We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks ancient and it is” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miner's Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Miner's Motel to your Saves list
Miner's Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   18740 Highway 108, Jamestown, CA 95327   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Deventer, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Looks ancient and it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have stayed here and were a little disappointed by the information they supplied and the quality of the room and the location. This is not a good place to stay if you want to visit Yosemite for multiple days, like we intended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgpanchal, Owner at Miner's Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. Yosemite is an hour and half drive from our hotel. There are very few hotels close to the actual park, and they are usually much pricier and difficult to find an opening. Our town of Jamestown is the next closest location to Yosemite National Park and we are only minutes from the turnoff to Yosemite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

A standard motel in a roadside location. A short drive to shops and restaurants. Relatively clean, but nothing special. A good stop off point before/after Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here based upon the reviews. The room was large and comfortable and the management was very accomodating. This room suited our needs as we were with friends on the lake and didn't want to camp. Location is great! The only issue we had were ants but I have ants at my house and realize that there isn't anything you can do about them. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

If you are picky and looking for something like the Hyatt or Hilton well, you need to stay in a different location as Jamestown doesn't have any large franchises which adds to its' appeal!

Room Tip: Request a room in the back if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have been coming for years. We have watched the owners children grow up. Everytime we have been forced to stay at another location other than the Miners, we have been disappointed. The rooms are clean, spacious, and have a small microwave, refridgerator and coffee pot at no extra charge. We feel this is our second home.
Thank you Rahmesh and Nita for making us feel so welcome.
Sincerely,
Carol and Gary

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgpanchal, Owner at Miner's Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you Gary and Carol, we appreciate your excellent reviews. We look forward to see you soon. You are one of those guests that are like family to us.

Thank you,
Ramesh & Nita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Miner's Motel is a great place to stay if you are planning a vacation to Yosemite. It located near all the ammenities you need like restuarants, department stores and Starbucks.
We love'd it here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Please note that my review of "MINER'S MOTEL" got posted for Jamestown Railtown Motel. Please correct this error.

rdjm@comcast.net

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgpanchal, Owner at Miner's Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Miner's Motel. We look forward to your next visit. We did see that the review was posted for another motel instead. The Railtown Motel, however, is also owned by the same owners, and it is an equally nice place to stay. It is now under new management and has undergone many improvements. We appreciate your time for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We were traveling with our little dog so our options were slim to start with. Miner's Motel proved to be an excellent value! Our room was upstairs, #302, and was spacious and attractive having one wall wood and the others painted block. Two big windows had pretty views - woodsy. Shower curtain could have benefited with a washing in bleach, but even that wasn't enough to make us go "eeeeoow." Updated bathroom, comfy king bed (enough room for our treated-for-fleas pup), fairly new carpet, microwave, frig, and small coffee pot - we were comfortable for our two night stay. Location was super as we came to visit Yosemite and Jamestown's Railtown 1897. Even a small grassy area that had picnic tables and a grill suited us well as it provided a grassy fenced area for our little pooch to run around in. At $75 per (including dog fee), it was a great find!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miner's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miner's Motel

Address: 18740 Highway 108, Jamestown, CA 95327
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Miner's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miners Motel of Jamestown is just minutes from Yosemite National Park, Stanislaus National Forest, wineries, fishing, boating, horseback riding, and white water rafting. In the winter, guests can enjoying skiing, snowboarding, and sledding at the local ski areas. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers free wireless internet, an outdoor pool, picnic area and BBQ, and dogs are welcome with additional charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miner's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miner`s Hotel Jamestown
Miners Hotel Sonora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miner's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.