We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the bunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamestown Railtown Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jamestown Railtown Motel to your Saves list
Jamestown Railtown Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   10301 Willow Street, Jamestown, CA 95327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of the bunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I spend a lot of time in this area, and have stayed at eight different hotels. This is the one that I will be staying in from now on. Clean, safe (tucked into a neighborhood), pleasant staff, reasonable prices, quiet rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Nice hotel. Yes a bit old but very clean and comfortable. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and they offered us a suite for $100. Very good value. Quite place. Big room. The manager was very friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed. In the morning we walked to the cafe down the road for a very good breakfast and then we went boating and fishing. Great weekend. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Small motel just off the main drag. Room was in good shape, a little musty but clean. Pool was perfect for a cool down after the drive in. Would stay there again. Short walking distance to some great food like at the National Hotel.

Room Tip: I always recommend upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I just wanted to say that.. we have stayed at the Railtown Motel and loved it. The managers were very nice and accomadating to us when we arrived. After a long day in Yosemite we were very tired and needed a good night sleep. When we arrived are rooms were very clean and the managers were very nice and helpful to our needs. I would recommend this motel to anyone. We will be back! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We always stay at Miner's Motel when we are in Jamestown. Rooms are clean, the owners are very nice and helpful, and the rates are reasonable. There's room for our boat and they even came out to help move the boat into a parking space.

Fishing and recreation are nearby. Steam train rides on weekends start in June just up the street. We've done this and it's a kick to see these old engines.

I recommend Miner's to anyone staying in the Jamestown/Sonora area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgpanchal, Owner at Jamestown Railtown Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Miner's Motel. We look forward to your next visit. We did see that the review was posted for another motel instead. The Railtown Motel, however, is also owned by the same owners, and it is an equally nice place to stay. It is now under new management and has undergone many improvements. We appreciate your time for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san mateo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

My family and I have stayed here on many occasions. I love that it is near everything. Also that its a nice and cozy motel. My kids like to stay here when we go to the train museum. Since the last time we stayed they changed the carpet, which is very nice, and remodeled here and there.Thanks to the managers for always being nice to me and my kids! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I recently stayed at this motel doing work in the area for my company. After a long days work I arrived at my room late looking forward to a good nights sleep. Once I was ready for bed I pulled back the covers of the bed and was appalled at what I found. It had looked at the person or persons that had used the room before me had used the bed sheets as toilet paper; and it definitely was what it looked like due to the smell. The stains were on both sides of the bed and not small enough to have been missed by the maid. I find it absolutely disgusting that this motel does not change the bedding in between customers. It was too late at night and I was too tired to contact the management so I slept on top of the comforter. I did inform the management in the morning before I left for work. The people at the front desk were very courteous and apologetic about the incident, but this should never happen at any lodging even the cheapest of ones.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgpanchal, Owner at Jamestown Railtown Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Thank you for informing us about this issue. Dirty sheets are unacceptable at any motel and we apologize for your inconvenience. We are in the middle of a few renovations and are doing our best to provide a pleasant stay. We will be replacing our housekeeping due to these issues. I again apologize and will make sure these types of situations do not occur again.

-The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamestown Railtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamestown Railtown Motel

Address: 10301 Willow Street, Jamestown, CA 95327
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jamestown Railtown Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Historic Downtown Jamestown, in the Sierra Foothills. Gateway to Yosemite National Park, High Sierra, Big Trees, and Scenic Caves. Near Columbia State Historic Park, Railtown 1897, and Dodge Ridge Ski Area. Adjacent to historic Gold Rush towns of Sonora, Jamestown, Chinese Camp, and Columbia. Take your pick of fun activities such as boating, fishing, water skiing, swimming, white water rafting, or horseback riding during the summer months, or skiing, snowboarding, ice-skating, or sledding during the winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Jamestown Railtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamestown Railtown Hotel Jamestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamestown Railtown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.