We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a Budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn Sonora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn Sonora to your Saves list
Country Inn Sonora
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   18730 State Route 108, Jamestown, CA 95327-9605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Sanger, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“On a Budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

After reading the reviews, we didn't know what to expect. Overall, it was a good experience, and it fit our budget. I had forgotten a wine cork opener and the front desk helped me out. They were pleasant and helpful. Reviews said they were short on washcloths so I brought some of my own. Other than that, it was an okay stay. If you're looking for the Ritz, go somewhere else. If you are tight on money and not too particular, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
38
47
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Versailles France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is a bit difficult to find : it is in fact in the middle between Jamestown and Sonora (on the left side of the road if you go north). Be careful because the cars are driven too fast ...
The hotel has three levels : I succeeded to get a room on the first one for easily carrying the suitcases.
The room we got in was very large and well equipped : king size bed, fridge, microwave, coffee pot and Internet which was working properly, for a normal price.
The room for the breakfast was not well equipped : unless you return to your room you have to eat with your plate on your lap (what we did) as there is no table. A girl prepares small pankaces which are good.
In the evening you must return to Jamestown to find several "western" restaurants which are not luxury but sufficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The room was quite noisy and extremely filthy, in particular the surfaces, microwave and the bed frame. We have travelled for quite a long time, staying in many different motels, but this was by far the dirtiest. We tried to clean the worst parts ourselves (check the pictures and see, how the towel looked afterwards!), but at one point gave up.
As we were talking to the owners, asking for a different room, compensation or other solution (like a proper cleaning job the next day) they did not take us serious at all (“According to our standard, the room is clean!” / “Our housekeeping did a pretty good job!” / "I don't know, where you got that black towel from!"). Instead of offering any kind of solution, the owners felt offended by our complaint and became very rude. In the end they threatened us with the police and kicked us out of the motel – even as it was already midnight and we had a one year-old baby with us! Can you believe this? Those guys should not work in any kind of service industry, as they give a [--] on their guests…

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was by far the WORST hotel we ever stayed at. Management is rude, rooms are dirty, and there is an awful smell not only in the lobby but also in room. Asked for a different room and was told no. Asked for them to smell room and told it was fine, we made the smell. REALLY? I can honestly stay this place is nasty and you are better off sleeping in a car - it was that bad.

Room Tip: do not stay here, there are not any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights which was a bit of a mistake. It was good for going to Yosemite and surounding areas and Jamestown railway was excellent.
The hotel business card states very clean rooms, but our room (on second floor) was not as described. The bed and bathroom were very clean, but everywhere else was very dusty and the carpet was filthy.
Breakfast was a joke, cherios, pancakes and not much else. There was no room to eat it and we were asked to eat in our bedroom or outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon and were told that check in wasn't until 4. When we returned to check in the cleaning staff were still cleaning the rooms past 4 o'clock. The cleaning staff were helpful but seemed overstretched - perhaps they could employ more staff. We had to ask for towels as there were none in our room. The pool was freezing cold so didn't go in it.

The breakfast arrangements were not good. It was laid out haphazardly on a table in the lobby - not very professionally arranged unlike all the other motels we stayed in. There was nowhere to eat it so you had to take it back to eat in your room. There were limited items available and only warm apple juice.

The bed was on a solid base which stuck out. We knocked our legs on it numerous times so ended up with bruises. However it was a nice room. The motel is three miles from Sonora on rte 108. You would need to drive into town to eat as there is nowhere nearby.

We thought the motel overpriced at $129. There was no frig (although space for one in the unit) and no microwave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Couldn't figure out where this motel was actually located. It was on a highway. Had a pool. Breakfast was a joke! The carpets were in need a a cleaning. Would choose another place if I returned to this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Sonora

Address: 18730 State Route 108, Jamestown, CA 95327-9605
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn Sonora 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sonora Hotel Jamestown
Country Hotel Sonora
Country Hotel Jamestown
Jamestown Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn Sonora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.