We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View but Extreme Wind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Highlands

Bodega Highlands
Jenner, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 things to do in Jenner
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic and appealing rugged promontory along the California coast.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great View but Extreme Wind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was a great stop - not to be missed. We didn't spend a lot of time there though, because of the extreme wind. When other reviewers said it was windy, I rather dismissed the comments and thought to myself, "Well of course it's windy - it's the Pacific Coast - what do they expect?" But after visiting the area, I completely understand their sentiments - it's EXTREMELY windy - but not to be missed. As one reviewer pointed out, it's a good thing that the wind is blowing you AWAY from the cliff's edge. If you go down the path to the base of the cliff, there's a small, somewhat protected, sandy beach, and it's not quite as windy down there.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Last Day in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stopped by the Headlands on our way to SFO. The traffic was probably typical for a large city with high tourist appeal. If they charged an access fee, perhaps they could afford more parking, or have a better shuttle service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moravia, Iowa
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We love to visit this area since it isnt far from Santa Rosa when we run errands there. Plenty of beach to walk around on, picnic areas, good scenery.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“this is a beautiful place to hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just go and hike around, it is never too crowded and the views are great. Good food and drink nearby or bring a picnic and enjoy watching the pacific crash into the rocks.. no bad days here :)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best place in Sonoma County to whale watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Going to the headlands can be an experience in itself, or combined with a trip to Bodega Harbour, the town of Bodega and the whole Sonoma County coastline. We often head over to the headlands during February/March to try to spot whales in migration. There's plenty of parking, picnic tables and several trails for an easy to moderate hike.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Highlands also viewed

 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bodega Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.