We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crossroads Cafe & Tavern

Crossroads Cafe & Tavern
61715 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-2311
760-366-5414
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Lets face it, Joshua Tree is a little off the beaten track and I was not expecting a lot of choice in eating out, but decided on Crossroads cafe from reviews. The decor is interesting and offers lots to look at while waiting the arrival of your freshly prepared meal. The menu gave lots to choose from and catered for several special diets and our lunch was good enough to take us back for breakfast, a great corned beef hash and French toast, the next day. Attentive service, an obvious commitment to the quality of both the ingredients and the end product and a laid back vibe made it a really enjoyable experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    83
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“go on the weekend and get the eggs benedict”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had two breakfasts in Joshua Tree--both were at Crossroads Cafe. The food is fresh and fantastic. Everything from the herbed potatoes to the coffee tasted great. We were there on the weekend and were able to order the eggs benedict. I got the version with bacon and avocado. So good. Had we been there longer, I would have eaten breakfast there every day without fail.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very busy when we arrived, but were seated promptly with our order taken. GREAT food. Went with my family and everyone found something to eat. They even have an awesome vegetarian options.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice dinner in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We chose Crossroads Cafe for dinner because of the good reviews in TripAdvisor. The $8 soup+mac&chhese+spinach salad was delicious and outstanding value. Chicken quesadilla also very good. We shared a decaf and a yummie Dutch applepie.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique menu - lots of vegetarian options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stopped here for lunch and left happy. The menu was a good mix of vegetarian and non-veg options for both breakfast and lunch. (We had both in our party) One thing that stood out was that the staff took pride in what they served. Every dish that I saw come out of the kitchen looked amazing. One of us ordered a burger and asked that it be on grilled sourdough rather than the bun, and it came out perfectly shaped for the bread! Cooked perrfectly. The other ordered grilled cheese with avacado, tomato, and grilled onions with a spinich salad. The salad was super tasty! The Grilled sandwich was good, with the cheese just not being the most flavorful, but not bad at all. Polite, attentive wait staff that didn't leave us waiting. Decor is rustic and fits the drive you are on with lots of character.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crossroads Cafe & Tavern also viewed

Joshua Tree, California Desert
Joshua Tree, California Desert
 
Joshua Tree, California Desert
Joshua Tree, California Desert
 

Been to Crossroads Cafe & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossroads Cafe & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.