We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hangout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joshua Tree Saloon

Joshua Tree Saloon
61835 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-2313
760-366-2250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Joshua Tree
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Fun, easy going bar with plenty of cold beer choices. We had party of 7 adults, all thirsty after visiting Joshua Tree Park. This local bar had a friendly vibe, great service and yummy sweet potato fries to snack on. Easy place to find and worth a stop to meet the locals. I wish we could have gone back for Karaoke night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    52
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Montana
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Very Busy place, great people watching.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

On our way back forma long drive we stopped in Joshua Tree, it was about dinner time so we stopped at The Joshau Tree Saloon. It was Halloween Weekend, we were in for a treat we didn't expect.
Lots of people in costumes, we sat at the bar, ordered 2 beers & 2 entree's. We were served our beverages quickly but our food took FOREVER. When it arrived my lamb berger was beyong well done , it had been ordered medium, so it went back, another was being made which also took forever and came out under done. My husbands steak was perfectly cooked.
The only thing that kept us form walking out was that it was busy with what seemed to be mnay local peeps who the staff address by name. People watching was great, we will give it one more try some other time. This was not what they are known for. The reputation is a good one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Sunday night is awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Well, usually good food and service but Sunday night isn't.
Food came 1/2 hour late, cold and the waitress had an attitude about it, even though the place was empty!
And it (flat-iron steak, fries, brocolli, beans...yuk) was awful, no taste, and cold.
Sorry about that since a few days before it was delicious.
And no music!
Don't go on Sunday night.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food in a surprising place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Six of us had dinner here on open mic night. Besides good food there was live entertainment, the musicians and the music.
JT is an artsy town with lots of local character and characters and this is a fun place to go for good food with a real old time atmosphere.
Burger's are huge and excellent, their Flat Iron steaks delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Visited this place because of the sign saying it was open mic night and thought the entertainment might be fun. It was definitely a bar atmosphere but the grass fed beef burgers were very good. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. We were also surprised by the quality of the open mic night performers and the large crowd turnout to hear them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joshua Tree Saloon also viewed

Joshua Tree, California Desert
Joshua Tree, California Desert
 
Joshua Tree, California Desert
Joshua Tree, California Desert
 

Been to Joshua Tree Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joshua Tree Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.