We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mohave Sands Hotel = desert perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mojave Sands
Save
You added Mojave Sands to your Saves list
62121 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mohave Sands Hotel = desert perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Mojave Sands was a truly lovely experience more like staying in an eclectic friend's guest house than a hotel. The owner, Blake, has spent the last 9 years renovating the 5 rooms with such artistic and regional architectural touches (large overhangs on the private porches, intense steam showers, small water fountains, little nooks & crannies filled with bizarre flea market finds & cacti, & hundreds of records he's collected during his DJ days, etc). Mix in his two rescue dogs/guest greeters, Agnus, the sweet & social pitbull, and Scout, the stray that adopted Blake, plus interesting and creative guests, it all adds up to a memorable stay we can't say enough good things about. Definitely not a fancy resort experience, but comfortable, thoughtful, private, well-designed, stylish and inspiring. We'll go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have Trip Advisor to thank for finding the gorgeous Mojave Sands Motel. All the reviews are right on! It's an intimate, beautifully-designed place and the owner Blake (and his staff) are wonderful. We went up for a one-night getaway from the L.A. area and loved staying in the largest suite on the end. Great design--a mix of industrial and vintage, with a working typewriter and record player in every room. (No TV, which we loved.) We wanted to get away from it all--and this was the perfect place. We woke up, enjoyed our patio and played LPs of Johnny Cash and Loretta Lynne. Then Blake gave us a tour of the property and the vintage motor homes he's converting on the property (with hot tubs). I can't wait to try one of those. I work in theater -- and I dream of bringing a group of playwright friends back here for a writer's retreat.

We finished off our perfect overnight trip with steaks at Pappy & Harriet's Pioneertown Palace, then shopping for vintage finds in 29 Palms. But it's Blake and his wonderful motel that will bring us back.

Room Tip: Our favorite room was the large suite on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We booked 5 nights at the end of January, using the online reservation tool, at the Mojave Sands, looking forward to an adventure, based on TripAdvisor and Yelp reviews. The hotel looks exactly as the photos indicate (always a nice relief). It was a bit tricky figuring out how to access in the dark, as the property is surrounded by fencing, but luckily after our 3rd drive around, we ran into a staff member (Dustin was very helpful and friendly) who opened the gate for us. We stayed in a regular room and enjoyed the decor and aesthetic. Great artwork and nifty details (cool little magnets holding the window coverings in place). The bed was fairly comfortable and the room was clean (despite an unusual wind storm that whipped sand around outside at 70 mph one day). The proximity to Joshua Tree Natn'l Park is excellent. We explored the park every day and returned to our hideaway each evening. The town of Joshua Tree is small, but has great character. Great local cafe's (Natural Sisters and Crossroads) were walkable (about 10 min away). The suites are roomier and have a kitchen for those doing more meals 'in'. It was a bit too cold for us to sit outside, but the property has wonderful spots to sit amongst the cacti, in the garden and relax. The rooms are well-insulated (don't hear any noise at all; one evening we enjoyed playing the old Frank Sinatra records and when I stepped outside to check, our room was quite soundproof). The Mojave Sands is still a bit of a work in progress, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment. This isn't the usual sterile chain hotel, so guests expecting that might not appreciate the charm of this place. Think of it as a really cool apartment your creative arty or musician friend is lending you. Even after 5 days, I could have stayed longer - especially in a roomier suite (our regular room had only 1 chair for sitting inside; a challenge during cool weather). The area has amazing hiking and interesting things to visit.
Best points: really cool interior design, record player, coffee maker, excellent location, very quiet and private, awesome garden (outdoor decor), friendly but non-intrusive owner and staff
Suggested improvements: some hooks to hang clothing (there is no closet or hangers - would be great to put a few hooks behind the door), an extra light at ceiling level (it was romantic, but a bit dark in our room at night), and giving guests a heads-up about how to get onto the property on arrival)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had decided to go to Joshua Tree National Park and looked around a lot of different options of where to stay. The Mojave Sands became the first choice when I saw that all the rooms had record players and records to play. My partner loves vinyl and while a room here was a bit expensive I thought it would be the perfect birthday treat. When we saw the building from the outside, we did have second thoughts but when we entered the yard of the motel we were assured we had chosen well. We were shown to our room and I was disappointed to see that there was not a record player in the room. The owner said the record player had stopped working and he was looking for a replacement. We dropped our bags and headed out for dinner. When we returned the owner told us we could move to one of the other rooms which did have a working record player. The evening was saved! We had a great time choosing from the selection of LP's and a very good nights sleep. Still suffering from jetlag, we were up in time to enjoy a cup of excellent coffee as we watched a fire red sunrise. Unfortunately we were up and out early the next morning to get to into the National Park. Mojave Sands would have been a great place to spend some time just relaxing in your room or in the courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I'll echo some of the other reviewers and say I was torn about writing this review: with just 5 awesome rooms, my first instinct was to want to keep this place a secret! If you're looking for a beautiful, serene and altogether meaningful desert experience in Joshua Tree, look no further. Our suite had so many fun decoration details that we couldn't stop looking around. Did i mention the steam shower and the old record player? But i saved the best for last: the fun, passionate owner Blake, who'll make sure you know where to go if you know what you've come to find.. Blake is awesome, and so is the Mojave Sands Motel. Don't go anywhere else if you go to Joshua Tree, but please, don't go with your friends when I'm going, there are only 5 rooms! :)

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

with almost no planning, our stay went exactly as planned. the design of the place was extraordinary. an artist's conception of a motel.
we barbecued in the large courtyard (with blake's charcoal). lit the large brazier and kept warm while drinking beers and staring at the stars.
later enjoyed hot showers and listened to old cowboy records, cuban music, and hawaiian songs on the scratchy turntable.
like Ira Ono's Volcano Cottage near Kilauea, the Mojave Sands is situated right near the entrance of a national park, allowing you to explore it, and come back to crash somewhere that's the equal of the park.
all the perks of camping (we watched the sun rise through our open windows from bed), but with comforts i'd associate with house-sitting for a tasteful and well-to-do friend.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

No corporate chain motel here. Perfect match to our JT experience! From the warm heater next to the toilet to the creative lighting, everything inside and out had a unique feel. Clean and affordable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We loved the big master suite. Worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mojave Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Sands

Address: 62121 29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mojave Sands Motel is a 1940's motel that was taken apart and reconstructed. The doors, windows, bed frames, hardware and some of the furniture, were created either on-site or by local crafts people. Reclaimed wood, steel and other materials were used wherever possible. There are two large suites with kitchens and steam showers and three unique, comfortable single rooms with queen beds. Each room has a private patio and water fountain. Located right in the middle of town and only minutes away from Joshua Tree National Park, Mojave Sands provides a peaceful escape from the hectic pace of modern life, where one can come to recharge and enjoy the unique beauty of Joshua Tree. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mojave Sands Hotel Joshua Tree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojave Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.