We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the desert!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mojave Sands
Save Saved
You added Mojave Sands to your Saves list
62121 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great spot in the desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A really unique motel/inn out in Joshua Tree. Great minimalist modern decor and a nice rustic yard. The proprietor Susan is very nice and helpful. The only thing I wish is if there was a pool or hot tub on the property, but Susan told us that during the summer months guests can use a pool at one of the other nearby hotels (a definite plus in the desert sun). Definitely worth staying at if you're in the high desert or visiting Joshua Tree.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The property is beautifully designed, and the landscaping is so cool. The garden is very relaxing. I think some minor changes would dramatically improve the experience as a guest.
I would like to have had working WiFi as advertised, more lighting in the room, more information on the property, as other reviews have stated. ( I also left the keys in the door when I left and sprinted out so I didn't get locked int he automated parking area without the attached remote). I also think that putting some sort of shelf or small dresser in the room would be helpful. I also think some details like a larger trashcan on the property would be useful, I saw that the people who were staying in the room next door just left their dog-poop bags on the porch because they didn't know what else to do with them. More attention to detail while cleaning would be useful, there was a used bar of soap left in the shower from previous guests, and I noticed spiderwebs on the records in the room, and what appeared to be a large, scary spider by the record player. Another minor change would be to leave matches to light a fire in the fireplace. It sort of felt more like an Airbnb experience b/c no one was around.

this place is incredible, and it does feel like an oasis, but it could be even better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just having returned from a night's stay at Mojave Stands, I'd like to share some thoughts on this property. There are indeed many amazing details, artwork hanging on the walls, and beautiful showers. The garden is very relaxing. Blake was working very hard to provide whatever was missing (speakers for the turntable, coffee for the coffee maker, sugar, half-and-half, a curtain for the bathroom window). I would have liked to see the advertised WiFi work, more light in the room, and some more information on the property, maybe on a printed sheet of paper in the room. For instance, we left the keys in the door because we didn't know what else to do with them.

Room Tip: Call the owner and ask questions first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed at this ultra cool and comfy motel on January 5, 2013. I went to Joshua Tree with a large group of friends to attend a sound bath session at Integratron (http://www.integratron.com/6ComeOnIn/ComeOnIn.html) and we booked this motel and inhabited all of the 5 available rooms. What I loved most about this motel, was that I wanted to take a photo of everything on site! It was so exquisitely and ecclectically decorated (they used re-purposed vintage furniture, record players, albums, old typewriters, and glass vases from thrift stores, as well as other nic nacs to decorate each room), it was hard NOT to be enamoured with every single detail of this place! Aside from the fantastic decor in each of the 5 rooms, every room was really user-friendly, too. Our room was the "suite" and had the kitchen with the bar-counter area and living room area, but all rooms have a great bathroom and shower with nice fixtures, comfy beds with soft linens, pillows and blankets, and groovy artwork on the walls. Note: every room is uniquely different but equally great to stay in. Aside from the indoor living space, one of the things we all loved about this motel was the courtyard! The pool has a floating firepit, a rock wall of tranquil water falling into the pool and the entire grounds are lit by lanterns and string lights. There is also a fit pit in the courtyard for the guests to use and hang around. In the morning, we all made coffee and breakfast in the "suite" and ate outside in the communal courtyard, then went hiking at nearby Joshua Tree. I would absolutely stay here again!! Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My boyfriend booked a night here last year, and while overdue, it occurred to me to that I needed to rave about this place.

It's just off of the main road, but once you get through the main gates you feel wonderfully isolated from the rest of the world. We booked a standard room, which came with a no-fills yet very nice and comfortable queen size bed. There was a coffee maker, small fridge, and a record player with an eclectic mix of stuff to play. The shower was something else altogether- massive, beautiful, amazing. Whoever designed the space clearly appreciated a good shower.

No tv, but why would you come all the way out here to stare at a television anyhow.

At night there were bonfires in the common area. Awesome.

It really was like staying at a friend's incredibly sweet house. No one bothers you, and you can sit back with your loved one hanging out with a beer on your own private porch, listening to records.

Would absolutely recommend this place if any or all of those things sounds like your kind of thing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night of our honeymoon when we visited the Joshua Tree National Park this September and we couldn't have had a lovlier time. We stayed in room number 5 and were instantly impressed. The design and style were just perfect for our tastes and the vintage typewriter, turntable and ecelectic collection of books instantly made us feel at home and we could have stayed a couple of days just hanging out in the room without actually seeing any of the surrounding park.

As others have mentioned, the eucalyptus steam shower is fantastic and just what we needed after a day of exploring under the desert sun. We loved that the the room was dead quiet and we both slept soundly throughout the night. It was clean and the coffee machine and kitchen were all lovely additions to have.

The owner Blake is a fantastic guy. To hear how he has put the place together over the last 10 years with just a handful of friends was truly inspiring. Like other reviewers we were blown away by the architecture and design but to hear that it all comes from his own creative mind and not some multi million dollar architecture firm was something else.

As his dogs followed us around, Blake was kind enough to share with us some of his future plans for expanding the hotel with amazing old salvaged trailers and a cafe.

The Mojave Sands is very much a work in progress that is expanding beyond the current 5 rooms available just now and we can't wait to return next time to see the progress!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay that has a special FEEL created by soft lighting, artwork, and a record player with a "tube amplifier" along with an array of diverse vinyl the Mojave Sands could be a real find as it was for my wife and me. It doesn't have cookie cutter motel rooms, a lobby, pool and restaurant. If you are looking for that there are scores of them around but if you are looking for a place to compliment you visit to the Joshua Tree park this place will add to a memorable trip.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mojave Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Sands

Address: 62121 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mojave Sands Motel is a 1940's motel that was taken apart and reconstructed. The doors, windows, bed frames, hardware and some of the furniture, were created either on-site or by local crafts people. Reclaimed wood, steel and other materials were used wherever possible. There are two large suites with kitchens and steam showers and three unique, comfortable single rooms with queen beds. Each room has a private patio and water fountain. Located right in the middle of town and only minutes away from Joshua Tree National Park, Mojave Sands provides a peaceful escape from the hectic pace of modern life, where one can come to recharge and enjoy the unique beauty of Joshua Tree. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mojave Sands Hotel Joshua Tree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojave Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.