We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, Romantic, for Ocean Lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River's End Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jenner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River's End Resort
Save
You added River's End Resort to your Saves list
11048 Hwy. 1, Jenner, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Rustic, Romantic, for Ocean Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Back in 1995, we came here for my birthday, and this January we returned to a refurbished, exceptionally enjoyable cottage for my Big Day. Reservations are a must, but in the off-season you might grab a cottage at the last minute during the week. Make certain that the last minute is close to Noon when they open.

Check-in is in the restaurant at the small, lovely bar. Our host and bar-keep was Evan - an exceptionally kind, friendly man with polished manners. We had initially reserved Cottage 3, the smaller cabin without a gas fireplace. The day before our arrival, I called and changed to Cottage 2 and we were glad we did. The extra space was ideal. The room was spotless with a seemingly new carpet, lovely pine paneled walls and ceiling; deliciously comfortable leather couch and wide chair; and a wide sliding glass door in the sitting area plus a large picture window next to the queen bed. We could hardly decide which was more comfortable - the leather furniture or the wonderful bed covered by a down comforter and numerous down pillows. The nicely firm bed was nicely softened by a bed topper beneath crisp sheets. The small, glass-fronted gas heater flickered out more than adequate warmth, and is adjustable by a thermostat. Heaven.

One minor concern, the bedside lights are too dim for reading. The floor lamp by the comfy chair serves that purpose well - if indeed you want to do anything more than view the water or the star show after dark.

But what could not be beat was the ample wood deck almost within touching distance of the Russian River and the ocean. So close that even with the cottage door and window shut, the sea sounds could be easily heard. Harbor seals and seagulls abounded on the shore, obviously not bothered by each others' presence. Be sure to bring your binoculars for details.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the small bathroom is a disappointment. The low-flow toilet works well, but the seat and cover are thin plastic. The sink's tile backsplash was missing 2 tiles, and the stall shower was dark and exceptionally small. There is, however, a small coffee maker; ample tea and coffee selection; a few small toiletries; and a hairdryer. Also in the bathroom was a small refrigerator and two wine glasses. No corkscrew.

In all, he cottage is a romantic treat. The view is as perfect in the room as on the deck. You might want to bring something cold and prepared for breakfast, keep it in the frig, and savor it and the sunrise the morning after.

Room Tip: All the cottages have splendid views. Room 5 is under the restaurant. It's lovely but can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We were taken to River's End by some friends and we loved it. We stayed in a cabin, which was lovely and cozy, with a big, comfy bed, a sea view, a balcony and a gas stove. The only slightly negative point was that the bathroom was not as nicely decorated as the bedroom/sitting area. Our friends stayed in a room, which was quite a lot cheaper but it was just as nice as our cabin, also had a sea view, and their bathroom was much nicer than ours, with a sea view from the shower. We had delicious cocktails at the bar and a lovely dinner at the restaurant. Breakfast wasn't included so we went to a diner in Jenner. I'd definitely recommend River's End to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Fabulous... be sure to see our pictures below.

Jenner is where the Russian River meets the ocean, and there were lots of hikers and kayakers enjoying the spectacular surroundings. We noticed the cabins when we were in Jenner three and half years ago when we were passing through and ate dinner at the excellent Rivers End Restaurant.

We came back through Sept 23rd of this year and were able to book one of the seven cabins that same day, for $149 for one day. There is not a lot of commerce in Jenner, so options would have been limited. Our cabin was about 450 square feet, with queen size bed (no kings offered), good-sized bathroom with roomy shower, leather loveseat, oversized chair and KILLER VIEWS from the French doors and large window.

The cabins overlook the river where it meets the Pacific, and we watched birds and harbor seals enjoying the calm water from the privacy-screened deck that runs the length of the cabin, and has two Adirondack chairs. A mini fridge and coffee maker were also provided. Although the décor is rustic (natural pine paneling and tongue and groove ceiling), the bathroom floor is nicely tiled and the unit is very clean and comfortable. The carpet looks fairly new. There is a thermostat-controlled gas stove for heat if you need it. We didn’t care about the lack of modern communication conveniences, but some travelers might. (There is no TV, phone, or internet. To get a cell signal, you need to drive up the road 5 minutes to the beach on the other side of the river, where you get 4 bars on Verizon.) The restaurant is first rate and right next door, but you’ll need to drive to breakfast.

We really lucked out scoring a last minute room at such a reasonable price—I suspect it was because tourist season had just ended. We want to come back for a long weekend in May with our kayaks, and will book in advance and expect to pay more. There is a lot to do within a reasonable driving distance, so I think the area is very busy in-season.

Room Tip: Cabin #1 is the highest up (see photo) and has the best view, but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Completely blown away by the great cottages with ocean views for such an amazing price. This is definitely a wonderful secret spot for people looking for a romantic getaway. The cottages are small, but the decks are large and all you see is ocean from your bed. Don't come expecting the Ritz, this is a place for people who like character and charm. The staff is the perfect combination of friendly and helpful. We had an amazing dinner with an incredible sunset and were able to walk back to our cottage in two minutes... a truly perfect getaway!

Room Tip: cottages 1 and 2 seem to have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We needed a quick, inexpensive getaway for one night, and were fortunate to get a cabin on 24 hours notice. For $150 on the Sonoma coast, it was a nice experience. The cabin was spare, the decor funky, but it was cozy with a little gas stove in the corner. The view of the mouth of the Russian River and the Pacific Ocean was beautiful. We were definitely able to feel like we got away from it all--no phone, no TV, no newspapers.

I debated between 3 & 4 stars for this review. Ultimately the low price for an ocean view cabin in summer bumped it to 4 stars. My chief complaint is that the bed was not that great & my back hurt in the morning. Of course, I was also hungover (let's be frank--Wine Country getaway).

Other quibbles (in case management is reading this): A corkscrew in the room would have been nice; thank you to the restaurant for lending us one. We would have LOVED the Sunday Times--as parents of 2 small children, the opportunity to read the paper in bed sounds very romantic to us. My first impression of the cabin would have been greatly enhanced by a not-so-beat-up front door. I know that didn't really affect my experience, but appearances count. Same goes for the very utilitarian bathroom--a fresh coat of paint goes a long a way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband and I need a quick get away and thought of River's End. We stayed in a room under the restaurant. There are also little cabins which we will stay in next time. The rooms are simple but had all we need, with an unparalleled view of the mouth of the Russian River and the ocean. The rate was very reasonable. We only had to walk upstairs to have a wonderful dinner with the same great view. The food here is first rate and worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

One of the best places I have stayed. The balcony overlooks the water where the Russian River merges with the ocean. Maybe we were just there on a great night with perfect weather...but it was magical and I would recommend this to other travelers 1,000%. Sidenote: the restaurant makes a great bloody Mary.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's End Resort

Address: 11048 Hwy. 1, Jenner, CA
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
River`s End Hotel Jenner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's End Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.