We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay in Julian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2609 D Street, PO Box 2513, Julian, CA 92036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Julian B&B and Inns
Orange, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay in Julian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Eaglenest is fantastic. Located within steps of downtown Julian and yet far enough away to guarantee a sense of seclusion and quietude, Eaglenest is perfectly situated. Operators Jim and Julie are fun and professional and go all out to make sure you have a perfect B&B experience.

The house sits on a hillside and offers a large outside deck with pool, hot tub, and gorgeous view of east Julian. With only a handful of guests staying at Eaglenest, there's a good chance you'll be able to have the backyard all to yourself. My wife and I enjoyed the hot tub alone on a cool winter evening and stargazed at Julian's beautiful night sky. It was perfect.

Many reviewers have noted the exceptional breakfast served each morning and they are right. The two breakfasts we enjoyed were AMAZING and featured healthy, yet scrumptious homecooking prepared personally by Jim and Julie themselves.

Everything about our stay at the Eaglesnest was excellent with the exception of the bed. In the Spring room it was definitely not firm enough for us. However, that wouldn't in the least dissaude me from choosing that room again. Afterall, things like a bed's firmess is usually subjective, with some people preferring softer beds and others firmer ones.

When I return to Julian, I will definitely be staying here again. After staying at the Eaglenest, there is no need to look elsewhere because the place is just perfect, especially for the price.

Room Tip: The Spring room was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I knew as soon as I talked to Julie on the phone, when I made the reservation, that I was going to like this inn. She bent over backwards to make our Thanksgiving weekend wonderful and relaxing. She happily made dinner reservations all three nights of our stay and did everything she could to make the weekend seemless. This continued when we checked in and all through our visit. She, and her husband Jim want nothing more than that you feel like you are staying with friends. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. The inn is within walking distance of shopping and most restaurants. The breakfasts were bountiful and delicious. The day after Thanksgiving there were slices of pie in the rooms when we came back from town. Their recommendation for Thanksgiving dinner, at Jeremy's on the Hill, was wonderful. Their enthusiasm, skill and love for their calling made it a first rate experience.

Room Tip: Autumn, the room we stayed in, is on the ground floor, front and has a view of the cars in the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Wonderful B n B! Stayed in their "Eagle in the pines" cabin which was less cabin and more home. 2 Bedrooms, 2 full baths and a kitchen anyone would be happy in with granite counters, stainless appliances and everything you could want including spices, microwave popping corn and hot chocolate. We arrived to a fresh baked pie on the counter and ice cream in the freezer which we enjoyed on the front porch. Clean, quiet and a place I would definitely go back to again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My birthday always falls right around apple season so my favorite place to visit during the annual celebration is Julian. I have stayed in the city on multiple occasions, but never at a bed and breakfast, but this year my boyfriend and I wanted to find a place to stay for the night. I did some research on line, and took a chance by choosing a place I had never heard of....Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast. It was wonderful! The room was very accommodating with everything we could possible need, plus the quaintness and beauty of the city and it's country atmosphere. The home was just perfect. Rooms were great and so adorable. We loved our room (the Autumn room) with our own private entrance and private patio with a firepit. It was very private and perfect for our needs. Location is excellent, as it is in perfect walking distance to main street....it really is less than a block walk into town. I highly recommend this beautiful retreat! Julie and Jim were just great and so hospitable. Breakfast was wonderful and Julie really made us feel at home and cooked a delightful meal. I would come back here in a heartbeat! And, I'm a pretty tough critic...I work in the hotel industry!!!

Room Tip: Autumn room was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We love Jim and Julie! We stayed there the second time last week and just love their hospitality and their good cooking! They heard we were going out for pizza the first night their and they got us certificates for our pizza. We always feel like family at their place. Also, we love their place, very charming and perfect when you just want to get away, but still walking distance to the town. We will be back!

Room Tip: Love the Winter room with the great patio with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We've just returned from a mini-tour of the West Coast of the USA, mainly to attend a friends' 50th birthday party. We chose Eaglenest based on the reviews read on here, and we're so glad we did, they were spot on. Jim and Julie made us feel so welcome, and Jim's breakfast's are superb. We stayed in the Spring room, which had it's own lounge and four-poster bed, and it really did feel like a home away from home. It's the best B&B we've ever stayed in, and we wish they were all this good!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent our 20 year anniversary here! Everything was wonderful! Jim and Julie made you feel warm and welcome like we were old friends! Our goal is to come back and stay in a different room each time!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2609 D Street, PO Box 2513, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Victorian Bed & Breakfast home in the Historic Town Site of Julian, California, just one block up from Main St. Four Bedroom suites offer privacy and comfort, all with full baths, entertainment units, coffee and tea service, and comfortable seating. The rest of the home and property is yours to enjoy, the living room, dining rooms, decks with views, Pool and Hot Tub, and a number of wonderful outdoor spaces. A full country breakfast is served every day, and fresh baked desserts are provided during your stay also. Resident Golden Retrievers set the tone for a fabulous stay in Julian! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.