Tip: I love winter room. So warm! But I visited other rooms too. I have to say I want to try them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We rarely stay at a place more than once, as we like to experience new finds. The Eaglenest is an exception. Just returned from a fun and relaxing time this weekend and will definitely return for another stay. This was our second time there and it was just as magical as our first. Jim and Julie are the perfect hosts, making everyone feel very comfortable and at home. Also love the dogs, the food (!) and the spotless, homey surroundings. You've got to go, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in the Spring room (top-floor room with quite a large bedroom and separate generously sized living room). It was a great, comfortable place to stay. Breakfasts were excellent -- yummy pancakes, tasty quiche, baked apples, pork or turkey bacon. The three golden retrievers are super friendly and great social icebreakers. The hosts were very warm and went out of their way to find dining options and make reservations for us. Room includes a small fridge and a DVD player with the entertainment system. Included Wi-Fi was fine. I don't see how you could do better than this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2609 D Street, PO Box 2513, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Victorian Bed & Breakfast home in the Historic Town Site of Julian, California, just one block up from Main St. Four Bedroom suites offer privacy and comfort, all with full baths, entertainment units, coffee and tea service, and comfortable seating. The rest of the home and property is yours to enjoy, the living room, dining rooms, decks with views, Pool and Hot Tub, and a number of wonderful outdoor spaces. A full country breakfast is served every day, and fresh baked desserts are provided during your stay also. Resident Golden Retrievers set the tone for a fabulous stay in Julian! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.