We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

WIKIUP - Joshua Desert Retreats

Joshua Tree
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MarthaFor...
San Francisco, California
1 review
“unique bungalows in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Joshua Tree Desert Retreats are perfect for spending time with friends and family when visiting Joshua Tree. I've stayed in Witt's End and Jackalope with groups of friends and family and both were really neat, thoughtfully decorated gems in the desert. It's like visiting a friend's place when they're out of town. Both houses have really nice outdoors areas for social gatherings. You feel like you're on your own private compound miles from civilization and it's so dark at night that you can see the milky way. Again, a great way to spend time with those you love. The people who run the reservations are also really nice and the organization seems really well run. After you make the reservations they send keys and directions directly to you.

The only potential downside is the distance. Note that both are off a dirt road (Jackalope is 2 miles off a dirt road, but Witt's End is a shorter distance), but such is the price of seclusion. They're great places to stay if you're visiting Joshua Tree, but you still have at least a 20 minute drive into the park entrance. But it's a nice drive.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Nice design in Jackalope and especially Witt's End. Fun art!
Liked least: No wifi.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
2travelle...
la habra heights ca
1 review
“JDR Retreats, totally perfect desert hideaways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We have stayed several times at JDR retreats and the experience combines the best of both worlds. The opportunity to stay IN the desert with miles of incredible vistas right outside your door, complete privacy and immersion in the desert without all the hassle of camping. We looked for years for this combo and now only stay in these imaginative, completely and thoughtfully equipped houses. Each has terrific outdoor areas to BBQ, lounge, swim, and in the case of Zen-Go, play ping-pong and horseshoes.
The management is terrific and very helpful. I cannot say enough positive about our experiences. We are already planning our next trip!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Contrast of comfort and desert
Liked least: loved everything
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Heidi
UK
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010 for a stay in May 2009
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Los Angeles
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 3 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Los Angeles
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010 for a stay in May 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$250
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Greg D
1 3105585544
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Aug 2010
Response Rate: 15 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 20 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing