We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overpriced hotel in a little desert town” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mojave Sands
62121 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An overpriced hotel in a little desert town”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a delux suite room for two nights.

Good:
The room is big.
The bathroom has a steam shower.
The hotel looks cool for a momen until you look into details.

Bad:
No one works in the hotel for 24/7 (no front desk or house keepers). They won't show up and provide services unless you request it.
There is a small kitchen in the room, but the hot plates did not work. Are they just decorations?
Don't use their air mattress for an extra person. It becomes completely flat within a couple of hours. Bring a sleeping bag or request one more room if your party is more than two.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We wanted something different and quiet after attending the music festival.

We had the end suite with the kitchen and outdoor shower. As stated by others the room was a mix of industrial and vintage. The bed was very comfortable but don't count on sleeping in. A couple of the windows in the bedroom had coverings to filter the light but the windows in the living room had no coverings and we were woken up but the sun at about 630am. The lack of window coverings in the living area also provided little privacy at night when you have your interior lights on, not that there could ever be that many prying eyes.

Also there is no place to put your clothing. Our room had no storage of any kind. No dresser, closet, wardrobe, or anyplace to but your belongings but on the floor. The situation was similar in the bathroom. There was no place to put your toiletries and there was no place to hang your towels between uses, not even a door-nob since the doors are sliding doors. We had a couple of creepy crawlies in our room and having a place to store our belongings other than on the floor would have been greatly appreciated. Also make sure to pack your own toiletries. There was no shampoo, conditioner, or lotion provided. There was one very nice bar of soap, but you are on your own if you need anything else. I would have expected these little pleasantries based on the boutiquiness and price we paid for our room.

The vibe is quiet and relaxing. We had a great time and would highly recommend making the trip to the area. It seems to me that the owners spent so much time on the quirky details that they overlooked some basic necessities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is Joshua Tree and the five stars are for the service, design, and comfort of this establishment relative to everything else in the area.

Blake, the proprietor is a visionary. The Mojave Sands is the physical manifestation of his ideas and concepts in design down to the most minute details.

If you ever find yourself in Joshua Tree you owe it to yourself to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

If you're planning on exploring the breathtaking natural landscape that is Joshua Tree National Park, treat yourself to some post-hiking R&R at Mojave Sands.
The place actually mimics nearby J-Tree in having so many unique vintage finds, zen touches and an utterly relaxing atmosphere. The steam showers in the room are unreal, especially after a day in the hot sun. The "backyard" looks like it will be undergoing some cool new landscape features, and I could definitely see myself staying here for a number of days in the future. No TV's, y'all. Just sit yourself down in the cozy outdoor hammock under the stars and take in the universe. Or some of the hilarious "vintage" reading material from your room.

Room Tip: BE AWARE of the proximity of this motel to the road. Try to grab the suite furthest away from the 29...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Mojave Sands was a truly lovely experience more like staying in an eclectic friend's guest house than a hotel. The owner, Blake, has spent the last 9 years renovating the 5 rooms with such artistic and regional architectural touches (large overhangs on the private porches, intense steam showers, small water fountains, little nooks & crannies filled with bizarre flea market finds & cacti, & hundreds of records he's collected during his DJ days, etc). Mix in his two rescue dogs/guest greeters, Agnus, the sweet & social pitbull, and Scout, the stray that adopted Blake, plus interesting and creative guests, it all adds up to a memorable stay we can't say enough good things about. Definitely not a fancy resort experience, but comfortable, thoughtful, private, well-designed, stylish and inspiring. We'll go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have Trip Advisor to thank for finding the gorgeous Mojave Sands Motel. All the reviews are right on! It's an intimate, beautifully-designed place and the owner Blake (and his staff) are wonderful. We went up for a one-night getaway from the L.A. area and loved staying in the largest suite on the end. Great design--a mix of industrial and vintage, with a working typewriter and record player in every room. (No TV, which we loved.) We wanted to get away from it all--and this was the perfect place. We woke up, enjoyed our patio and played LPs of Johnny Cash and Loretta Lynne. Then Blake gave us a tour of the property and the vintage motor homes he's converting on the property (with hot tubs). I can't wait to try one of those. I work in theater -- and I dream of bringing a group of playwright friends back here for a writer's retreat.

We finished off our perfect overnight trip with steaks at Pappy & Harriet's Pioneertown Palace, then shopping for vintage finds in 29 Palms. But it's Blake and his wonderful motel that will bring us back.

Room Tip: Our favorite room was the large suite on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We booked 5 nights at the end of January, using the online reservation tool, at the Mojave Sands, looking forward to an adventure, based on TripAdvisor and Yelp reviews. The hotel looks exactly as the photos indicate (always a nice relief). It was a bit tricky figuring out how to access in the dark, as the property is surrounded by fencing, but luckily after our 3rd drive around, we ran into a staff member (Dustin was very helpful and friendly) who opened the gate for us. We stayed in a regular room and enjoyed the decor and aesthetic. Great artwork and nifty details (cool little magnets holding the window coverings in place). The bed was fairly comfortable and the room was clean (despite an unusual wind storm that whipped sand around outside at 70 mph one day). The proximity to Joshua Tree Natn'l Park is excellent. We explored the park every day and returned to our hideaway each evening. The town of Joshua Tree is small, but has great character. Great local cafe's (Natural Sisters and Crossroads) were walkable (about 10 min away). The suites are roomier and have a kitchen for those doing more meals 'in'. It was a bit too cold for us to sit outside, but the property has wonderful spots to sit amongst the cacti, in the garden and relax. The rooms are well-insulated (don't hear any noise at all; one evening we enjoyed playing the old Frank Sinatra records and when I stepped outside to check, our room was quite soundproof). The Mojave Sands is still a bit of a work in progress, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment. This isn't the usual sterile chain hotel, so guests expecting that might not appreciate the charm of this place. Think of it as a really cool apartment your creative arty or musician friend is lending you. Even after 5 days, I could have stayed longer - especially in a roomier suite (our regular room had only 1 chair for sitting inside; a challenge during cool weather). The area has amazing hiking and interesting things to visit.
Best points: really cool interior design, record player, coffee maker, excellent location, very quiet and private, awesome garden (outdoor decor), friendly but non-intrusive owner and staff
Suggested improvements: some hooks to hang clothing (there is no closet or hangers - would be great to put a few hooks behind the door), an extra light at ceiling level (it was romantic, but a bit dark in our room at night), and giving guests a heads-up about how to get onto the property on arrival)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mojave Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Sands

Address: 62121 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mojave Sands Motel is a 1940's motel that was taken apart and reconstructed. The doors, windows, bed frames, hardware and some of the furniture, were created either on-site or by local crafts people. Reclaimed wood, steel and other materials were used wherever possible. There are two large suites with kitchens and steam showers and three unique, comfortable single rooms with queen beds. Each room has a private patio and water fountain. Located right in the middle of town and only minutes away from Joshua Tree National Park, Mojave Sands provides a peaceful escape from the hectic pace of modern life, where one can come to recharge and enjoy the unique beauty of Joshua Tree. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mojave Sands Hotel Joshua Tree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojave Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mojave Sands to your Saves list