We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2609 D Street, PO Box 2513, Julian, CA 92036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Julian B&B and Inns
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were able to get into Eaglenest due to a cancellation and boy was it wonderful! We love the house, the breakfasts, the area, our hosts and their three golden retrievers. It was a spur of the moment trip but we have come home refreshed and ready to face the week. We highly recommend this B & B and we will be back to visit soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Decided late on a Saturday during Thanksgiving weekend to head up to Julian for the night from San Diego. Went online, found Eaglenest, and was lucky enough to book the only room left due to an earlier cancellation that day. We were SO impressed with the wonderful hospitality that we received from the team at Eaglenest. They go above and beyond with making sure you feel welcomed, comfortable, and have a fantastic time - (ie there are gluten free desserts waiting for you when you get there). The grounds of the B&B are immaculately kept and the rooms are clean and charming. We stayed in Winter Room which had a wood burning fireplace which was a big plus. The food was DELICIOUS in the morning and there was plenty of it. Also, Thanksgiving weekend is a great time to stay here - the town has a really neat tree lighting ceremony on Saturday and other activities throughout the weekend. Plus, there's still some Fall color on the trees. Thank you Jim, Julie, and Carol!

Room Tip: Winter Room has a wood burning fireplace that comes fully set up and ready for you when you arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I have been enjoying the hospitality and wonderful Breakfasts at the Eaglenest since 1996. Our first experience was on Labor Day in 1996. We were so impressed by the initial experience, we have returned for the Thanksgiving weekend, 14 out of the last 16 years. And, a few visits during other long weekends through the years.
But, our most recent visit, Thanksgiving 2012, was extra special. Jim and Julie have added Carol to their Breakfast staff! My wife and I, decided to start Medifast at the beginning of November and were concerned on what we might be able to eat, while at Eaglenest. Our worries were never in question. Carol met the challenge "head on," and prepared some of the finest Breakfasts we have seen, since starting Medifast. For example, Mixed Vegetable Scramble; Vegetable, Tofu and Greens with Balsamic Vinegar dressing Coctail, or an Omelette with Dill, wrapped around Salmon, covered in a Dijon Mustard Sauce, just for example.
So, if you have a limited menu for what you can eat for Breakfast or if certain ingredients cannot be a part of eating requirements, Eaglenest is your haven for comfort and quality food choices.

Room Tip: My wife and I have stayed in three of the four room choices (Autumn, Winter and Spring Rooms). Each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed one night here on way to San Diego. Nice old house and we stayed in Winter Room. It is the only one with a wood fire place I think. Really liked that. The owner was great and made a delicious breakfast for the guest. The room was spacious and warm. We had access to the kitchen and decks and pool. Easy walk into town. Would stay here again, definitely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hi, This B&B is perfect in every way. location to town, breakfast served, treats in the afternoon, cozy room, three dogs to hang out with at the property. My husband & I stayed two nights in the Winter room. all firewood provided for the wood burning fireplace. We "vegged" out & watched movies one day, the next we went hiking. at night we walked a short distance to town for dinner. Thanks to our hosts!
We also went to the http://www.californiawolfcenter.org/
It was one of the most amazing experiences for my husband & I. We did a private and saw all the Mexican wolves & the Alaskan ones. It's a must do---call ahead for a tour!!

Room Tip: Winter room is the only room w/a wood burning fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I have been celebrating our anniversary in Julian for 12 years now. We have been to many of this quaint historic apple town's wonderful Bed and Breakfast establishments and Eagles Nest was the best by far. We spent a great weekend there very recently and Jim and Julie were fantastic! They made us feel more than welcome. We felt like long lost family. Jim welcomed us as soon as we arrived. Our "summer” room was spacious beautiful and comfortable. The home made chocolate chip cookies and apple pie waiting for us were scrumptious. Next day we had gooey walnut brownies an ice cream in the fridge waiting near our room. Jim made a delicious ham and egg soufflé, mouth watering baked cinnamon pears along with your choice of teas and specialty coffees for breakfast. Next morning it was fresh off the skillet buckwheat/apple pancakes and fresh cinnamon crumble cake with your choice of apple or turkey bacon. CAN YOU TELL I LIKE GREAT FOOD? Jim is an excellent chef.
Jim and Julie's caring peaceful getaway made us not want to leave, Ever! They really do make everyone feel right at home. We made several friends at the communal breakfast from the several "world travelers" who are regulars here at this fabulous Golden Eagle of a BnB.
I star gazed on the porch at night overlooking the gorgeous pool and Jacuzzi while my wife slept like a baby in our king sized cloud like bed These inn keepers thought of everything, even candles at night, and a flashlight for evening strolls through peaceful Julian. Even the soap in the clean huge baths was refreshing.
We came for our anniversary and Much needed R and R. I got the stress relief from work in the big city LA and so much more. It was our best stay in Julian so far. We definitely plan to come back SOON! Thank You Jim and Julie. you are a blessing to us and anyone lucky enough to stay at your restful Eagles Nest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I spent two wonderful days this weekend at the Eaglenest and we loved every part of it. We stayed in the Spring room which is huge, a large bedroom area with separate living area. All of the furnishings are warm and cozy.

Reasons to stay here:
1) The food - Incredible. I'm not one to go crazy over food but these breakfasts were amazing. As an example, he first morning was a feast of buttermilk oatmeal pancakes with freshly made, warm strawberries or maple sugar. Crumb cake, regular and turkey bacon, and a wide selection of fresh fruit. Jim is a classically trained chef and his cooking is superb. Way beyond any normal B&B standard...simply amazing.

2) Jim and Julie - Impeccable innkeepers, amazing energy. Felt like home just being with them. Incredibly warm, welcoming, and each guest's every need was attended to. Even though each couple had busy days planned, breakfast was leisurely and everyone stayed at the table and talked after breakfast. Normally I'd bolt out the door, but Jim and Julie create a wonderful atmosphere for everyone to come together and enjoy simple things like conversation. Jim and Julie give their B&B heart and soul. Plus they have fresh pie waiting for you in your room when you check in....

3) The location is perfect. One block from the main street, an easy walk anywhere (Julian's main street is not huge). Eaglenest is away from the main road so it is extremely quiet and peaceful. Ones on the main street can get busy and crowded, noisy during the day. Eaglesnest is tranquil all day long. And if you want to walk to any shops or restaurants it's a 2 minute walk.

4) Golden Retrievers Luke, Will & Grace. Sweet pups who welcome you to breakfast in the morning and make your stay feel like home whether you have dogs or not. Sweet, affectionate and out of the way unless you want some love.

So many other things, but those are the unique pieces. If anyone is going to Julian this truly is a wonderful place to stay for food, hospitality, home and inn atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2609 D Street, PO Box 2513, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Victorian Bed & Breakfast home in the Historic Town Site of Julian, California, just one block up from Main St. Four Bedroom suites offer privacy and comfort, all with full baths, entertainment units, coffee and tea service, and comfortable seating. The rest of the home and property is yours to enjoy, the living room, dining rooms, decks with views, Pool and Hot Tub, and a number of wonderful outdoor spaces. A full country breakfast is served every day, and fresh baked desserts are provided during your stay also. Resident Golden Retrievers set the tone for a fabulous stay in Julian! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.