We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Loveliest of Stays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway
Save
You added Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway to your Saves list
64491 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Loveliest of Stays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

This is probably my fourth trip out to Joshua Tree and my fourth stay with Spin and Margie. Everything (and I do mean EVERYTHING) was wonderful...from the décor to the views, to the peaceful tranquility and the serene surroundings. Loved their NEW pillow top beds and their care with everything they do. This is one of my favorite spots to come to. Relaxing, Fun, and thoughtfully done! I anxiously await my return to this
enchanting desert hideaway. Kudos.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
96
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Nicely done and comfortable room with kitchen and an extra sitting area (room #3). Perfect for a short vacation in the desert. Not exactly cheap but worth the money. Friendly staff but not intrusive.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

just a beautiful room, like what I'd want my vacation house to look like if I had better taste. it was clean, everything worked, we got in late in late but the kitchen was stocked with delicious cofffee for the morning. more than fairly priced. we were too busy to enjoy the grounds but there's bocce ball, plenty of little cute places to sit and enjoy the outdoors. wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Joshua Tree area.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

This was the first property that I have ever stayed at that had so many positive reviews on TripAdvisor! Needless to say, the bar was set very high.

Overall, we loved our stay at Spin and Margie's. The place is awesome- fantastic location (just a short drive from the entrance to the park), VERY clean, spacious, and cool. We loved the decor and the overall 'funky' vibe of the place. We stayed in Suite 2, which I think is the most basic. It was very comfortable- nice bed, cute bathroom (shower was definitely a bit tiny), great lil kitchen that really came equipped with everything, and little sitting room with a small dining table. The books, movies and CD's are definitely a nice touch.

OK, so here are the things that I did not love: There is no B&B staff on-site. This was a bit of a surprise- we showed up and parked and walked around looking for the check-in. There was no check-in... we called Margie and she let us know that the room was open and ready for us. I think, had we been anticipating this, it would not have been a big deal, but it came as a surprise. Also, we were the ONLY people staying on the property at the time, so at night, the place felt a bit scary/empty. The first night, I was terrified that my boyfriend and I would be murdered, since we were in the middle of nowhere and there was no one else around (aka no security). By the second night, I relaxed and we enjoyed some wine and smores by the bonfire and I was definitely enthralled with the stars in the sky (you just don't see that in LA!). Again, this was just something that came as a surprise. Lastly, there were A LOT of bugs in our room- crickets, mosquitoes, etc. Given we were in 'nature,' this is to be expected, but I'm a city girl and don't love the bugs.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and I would definitely return. The price is amazing for the value that you get.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cossayuna, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at Spin and Margie's for part of our honeymoon. Walk to the Joshua Tree National Park. Birds and flowers galore- also Desert Tortoise, Jackrabbits and Coyotes! What fun! The room was CLEAN< and comfortable and had all necessary amenities and also some added - like FANTASTIC CDs to listen to, movies to snuggle down and watch at night. Very unique gardens and sculptures. One of the best parts of our honeymoon was staying here - we still listed to the same CDs to bring us back to the magic of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

My husband and I have been going here for years. Mindy and Drew put a lot of care into this little hideaway making it one of our favorite places to stay in the world. The desert has a sublime beauty and in the hands of Mindy and Drew it becomes intoxicating. We have stayed in 3 of the five rooms and loved them all. Stay here and let your brain take a walk while your spirit is rejuvenated.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunland, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Loved this place and think about it now and then, dreaming of super quiet days in my own private patio. We had the Sonoran Traveler and it was home away from home. Nicely supplied with books, DVDs and pantry supplies, clean and colorful. You could sit in the airy patio and read or go into the common area for barbecuing and chatting up people who might be nearby, though I imagine most are out hiking. I liked that your "compound" had its own gate with walls, it made it cozy and private. There is some noise from the highway which made the desert nights not quite as pristine as they could be. But that's just a quibble. We went over to Pappy and Harriet's and enjoyed some music, barbecue and whiskeys. Driving back it was tricky to find the entrance in the dark on the highway. I remembered there were some plastic flags or ties in the bushes near the entrance which was the only way I would have found my way back in. (Tip: set your odometer when you leave!) The people are really nice, but don't expect someone to be around the grounds to answer questions or change linens, etc. It's totally safe and professional though, I didn't have a single concern. So much better than a creepy motel on the highway, it's more like a private home or retreat, The grounds are neat btw, there's a sculpture garden of sorts made from desert detritus (someone said it was by Noah Purifoy but I can't swear to that), some willow trees and a dirt road stretching north towards the park. I could see myself zoning out in the patio and accidentally letting two days go by before I noticed. A unique place, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway

Address: 64491 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spin and Margies Desert Hideaway a hi-desert hacienda with four stylishly decorated suites and a contemporary stand alone cabin on five acres. Relax in the enclosed courtyard filled with native desert plantings and a soothing fountain. Just 5 minutes from the entrance to Joshua Tree National Park. This is the vacation you have always dreamed of. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spin And Margie`s Desert Hideaway Hotel Joshua Tree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.