We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely done” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Ross State Historic Park

Fort Ross State Historic Park
19005 Coast Hwy One, Jenner, CA 95450
+1 707-847-3437
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Jenner
Type: Historic Sites, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Good news-continuing past Labor Day, we will be open 4 days a week, Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday. Originally built by Russians in 1812, Fort Ross became a state park in 1909. Today the 3,400 acre park offers pristine natural landscapes as well as historic structures and exhibits that bring to life the former Imperial Russian settlement, early California Ranch era, and the Kashaya territory. Some of the points of interest are: Russian Orthodox chapel, replica Russian-style windmill, historic buildings and exhibits, cannons, historic cemetery and orchard, and a San Andreas Fault marker. You can also enjoy Sandy Cove Beach and numerous trails. Activities include hiking, swimming, marine mammal watching, and more.
Camano Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“nicely done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Fort Ross is a great stop. The visitor center has a nice little museum exhibit. The Fort has been well preserved and nicely cleaned up. Some of the rooms have been furnished as they may have been. The views were beautiful. There are tables for picnicking and plenty of parking. The day we went, there were only a few other people. In addition to the Fort Ross, the park also has a few hiking trails and beach access for divers.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear sls58,

Thank you for your review. You gave many excellent tips for future visitors.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    45
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and fascinating history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

A well maintained historic site with a great little museum, gift and book shop and small cinematic history of the native American and Russian community who lived and worked here. The Fort has been restored and gives a fascinating glimpse of life for the pioneers of the 18th century.
Wonderful walks and the bluffs with views of sea stacks and the Pacific complete the pleasure.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Chris W,

Thank you for your review. I really appreciate hearing you enjoyed our bookshop in particular, since I am the buyer for it. Sounds like you had a great visit.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Interesting place. Worth to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Fort Ross is actually a fort that Russians built in the beginning of 19 century. It has interesting museum and wood fortress with several buildings. I recommend to read in advance about Fort Ross , then your finding will be even more interesting. Fort Ross has short trails to beautiful cove/beach. It make sense to combine Fort Ross visiting with hiking in Salt Point park that has > 20 miles trail system.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello Vitaliy94080,

Thank you for your review. An excellent suggestion that visitors save enough time to visit Salt Point to go hiking and/or tide-pooling. It is a beautiful sister-park to us.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful walking trails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have been to Fort Ross many years ago on a field trip with one of my children, unfortunately I cannot tell you how it was on this most recent trip. We pulled up to the park on a Monday only to find the gate closed. The sign on the gate said that the fort was open on weekends only but the park was open Monday thru Sunday from dawn till dusk. We decided to park on the road and walk in. Imagine our surprise to see cars in the parking lot! There were volunteers working on parts of the park and park employees were doing some tree trimming. The fort was indeed closed so we did not get to go inside but did walk around the grounds. I'm assuming this is due to either it being the off season or the State of CA has hacked more of the State Parks program or both.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Aileen,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you came on a day we were closed. We have been operating under "service reductions" since the budget crisis of 2009, and it's been very hard for all of us. But the good news is that finally the gates are unlocked, and we are now open five days a week(Thursday - Monday) through Labor Day 2014. Would you please consider updating your review so we are not penalized for the closures? We are a small nonprofit that supports Fort Ross, and these reviews are important to us. Thanks for all your support!

We hope to see you again this year,

Best,

Sondra K Hunter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very interesting place to visit with significant history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a great place to visit if you have an interest in history, or just want a great ocean view and a walk. The beautifully maintained grounds and buildings preserve a former important era for all to enjoy, and the visitor center also offers a great movie and exhibits. This is an especially good stop if you have children given the wide open spaces and access to the buildings, but would be fun for anybody. Unfortunately, due to California budget cuts, this may not be open if you are coming through during the week, so be sure to confirm ahead of time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello CFMWvisitor,

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear you felt our grounds were well kept, and our visitor center informative. Thank you.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Ross State Historic Park also viewed

 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Jenner, Sonoma County
 

Been to Fort Ross State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Ross State Historic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.