We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Julian Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Julian Lodge
Save
You added Julian Lodge to your Saves list
2720 C Street, Julian, CA 92036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Julian
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Confession: Our first choice was a room at the Julian Gold Rush Hotel, but they were full up and suggested the Julian Lodge. We reluctantly made a reservation, but were not at all disappointed. This place was great! We got a warm welcome on arrival and loved our second floor room--quiet, clean, comfortable. Our only complaint: the overwhelming smell of air freshener, which we fixed by encasing the culprit (when we found it above the wardrobe) in a ziploc bag and airing out the room a bit. Breakfast was just right for us light eaters: serve yourself, nice quality options. No protein other than yogurt and milk, but sufficient. Would definitely stay here again. P.S. If you like a soft pillow, bring your own.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have nobody tromping around upstairs, but first floor rooms slightly more accessi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
julian, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Julian Lodge for two nights this week to celebrate his birthday. It is perfectly located - about a half block off Main Street - which made it very easy to walk to all the shops, points of interest, and restaurants. The hotel has undergone a lot of upgrades since our last visit, and the new managers are so nice! Our room was very clean and newly redecorated, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The free wireless worked great, parking was plentiful, and the air conditioner in our room was quiet enough to keep on all night long. The complimentary breakfast was great, the breakfast room is charming, and the lady at the front desk was friendly, helpful and informative. The lending library in the lobby was the icing on the cake. Definitely my kind of place! We loved our stay at the Julian Lodge!

Room Tip: Soups & such is right across the street, and they have the best quiche!!! Their Thai chicken sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed two nights for a wedding we were attending in Julian. The check in went very smooth and the staff was very nice. Upon arriving in our room, you got the feel that you were back in the old west. The room was very clean and he bed was very comfortable. Being that it is summer and it is hot up there, the air conditioner was amazing! The breakfast in the morning was a nice touch. If we are ever up in Julian for an overnight stay, we will stay at the Julian Lodge again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la quinta, ca
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I decided to do a last minute trip to Julian so I went on the computer and did a crash course on the area. First thing I looked for was the local watering hole. I found it "Bailey's BBQ and Tavern" Well we left midday and we found the perfect parking spot under a big shade tree. We walked to Bailey's which only took 5 minutes if that and went into the tavern and sat up at the bar. We ordered a late lunch and a cold drink and began to soak up the local culture, and what a friendly culture it is! We started talking to everyone as if they were our friends and found out that a band from Oceanside was playing that night and the clincher was that Greg Douglas a guitarist from Steve Miller Band was going to be there. I was sold and so was the hubby, we then asked around for the hotel that the locals recommend. The Julian Lodge was on everyones lips and the bartender said if we mentioned Bailey's we would receive a 10% discount on our room. Well I called the lodge from the bar and spoke to the nicest woman she had one room left we took it. I asked her if she needed a credit card to hold it and she said no! That is amazing. We showed up at the lodge an hour later I walked in while the clerk was telling a woman that they had no rooms available I was nervous thinking she might have given my room away, to my suprise it was waiting for us! Anyway to make this long story a little short the room was clean and comfortable it is small but charming. They served a continental breakfast that was nice. Yes we did get the 10% off. Make sure you stop off at the honey shop. We will be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hadlock, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed two nights while visiting family/friends and found the lodge to be a perfect place to stay when in the Julian area. The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. It’s close to the main street but far enough off that traffic noise minimal. The lodge has covered decks up front with several benches which made it pleasant to sit and relax during the afternoon without overheating. The room we had was very clean and comfortable which made our visit even more memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We booked this hotel for a wedding we were attending in Julian. It was in a great area and easy to find location. Its close to all Julian has to offer..restaurants, gift shops, etc. If we ever needed to stay in Julian again we would stay at this hotel again. Nice staff and very clean!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Julian Lodge B&B is a good place for a week-end. We stayed over the Memorial week-end to visit with friends, it was a reasonable price for a place in town. The Lodge is across the street from the Julian Hotel, and next to the bank, it's downtown and within walking distance to everything. They have a really nice breakfast every morning with a lot of options, french toast, waffles, cereals, yogurts and fresh fruits, not the normal continental breakfast of just rolls and coffe or juice. The staff is wonderful and willing to do anything you need. It was clean and cute, but I wouldn't want to stay a long period of time as the place is older, rooms are small and the beds are not new, but for a few days it was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: There are only 23 rooms and none are completely floor level. Most have a few steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Julian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Lodge

Address: 2720 C Street, Julian, CA 92036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Julian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.