We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced for what it is” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn Sonora

Save Saved
You added Country Inn Sonora to your Saves list
Country Inn Sonora
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn Sonora
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   18730 State Route 108, Jamestown, CA 95327-9605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
london
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“overpriced for what it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon and were told that check in wasn't until 4. When we returned to check in the cleaning staff were still cleaning the rooms past 4 o'clock. The cleaning staff were helpful but seemed overstretched - perhaps they could employ more staff. We had to ask for towels as there were none in our room. The pool was freezing cold so didn't go in it.

The breakfast arrangements were not good. It was laid out haphazardly on a table in the lobby - not very professionally arranged unlike all the other motels we stayed in. There was nowhere to eat it so you had to take it back to eat in your room. There were limited items available and only warm apple juice.

The bed was on a solid base which stuck out. We knocked our legs on it numerous times so ended up with bruises. However it was a nice room. The motel is three miles from Sonora on rte 108. You would need to drive into town to eat as there is nowhere nearby.

We thought the motel overpriced at $129. There was no frig (although space for one in the unit) and no microwave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    35
    14
    8
See reviews for
35
43
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Couldn't figure out where this motel was actually located. It was on a highway. Had a pool. Breakfast was a joke! The carpets were in need a a cleaning. Would choose another place if I returned to this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a cosy hotel in sleepy village actually in between two villages
for a motel this is a very good hotel It`s clean what is very importent
The rooms are clean and spacious with refridgerator
Everyday bedmaking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby, Danmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Country Inn Sonora is in the middle of nowhere, right between Jamestown and Sonora. It’s an okay place to stay if it’s only for one night. If you want something to eat you have to drive to one of the two cities about 10 minutes in car. The motel has a pool, which is nice on a warm summer day. They had continental breakfast from 6.30 am to 9.30 am, but when we arrived in the reception at 8.45 am, they were almost out of everything and there were no refill.

Room Tip: Come early to breakfast, no refills !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here while driving from San Francisco to Yosemite. It was a very nice stay with good comfort. There room was clean and big. The only thing we can complain about is the breakfast. It is not very good and there was not really a place to eat it, so we had to go outside or to our room. However we would again stay here again and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here with my wife in recently. We were driving back from Lone Pine through Yosemite and back to the Bay Area, and having driven for almost seven hours we were tired and decided to stop in Sonora for the night. We picked this hotel because it looked slightly better from the outside than some of the others in town we looked at.

The price for the room was really good. We paid $105.00 for the suite, which was an absolute bargain. The room itself was nothing special, we got a Queen size bed, sofa, TV, fridge, and a shower and toilet. Either the light in the shower was busted, or it did not have one at all, but you had to shower in the dark. The room was clean and serviceable but nothing fancy. My only real complaint was that a "responsible" dog owner had let their pooch take a crap in the bushes near the rooms front door so the entry way had a strong whiff of dog poo. I had to ask to get the hotel to clean it up. If you are travelling with a pet, it might be worth noting that this place does allow you to keep pets in certain rooms. That could be a plus point for you.

Another thing to note, the hotel is right on a main highway so you can get a small amount of traffic from the road. It was well over 30 degrees when I stayed there so the air conditioner unit covered the traffic noise until I turned it off in the night.

Finally, as usual the hotel offers a small basic breakfast, but unless you are trying to save money on eating out you are better off just eating out at one of the many local restaurants in Sonora or Jamestown.

Basically, It was OK for what I needed it for, i.e. a place to stop over for the night, but If I was taking a holiday in the area I would stay in a nicer hotel in Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First time stay here. Booked room and requested top floor. It is a 3 story building. Got there around 3pm and was told 4 pm was check in. No problem. When I asked for the top floor the staff said not possible because all rooms had been "assigned". When I asked what that meant the desk person said the boss had assigned all rooms and that was that. I said since there wasn't any 3rd floor rooms "unassigned" I'd like a 1st floor room, not the 2nd floor. When I came back 1.5 hours later I was given a ground handicapped room. Better than nothing I suppose. Not very flexible. Room was OK but side chairs and carpet were very dirty looking and needs replacing. It was quiet but not convenient to anything w/o a long drive. Priced accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Sonora

Address: 18730 State Route 108, Jamestown, CA 95327-9605
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn Sonora 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Country Inn Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sonora Hotel Jamestown
Country Hotel Sonora
Country Hotel Jamestown
Jamestown Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn Sonora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.