We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing get away location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Cove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Timber Cove Inn to your Saves list
Timber Cove Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   21780 North Coast Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Jenner B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An amazing get away location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a great property perched right on the cliffs of Sonoma County's land where the ocean meets land. The location is juts magnificent; make sure to arrive before sunset so you can sit on the terrace while watching the sunset set over the horizon. The room was clean, the hotel was impeccable, the service staff was great as was the food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    160
    68
    37
    23
See reviews for
46
377
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have to admit that when we first walked into Timber Cove Inn, I was not very happy. The place is VERY rustic and reminded me of Ski lodges in my home state of Vermont. We checked in and our room was in the main building--the room was very small but adequate and very clean. I really grew to love the views from our ocean side room. The food was great and so were the drinks. Saturday night entertainment was a woman singing + playing her guitar(i can't remember her name) and we were disappointed that she finished so early(in our opinion). All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay--the staff was so friendly and we were able to relax for 2 days in the middle of our California vacation. I would recommend Timber Cove for any vacation trips or if I lived in California for a quick getaway weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The setting could not be more amazing! Perched on a cliff above the ocean you can see for miles. Turn around and there is a beautiful forest. There are some hiking trails on the property and secluded outdoor love seats to enjoy alone time with someone special.

I was completely ready to give timber cove 5 stars until it was time for bed. First, I'm get the impression that every room is completely different. Many other reviews raved about the bed. Ours was hard with terrible pillows. The room is heated by a gas stove, which is very romantic, but either makes the room an inferno or a freezer. There is nothing in between. The walls are rather thin but I heard no noise from the neighbors. I was, however, kept up all night from the lobby/bar which is directly out the front door of some units. The thing that irritates me is that the bar shuts down at 9:30 or 10, but they keep playing music ALL NIGHT! Why are you guys playing music all night when half your rooms are overlooking the lobby and you know how thin the walls are!!!? Who is the music for?

They have a renovation in progress. I will give this place another try when it is complete, but not for the several hundred dollars they normally charge. We paid $119 with travelzoo and while this was an amazing discount, I would not take my chances on this place at full price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night 3 January 2014.

Timber Cove Inn is located on a scenic spot along the coast – but is well isolated (no or limited cell phone connections) from any other facilities. This means you are essentially a captive of the restaurant offerings – which fortunately in our case were good.

This review is for the motel - Timber Cove Inn , my corresponding review for the restaurant is listed separately under - Alexander's at Timber Cove Inn.

The motel part of Timber Cove Inn gets 2 stars. Room 502 had a wonderful view of Timber Cover that was best observed from the small patio attached to the room. The room was spacious with sufficient counter space at the sink and a long bench for placing items. One oddity of the room was a shower enclosure in the middle of the room, but it was a very nice shower. The king bed was large and comfortable. The room lacked chairs – so we brought in the two plastic chairs from the patio. The centrally located gas fire place provided sufficient heat – although it ignites with an explosive sound.

The big negative for the room was sound isolation. Being awakened at 12:30 in the morning with machine guns firing on the TV in the adjoining room was not pleasant. Then wakened again at 3:30 AM when the room on the other side decided to have a lengthy conversation. Mind you this was not an argument, just normal conversation - you could clearly hear both speakers. Not an inn for light, or any(?) sleepers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

In September of 2013, we stayed at the Timber Cove Inn at our daughter's recommendation. The Inn is located off US HWY 1 and about 2 hours north of San Francisco. We had an ocean view room with a balcony. The Timber cove inn is an old historical building and we totally relaxed in this warm, hospitable inn with extremely nice and professional staff. The 3 course dinner at the restaurant was exceptional. The massive bar near the fire place had an outstanding wine selection. The fire place was my favorite spot to relax and melt into the comfortable chair with a glass of California's best red wine. Our bar tender - a very smart , funny and energetic lady would keep the wine flowing to glass.
My recommendation - stay more than 2 days and rejuvenate your body and your soul
-Shawn

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Location, location, location...with stunning views and a romantic, rustic lodge overlooking the ocean, where delicious food is served at all three meals.

It only gets better when your sunlit room and deck overlook a private cove and you feel totally removed from it all except for the peace and beauty of this place.


We actually enjoyed the homeyness and charm of our room's furnishings, but could have done without the intrusion of the glass shower in the middle of what we felt was an otherwise very romantic, spacious and charming room. The housekeeping staff was top notch, especially Christina.

Counting down to our return in early spring and then later again next year to renew our spirits!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Spectacular location but the run-down property doesn't do it justice. This beautiful inn badly needs real repairs and updating in order to justify prices of USD 300-400 per room. Ticky-tacky doors on the rooms with deadbolt locks only. The bathroom in my deluxe ocean view room was a bad joke. The terrace offered no privacy from next door rooms. The furniture was rickety. So many extension cords and wires it must be a firetrap. Floor to ceiling windows next to the outdoor hallway with tacky and stained vertical blinds. The only thing I liked in the room was the stove which was actually spoiled by being next to a clothes hanging contraption in the middle of the room. The wonderful lodge was frayed at the edges with ugly big screen TVs despoiling it. The dining room was very pretty and the food serviceable and service a bit slow. I hope you can tell I really wanted to love the Timber Cove Inn but it didn't measure up. I hope the new owner can put some money and heart into a re-do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason L, Owner at Timber Cove Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
The guest did not see our renovation announcement: renovation will start Jan 5, 2013 by three highly skilled artisans to preserve and enhance this eclectic craftsman styled rustic lodge with installation of antique hardwood floor, Amish hand-made furniture, modernizing all bathrooms.
The stunning oceanfront location, impressive architecture of the lodge will be matched by awesome, artistic restoration. We will then apply for "historic property" recognition.
Thank you for sharing your view: you are right on and come back in 6 months to be shocked !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timber Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Cove Inn

Address: 21780 North Coast Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Timber Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Cove Inn resides on the top of a cliff that provides a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean while remaining encompassed by forest. The Sonoma Coast hotel offers a total of 50 rooms with either an ocean front or forest room view and some fireplaces. Alexander's at Timber Cove Inn offers Sonoma fine dining that utilizes local ingredients to create delectable dishes that can be paired with glass of wine from the extensive list that focuses primarily on acclaimed Sonoma wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Timber Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Cove Hotel Jenner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.