We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish this was my house...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mojave Sands
62121 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I wish this was my house...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My boyfriend booked a night here last year, and while overdue, it occurred to me to that I needed to rave about this place.

It's just off of the main road, but once you get through the main gates you feel wonderfully isolated from the rest of the world. We booked a standard room, which came with a no-fills yet very nice and comfortable queen size bed. There was a coffee maker, small fridge, and a record player with an eclectic mix of stuff to play. The shower was something else altogether- massive, beautiful, amazing. Whoever designed the space clearly appreciated a good shower.

No tv, but why would you come all the way out here to stare at a television anyhow.

At night there were bonfires in the common area. Awesome.

It really was like staying at a friend's incredibly sweet house. No one bothers you, and you can sit back with your loved one hanging out with a beer on your own private porch, listening to records.

Would absolutely recommend this place if any or all of those things sounds like your kind of thing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night of our honeymoon when we visited the Joshua Tree National Park this September and we couldn't have had a lovlier time. We stayed in room number 5 and were instantly impressed. The design and style were just perfect for our tastes and the vintage typewriter, turntable and ecelectic collection of books instantly made us feel at home and we could have stayed a couple of days just hanging out in the room without actually seeing any of the surrounding park.

As others have mentioned, the eucalyptus steam shower is fantastic and just what we needed after a day of exploring under the desert sun. We loved that the the room was dead quiet and we both slept soundly throughout the night. It was clean and the coffee machine and kitchen were all lovely additions to have.

The owner Blake is a fantastic guy. To hear how he has put the place together over the last 10 years with just a handful of friends was truly inspiring. Like other reviewers we were blown away by the architecture and design but to hear that it all comes from his own creative mind and not some multi million dollar architecture firm was something else.

As his dogs followed us around, Blake was kind enough to share with us some of his future plans for expanding the hotel with amazing old salvaged trailers and a cafe.

The Mojave Sands is very much a work in progress that is expanding beyond the current 5 rooms available just now and we can't wait to return next time to see the progress!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay that has a special FEEL created by soft lighting, artwork, and a record player with a "tube amplifier" along with an array of diverse vinyl the Mojave Sands could be a real find as it was for my wife and me. It doesn't have cookie cutter motel rooms, a lobby, pool and restaurant. If you are looking for that there are scores of them around but if you are looking for a place to compliment you visit to the Joshua Tree park this place will add to a memorable trip.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

You either 'get it' or you don't (and it appears most people do.) All the stuff you've already read about is great -- the eucalyptus steam shower (life saving), the records, the brilliant design etc., etc. But the genius is the way it all adds up. If you want to be fussed over then stay at a hotel. If you want to step into a real Mojave Desert artist community experience (that happens to have outstanding aesthetic taste) then stay here. Blake is a doll - more of an artist with some rooms to rent than some silly innkeeper. This place has heart and if you get it, you'll have a lot of heart for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights during a weekendat one of the two suites, #1, for $300/night.

Pros: the property itself is gorgeous. Beautiful landscapes and architecture. Owner and his wonderful dogs are friendly. The room is very spacious. The bed is very comfy. The steam shower is a wonderful touch.

The bad:
1. our room is AT the major intersection of 29 palms highway. VERY noisy throughout the day. The first day was not a relaxing experience. We had to turn the music up to cover the noise from the busy traffic. The traffic however dies down after midnight so we slept okay.

2. For $300 a night, no breakfast, no room service (no cleaning during the stay), not even shampoo in the shower. High speed internet is probably located in the furthest biggest room (#5). The signal gets lower when move further away and final so no signal in #1. This is quite a disappointment. There is no owner or staffs on site. Anything you need have to give them a call and wait for them to stop by.

3. The stove didn't work, the coffee machine, boiler, blender are all very dirty. Also, the furniture are old & tired -Sofa is very dirty and stained. At the common area, the "reflection pool" is like a dirty, algae pond.

Personally I think the only room that *might* worth staying is another suite- #5, which is the furthest from the road, 1/3 bigger than #1 with private out door sitting area and shower.

As much as we had a enjoyable stay, I think the room is overpriced for what it offers. For the same amount of money I would urge the owner to improve these important details to stay competitive with guest houses of many over private ranches in the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a delux suite room for two nights.

Good:
The room is big.
The bathroom has a steam shower.
The hotel looks cool for a momen until you look into details.

Bad:
No one works in the hotel for 24/7 (no front desk or house keepers). They won't show up and provide services unless you request it.
There is a small kitchen in the room, but the hot plates did not work. Are they just decorations?
Don't use their air mattress for an extra person. It becomes completely flat within a couple of hours. Bring a sleeping bag or request one more room if your party is more than two.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We wanted something different and quiet after attending the music festival.

We had the end suite with the kitchen and outdoor shower. As stated by others the room was a mix of industrial and vintage. The bed was very comfortable but don't count on sleeping in. A couple of the windows in the bedroom had coverings to filter the light but the windows in the living room had no coverings and we were woken up but the sun at about 630am. The lack of window coverings in the living area also provided little privacy at night when you have your interior lights on, not that there could ever be that many prying eyes.

Also there is no place to put your clothing. Our room had no storage of any kind. No dresser, closet, wardrobe, or anyplace to but your belongings but on the floor. The situation was similar in the bathroom. There was no place to put your toiletries and there was no place to hang your towels between uses, not even a door-nob since the doors are sliding doors. We had a couple of creepy crawlies in our room and having a place to store our belongings other than on the floor would have been greatly appreciated. Also make sure to pack your own toiletries. There was no shampoo, conditioner, or lotion provided. There was one very nice bar of soap, but you are on your own if you need anything else. I would have expected these little pleasantries based on the boutiquiness and price we paid for our room.

The vibe is quiet and relaxing. We had a great time and would highly recommend making the trip to the area. It seems to me that the owners spent so much time on the quirky details that they overlooked some basic necessities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mojave Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Sands

Also Known As:
Mojave Sands Hotel Joshua Tree
Mojave Sands Hotel
Address: 62121 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mojave Sands Motel is a 1940's motel that was taken apart and reconstructed. The doors, windows, bed frames, hardware and some of the furniture, were created either on-site or by local crafts people. Reclaimed wood, steel and other materials were used wherever possible. There are two large suites with kitchens and steam showers and three unique, comfortable single rooms with queen beds. Each room has a private patio and water fountain. Located right in the middle of town and only minutes away from Joshua Tree National Park, Mojave Sands provides a peaceful escape from the hectic pace of modern life, where one can come to recharge and enjoy the unique beauty of Joshua Tree. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojave Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mojave Sands to your Saves list