We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting building but poor standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 1859 Historic National Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 1859 Historic National Hotel to your Saves list
1859 Historic National Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18183 Main Street, Jamestown, CA 95327-0502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 3 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Interesting building but poor standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel certainly had character but our stay was memorable for all the wrong reasons. The pillows on our bed, whilst in clean pillowslips, were dirty and smelled bad and the pillowshams and spare pillows were very dirty and I had to ask for replacements. They were not much better. The bed was tiny and the room incredibly hot. The bathroom smelled damp and fusty. Breakfast, which was described as "sumptuous" was very poor indeed with stale cornbread/muffin (sorry, not sure what it is called) and coffee like dishwater. Not even a greeting from the serving staff. The only saving grace was the cheery barman, Brian, who can mix a mean cocktail, and the steaks which were very good. This was the worst place we stayed in during our 3,000 mile trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
national2, Proprietor at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Not sure where to start with this review. Normally, we thank the reviewer if they have brought a defect or specific shortcoming to our attention, but in this case, we were hit with a broadside approach of which we can find little to improve. Some of the problem may have been due to "cultural differences".
1. We have an assortment of pillows to try and meet all requests that we may encounter. Pillowshams, pillowcases, zippered pillowslips and the pillows themselves are kept in a clean state. After the above comments, we inspected all pillows and found two that were becoming to be a little flat and have since replaced them.
2. Bed was tiny....Our guests were British and not likely used to King size beds, as I have never encountered large beds in my travels of England.
3. Room was "hot". All rooms have air conditioning, so it is possible that they were not used to our a/c system. They did arrive during a warm period of time.
4. Bathroom seemed to be damp....Again, not sure what this meant, as there are no leaky faucets, etc.
5. Breakfast was poor and they did not like the cornbread. We serve a large buffet breakfast, daily, but we have never served cornbread. We always have staff on duty who are very attentive to the needs of our guests. Am sorry that this guest did not take the time to talk to our staff member or the front desk clerk.
6. We pay a premium price for Costa Rican coffee beans that we grind to order. Most guests consider it to be wonderful.
Guests were happy when drinking at the bar. We appreciate hearing those comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    35
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
86
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Jamestown is a sweet little Gold Country town, and that character is maintained in the historic hotel, with great attention to detail in the decor and architecture. Excellent, friendly service. It was specialty Martini night on Thursday in the bar, so I indulged in a frosty, fruity pom-tini. We had a special birthday dinner with good recommendation for a nice local wine. The food was delicious (salmon was great, though steak a bit chewy). We finished the evening on the balcony next our room, overlooking the quiet town. The air conditioner seemed to turn itself off in the middle of the night, so it was a little warm, but still a sweet, cozy room. Good breakfast buffet with homemade quiche, scones, and granola. We were thoroughly charmed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Well, we went in to have lunch today (Monday, July 23) and we were the first to be seated, right when the restaurant opened. Weren't in a hurry, so we were happy to order their FABULOUS Baked Brie (one of the few bright spots in the meal) and a couple of drinks...started out good, then after ordering our entrees, it all went downhill from there. The entrees took forever to arrive, and when they did, the one I ordered was clearly NOT worth the wait. To be fair, the manager came over and apologized for the long wait and comped us a glass of wine...but still, the long, leisurely lunch went a bit TOO long. And don't sit by the window, as nice as the view is--the flies like to hang out there and buzz you to distraction!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
national2, Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We do apologize for your unhappy experience here at the National. It was unfortunate the length of time your entrée took to arrive and you were dissatisfied with it at that. It was brought to my attention from your server that your entrees were not being served in a timely manner, so I came to check on your table, we laughed and had a nice conversation. Everything seemed to be on the up and up at that point.
It came to my attention after reading the review you were dissatisfied with the meal as well. We take great pride in our quality and presentation of our food here at the National Hotel and we apologize that your lunch did not meet your expectations. During your dining experience had I known this I would have taken other measures to make your day a better one.
Our dining room has an electric fly catcher and we do take measures to keep all insects at a minimum. However, when the doors are repeatedly open and closed it is sometimes difficult to keep nature at bay.
As always, feedback is important to us and we have taken necessary action to counsel our employees.
We would also like to offer two complementary lunches and hopefully in the future we can accommodate you in having a better experience with us.
Sincerely,
Stephanie Maynard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Beautiful old hotel in gold rush town. Very friendly service,comfortable rooms, but our room was very hot at night. The food was excellent and so was the service. Everyone was very helpful. Lot's to do around the area. Had a great trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is an "old-timey", gold-rush hotel. I believe it is one of the very few original buildings that survived a large fire in the early 1900's which destroyed most of the wooden buildings in the downtown area. The rooms are decorated in classic Victorian style; four-poster beds, antique everything. Down the hall there is a claw-foot "soaking tub". But, not to worry, each room has it's own private bath with modern facilities.
There is an excellent restaurant downstairs and a full-service saloon. The quality of food, drink and service we experienced during our two-day stay was equivalent to, if not better than, stays we've had at high-end hotel chains in big cities.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Make sure to find time to sit outside on the second floor porch overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I came up my lady and my folks. We got two rooms here and had a blast. We had a great dinner and a great stay. I love getting away here for a weekend to relax. The rooms are very comfortable and the shower was great. No TVS but wo cares. Cruise down to Railtown, have some drinks in the great bar here and hit Black Oak for some gaming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We booked a night here as a handy overnight spot on our road trip - and what a great place to find! We checked in and our room wasn't ready as we arrived much earlier than planned. However, the very friendly receptionist/bar person gave us a compliemntary beer (and much appreciated considering the heat outside) while we waited.
Our room when we did get in there was very chintzy Amercian but it was clean, a decent size for an overnight stay and the shower had powerful and plentiful hot water. The little teddy bears on the beds were very cute.
The dinner was fantastic, the food was great and I thought reasonably priced for the service level and style of restaurant. We also had a pre and post dinner drink in the bar where another member of staff was attentive without being overly so. There seemed to be a few locals who also patronized the bar.
The only bad thing was the swamp air conditioner - it was noisy and not particulary effective and because of the heavy draping the rooms felt hot in the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1859 Historic National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1859 Historic National Hotel

Address: 18183 Main Street, Jamestown, CA 95327-0502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1859 Historic National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic elegance in the California Gold Country near Yosemite. Boutique hotel and acclaimed restaurant have been restored to today’s standards of comfort while retaining the historic charm of days gone by. All rooms have private baths, some with showers for two; pull chain toilets, memory foam comfort on queen size beds and many original antiques. Buffet breakfast included. Onsite restaurant, award-winning wines from throughout the Sierra Foothills, Mediterranean cuisine and patio dining in season. Full service saloon with daily Happy Hour specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your 1859 Historic National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1859 Historic National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.