We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1859 Historic National Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1859 Historic National Hotel to your Saves list
1859 Historic National Hotel
18183 Main Street, Jamestown, CA 95327-0502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute Special
Ranked #1 of 3 Jamestown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This place is a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our stay here was the highlight of our first trip to gold country. The blend of original features (many 150 years old) and modern comforts is practically seamless. From Brian at the desk/bar to the owner, everyone was friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making sure the guests enjoyed every aspect of their stay. The dining room looked inviting enough enough but we almost passed on dinner there, since it was still empty by 6:30 on a Friday night. Glad we didn't; the food and service were excellent, and the place was jumping within an hour. The outdoor dining area is the more casual, fun and festive option; a little too dark, but at the first sign that anyone was struggling trying to read the menu, the waitress showed up with a flashlight. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is excellent, was included with the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    35
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
85
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a wonderful night staying at the historic National Hotel in Jamestown, California. The Restaurant served up a wholesome breakfast (included in the price) and the evening meal we enjoyed in the Restaurant was delicious. We stopped for just one night on our way to Yosemite National Park, but will be sure to return when next we visit the US from our home town of Sydney, Australia. The staff were super-friendly and very helpful with local history. Guest books are kept on the bed-side table and I passed a couple of hours reading entries made in Room 2 over the past 7 years. We got to learn all about Flo the friendly ghost.

Room Tip: Make sure you eat in the Restaurant - its excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agua Dulce
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights, and just loved the place. We had a key to the front door , so it felt like our own little place. Gorgeous rooms, really comfy beds with memory foam mattress, VERY clean! I looked under the bed and they even put a little note under there that said "Yes, we even clean under here". Awesome balcony to sit and read or sip wine, little reading nook inside, the showers ROCK with loads of hot water, I wish I had taken advantage of the quaint community soaking tub. Great breakfast every morning, we had quiche, fresh fruit, amazing Sourdough bread, etc.
Every little touch was so appreciated...for instance, upstairs, they have hot coffee set out in the upstairs hallway every morning at 6:45, which I LOVED because I could go out in my jammies and grab a cup to drink as I'm getting showered and dressed for breakfast.
There was so much to do there, the Railroad Museum, PLENTY of antique shops and great places to eat, Yosemite, which was breathtaking, lots of other little towns nearby to explore, with cool clothing shops. Mary was amazing and attended our every need..No need to go anywhere else...Next time, we'll come on the bike! The roads there are sooo smooth!
Thank you Mary et al for a really memorable stay!

Room Tip: You will enjoy ANY room you stay in..but the Honeymoon suite has dual showerheads..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Lovely hotel with lots of character, made a nice change from the regular chain hotels. The staff were very friendly and informative. The dining experience was also extremely good. We stayed 2 nights in order to do the train trip and this proved to be an excellent choice of hotel. Lots to see and do in the area too. Only downside is that the hotel has no parking, so you do have to park on the street. We hope to go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel is like a museum. It has lots of character and has been restored to it's original glory. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms clean with lovely local toiletries for use. The staff are very friendly and informative on the local area although I could have done without the knowledge the hotel has a friendly ghost called Flo. The hotel is in a lovely town and I wished I had been there long enough to be able to see it open. Its just a short drive from Yosemite National Park and worth a visit on the way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This was a hotel full of character. Many of the fixtures and fittings were original or contemporary with the late 19th - early 20th century ambiance the owners are intending to provide for their guests. The result is a bit like living in a museum for the modern traveler. Those of us of more mature years and humble origin will feel like going back to our early childhood. There are notices reminding visitors that the antique pluming in particular needs patience and understanding from those not versed in such techniques as puling a chain to flush the toilet. Our room was comfortable, with efficient and unobtrusive air conditioning. Bath robes and a teddy to guard the bed (and perhaps scare off the resident ghost) were provided. A nice touch in a hotel with such basic amenities. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good blend of old and new. There was a "feel" of a hotel from a by-gone age with modern conveniences like electric lights and air conditioning. There is a restaurant in the hotel which offers good food at reasonable prices. Visiting here might jolt some out of their comfort zone but it was exactly what we wanted and a refreshing change from identical glass and concrete hotels offered by the big chains.

Room Tip: Visit the hotel website and look at the virtual tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We chose this hotel because it seemed quaint and interesting. Well, it turned out to be quaint and interesting in all senses of the words. The room was basically OK, even though it was difficult to pass each other because the bed was at an odd angle. The bathroom was old but surprisingly functional, when not counting the door that would not close, so all the toilet noises were heard in the room - not conductive to romance :-)
We chose it also because of the reviews of the restaurant, with which we were terribly dissappointed. The food was nothing special and the service was downright bad. The only good thing was actually the check-out. It was friendly and effective.

But the worst thing came when we actually left the hotel. My husband forgot his beloved leather jacket in the room. When I made an international ! mobile call to ask about it, I was told that they were too busy to check now. The tone implied that they did not care so much to make the time. I called again a bit later in the evening and again the next morning, when I was dryly informed that housekeeping did not report any jacket and there were other guests in the room that night and now the jacket is not there.

This is the first time I've actually experienced that something left in the room would not be returned. Me and my family travel a lot and sometimes we forget things. We've forgotten jewellery. clothes, documents, but nothing went ever missing. So after staying in this hotel, I'm left with a bitter aftertaste - did someone take the jacket just because they felt like it or was it because I didn't leave a big enough tip?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur6, Proprietor at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
No one enjoys the experience of losing a possession while traveling and such a loss may adversely affect the perceptions of our otherwise wonderful trip. It seems that Saskia lost her coat, although it was not found in our hotel. We have a lost and found area in which all found items are logged for a minimum of 6 months. The information includes who found the item, description and where it was found. In over 37 years of operation, we have never been accused of lying to a customer....so this is really a first. I am sorry that this guest feels that we did not handle her telephone calls, properly, or that the bed was not situated properly, or that the bathroom door did not close properly, or that our acclaimed restaurant was not to her standards.

It is interesting, that on the very date that she posted her review, we mailed a package to a small town in Italy that contained a petite but very beautiful sweater to a guest who indeed, had left it in her room. We wish this person well in any future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1859 Historic National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1859 Historic National Hotel

Address: 18183 Main Street, Jamestown, CA 95327-0502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic elegance in the California Gold Country near Yosemite. Boutique hotel and acclaimed restaurant have been restored to today’s standards of comfort while retaining the historic charm of days gone by. All rooms have private baths, some with showers for two; pull chain toilets, memory foam comfort on queen size beds and many original antiques. Buffet breakfast included. Onsite restaurant, award-winning wines from throughout the Sierra Foothills, Mediterranean cuisine and patio dining in season. Full service saloon with daily Happy Hour specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your 1859 Historic National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1859 Historic National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.