We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Witt's End - Joshua Desert Retreats

Joshua Tree
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gvlinds
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“remote magical desert retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My brothers and I spend the weekend here to escape from our busy lives and enjoy the great outdoors. We were blessed with a full moon & a meteor shower! The house has all the comforts you need to enjoy the outdoors plenty, we enjoyed all of our meals in one of the multiple outdoor seating options the house has the offer.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the many outdoor seating/eating options
Liked least: not having wi-fi, though it was also nice not to have it
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're offering 25% discounts for return visitors and 40% discount if you book this month for a stay between July 1st - October 31st.

Thank you again for the GREAT review! We would love to welcome you back for another stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Leila A
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Desert Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Witt's End is one of the most beautiful and coolest properties that I have ever stayed at in the desert! So great in fact that if it were an option, I'd want to buy it!

Great for large groups, with 3 houses on the property. Great outdoor space and lots of comfortable seating. They really thought of every detail, including hot tub, ping-pong and pool tables!

And working with Joshua Tree Desert Retreats was so easy and drama-free. A great space that I will definitely rent again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The layout and set up of the space
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LAChristy...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best way to enjoy the desert.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Living in the hustle and bustle of L.A. one needs a place to go where there are no billboards, no traffic jams, no noisy neighbors, in order to relax and unwind and the desert fits this bill. It's just you and the geckos surrounded by the silence of the desert. This was our second year renting from Joshua Desert Retreats and I found them last year on Trip Advisor. I fell in love with the desert on our trip to the Adobe in July of last year, and vowed to return every summer.

And yes, it was HOT. But the heat and the landscape and the silence is what helped us decompress and that's why we choose to rent from Joshua Desert Retreats. They supply everything (except food) so all we have to worry about is not getting sunburned. This year we had a group of friends (12 of us in total) come with us and it was easy to find the right property.

I emailed Joshua Desert Retreats from their website and they responded the same day. They are very easy to work with. Their prices and available discounts are listed on their website which also shows availability of their properties and they can be booked from there too. Also, you can filter the properties by the number of people in your group which makes choosing a property easier. And their payment terms are straightforward.

Since we've rented from them before we knew what to expect and we were not disappointed. The property was exactly as shown in the pictures. It was easy to find, open and spacious. It's fenced in and surrounded by desert palms.

The houses were in order when we arrived: the beds crisply made, bathrooms and kitchens clean. There were plenty of towels and bed linens, as well as a washer and dryer which came in handy.
The main house has two bedrooms and the crow's nest, and one bathroom, the rec house has two bedrooms and a bathroom, and the small house is one room. The main house has four air conditioners and a water cooler, the rec house had two, and the smallest house (which we dubbed the Love Shack) had one and all worked well.
The fridge in the main house was large enough for the amount of food we had, but had we needed it, there is another one in the rec house. There were plenty of pots, pans and utensils for cooking in the kitchen as well as for grilling. There is a propane gas grill outside that we used every night we were there.
They had plenty of table space inside and out. There are two long picnic tables outside as well as a large round table and chairs, and inside is a large breakfast nook. We sat all 12 of us around it at breakfast. Also, there are a number of chaise lounge chairs to recline on in the shade, and to lie down on to look at the stars at night.

The rec house has a ping pong table, a pool table and a sitting area with comfy couches. Both houses have TV's with satellite service, DVD player, stereos and iPhone adapters.

One of my favorite parts of the property was the outdoor fireplace. We sat there every night talking and looking at the stars. We also enjoyed playing ping pong and had ping pong playoffs and crowned a champion, played pool and board games, and sat in the hot tub at night. Star-gazing is another favorite part. The sky looks like a carpet of stars and we saw many shooting stars each night.

One thing I wasn't as prepared for were the critters. We had experiences outside with a non-poisonous snake, and several camel spiders. No harm done, just a little creeped out. I will do more research about desert critters before I go next year.

Again, we go to the desert to sit in the shade during the day to let the heat melt away our tension, and to star gaze at night. This is exactly what we get when we rent from JDR. All of our friends enjoyed themselves and we are discussing our plans for our trip next year.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tommie Ly...
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Amazing! This is THE perfect desert retreat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Witt's End so much, we didn't want to leave! The property is very well kept, clean, comfy and relaxing. I can't imagine a more perfect desert retreat than Witt's End!

From the multiple outdoor seating areas with firepits & grills, the hot tub & cowboy tub, the children's play area, horsehoes, pool table, ping pong, you name it, Witt's End probably has it! There is literally something for everyone.

When we arrived there were plenty of (clean) towels and linens, a well equipped kitchen, everything exactly as described if not better. The separate houses on the property allowed those who wanted to relax quietly to do so while those who were in more of a festive mood could enjoy themselves in the other house. And the grounds are beautiful -- absolutely stunning desert landscaping, especially the various outdoor seating areas with appropriate accoutrements to enjoy during hot days or cool nights.

And this place has HISTORY -- there are so many personal touches by the owner, its just a spectacular place! We just loved it! And we're arleady looking forward to our next visit!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The outdoor seating areas
Liked least: Lack of internet (but it is a vacation after all!)
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're offering 25% discounts for return visitors and 40% discount if you book this month for a stay between July 1st - October 31st.

Thank you again for the GREAT review! We would love to welcome you back for another stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kendra
CA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're offering 25% discounts for return visitors and 40% discount if you book this month for a stay between July 1st - October 31st.

Thank you again for the GREAT review! We would love to welcome you back for another stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
James L
Hollis, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two years running, planning on even more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our A Cappella group does an annual retreat to bond as a group and practice our music before our Valentine's Concert. Witt's End provides a nice open atmosphere with more than ample amenities for our large group of 14 people! Singing in the desert is really amazing, and we would recommend this location to anyone looking to just get away from civilization for a weekend.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The desert night gives a wonderful view of the stars
Liked least: No internet, but that's part of the point of going to the middle of the desert right?
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're offering 25% discounts for return visitors and 40% discount if you book this month for a stay between July 1st - October 31st.

Thank you again for the GREAT review! We would love to welcome you back for another stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Pasadena
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Business colleagues
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2011
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're offering 25% discounts for return visitors and 40% discount if you book this month for a stay between July 1st - October 31st.

Thank you again for the GREAT review! We would love to welcome you back for another stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$351
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Greg D
13105585544
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Nov 2010
Response Rate: 15 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 22 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing