We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, inspiring surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mojave Sands
Save
You added Mojave Sands to your Saves list
62121 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, inspiring surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Since staying at Mojave Sands I have recommended it to everyone I know who's planning a trip to Joshua Tree. Not only is it exceptionally comfortable, with all the necessaries like luxuriously hot showers (even a steam shower in one room), supremely comfortable beds, adjustable heating / air conditioning etc - but it is a delight to stay in because everything is so beautifully designed and well thought out. It seems like no expense has been spared, and when my partner and I woke up in the mornings to our (interior) view of smooth polished concrete floors, neutral-coloured linen drapes over the windows, beautiful modernist furniture (our suite had an original Eames lounge chair, a vintage record player, and industrial-style lamps), it was hard to tear ourselves away in order to go and explore the desert. This motel is not to be missed!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

It is not your usual Motel, but an ongoing work of art. The owner has been working on it for about 8 Years, and it shows. Great love to details like a collection of modernist furniture and little things.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Very Modern and simply rustic at the same time, the owner Blake takes pride in his establishment and is there personally to see to your needs. The place is small, only 5 rooms, it would be perfect to take over for a group, and I can imagine film crews and photo shoots taking over the place on a regular basis.

A perfect, mellow spot for exploring the Tree.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed here Feb 2, 2011 in Suite 1. This little gem of a "motel" is on its way to joining the league of The Small Luxury Hotels of the World, without the room service. The Mojave Sands is great blend of stark modernism and homey, quirky, kitch. It is a work in progress. It is a creative blend of the aesthetic and ascetic. I had a lot of fun playing old records on a record player. I hadn't done that in 20 years! The steam/shower bath is a wow touch. There is a serenity in the compound enclosure enhanced by oriental statues, a gigantic log table, fountains, and real low key spots to relax. The bed was incredible. What a great night's sleep. Book a stay. It's a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
14.7 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms - Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
7.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Twentynine Palms
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mojave Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Sands

Address: 62121 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mojave Sands Motel is a 1940's motel that was taken apart and reconstructed. The doors, windows, bed frames, hardware and some of the furniture, were created either on-site or by local crafts people. Reclaimed wood, steel and other materials were used wherever possible. There are two large suites with kitchens and steam showers and three unique, comfortable single rooms with queen beds. Each room has a private patio and water fountain. Located right in the middle of town and only minutes away from Joshua Tree National Park, Mojave Sands provides a peaceful escape from the hectic pace of modern life, where one can come to recharge and enjoy the unique beauty of Joshua Tree. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mojave Sands Hotel Joshua Tree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojave Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.